We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
512
171
61
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
171
61
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard pool turn down service our honeymoon beachfront villa flambe island night ocean restaurant cook islands happy hour ribs wedding planner sun loungers staff were so friendly tropical paradise relaxing holiday watch the sunset fish
Filter
Updating list...
525 - 530 of 771 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from 6 days at Crown Beach Resort. This was our first trip to Rarotonga, it is just paradise, very nice and relaxing.

We had a courtyard pool suite and it exceeded our expectations and would recommend this room.
Happy Hour is 3 times a day, great way to meet other guests if you choose to do so. A great selection of cocktails, beers,mocktails etc. We ate at Oceanz restaurant and were pleased with the meals we had. Polynesian night was great and would recommend. Staff all helpful.

The only children we saw at crown beach was children attending a wedding and a couple with small children who were having a meal there.

We had a great relaxing holiday and met some wonderful people.

Other tips:
Take Jandals, we wore these everywhere.
poncho type raincoats for when you go out, you may need them. There are Umbrellas in room.
beach bag is handy if going on day trips
shoulder bag/backpack handy for on mortorbike/scooter
shops across from hotel for supplies
If you have motorbike licence you just need to fill out form and get a photo otherwise I think they take you out for a test. Take a pen with you.

Happy to answer questions.

Room Tip: Courtyard Pool room is great if you want peace & quiet & would recommend these rooms. Kitchenette has Microwave, great selection of coffee/tea/milo.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MoanaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite with private pool and outdoor dining gazebo; that you loved the three daily happy hours (12noon, 4pm and 9.30pm) where you buy one drink, and get another absolutely free; that you loved your meals at Oceans Restaurant on the waterfront, as well as our Polynesian night with island feast & cultural show on Mon + Thu.

We love the fact that you two were totally relaxed and that you made some new friends on holiday in the beautiful Cook Islands.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a weeks stay at Crown Resort and for the most part would say we were pleased with our stay, but there is still a LONG way to go before this resort ranks number 1 in the Cook Islands.

On the positive side, the resort has a fantastic position and the gardens and room were fantastic. We stayed in a room with a beach view which were both fantasticalthogh the spa gave us electic shock when we tried to hop in,the room itself was beautiful and was more than we could of wished for with direct access to the beach,but the resort has a long way to go to make this a top resort.

All the brochures showed hamocks on the beach, when I requested one I was told becase of people injuring themselves on them they have been removed?? Who doesn't go to a tropical paradise and not want to laze in a hamock and relaz reading a book??

We booked this resort as it was adult only (Dont get me wrong, we love kids) but there were many kids staying at the resort and this probably wouldn't have bothered me except for the fact we met a lovely couple who had booked and only stayed for part of there stay until their daughter arrived as they did the right thing by moving to a kid friendly resort. We ended up having to arrange dinners in between Crown and their resort to enjoy more time with them. Whilst their daughter was allowed for dinner it is wrong some book in for an adults resort and move when their kids arrive and others are able to book for the whole time? Either make it adults only or kid friendly, dont take booking just to fill rooms and go against what you advertise!!

I know in places like this you work on ISLAND TIME, but when guests try to book dinner for 6.30pm and are told no tables are available until 8pm, then see only 4 tables full in Oceans Resteraunt it is crazy, surely your chef can cook for more then 4 tables at a time!!

The resort was quite empty while we were there which meant the tapas bar did not open, quite disapointing really as when we wanted a lite meal we left the resort (Better value to eat out as we found)

The staff were fantastic with the exception of one, Rohan, the General Manager, who I would describe as the most unprofessional manager of any resort of anywhere I have stayed!! I m still waiting for his e-mail 2 weeks after arriving home in responce to a problem we had there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the resorts' unique beachfront location with front row seats to the worlds best sunsets, the warm friendly Polynesian hospitality from our 85+ staff and that you loved your beachfront spa villa, just meters from the blue lagoon.

We have removed all hammocks from the beachfront area after too many accidents with our elderly guests. Our new 2012-13 brochures will not feature hammocks in visuals and text.

We currently do not accept bookings for families with children under 16 years. We used to accept families in the past, however, have amended our policy to become an adults only resort. , Importantly, we do have reservations that were confirmed 18-24 months ago when we accepted children and we are honoring our commitment to them. I am pleased to advise that we have one more family due to stay with us this week and that will end our hosting of families with young children. All current and future reservations strictly reinforce the 'adults only' policy. Please note that families with children are permitted to dine in our restaurants - however are not permitted to stay at our resort.

Oceans Restaurant is a busy eatery that handles upto 120 diners in the main dining room, as well as special dinners on the beach and special meal orders for villas & suites. On Saturday 7th April 2012, we hosted two large wedding dinners from 6.30-8.00pm. The four tables you saw were the first of more family and friends to come. Oceans Restaurant Manager could not accept your reservation until 8pm, the time that the kitchen would have been able to prepare your meals without issue. We recommended that our house guests seeking an early dinner do so at our sister eatery - Windjammer Restaurant, located at the top of the resort property next to Spa Ariki.

Crown Beach Resort & Spa was 95% full during your stay (7-14 April 2012). We have temporarily closed Tang Tapas Restaurant as we test new cuisine styles with a view to rebranding Tang with a totally new product. Tapas did not work for the Rarotonga, so we decided to retract, and are test new cuisine, and will soon re-open (scheduled for the end of month) with a new product style that should attract stronger patronage from our inhouse guests as well as local residents & guests from other resorts.

We have just opened a new eatery - Mama's Cafe - in downtown Avarua opposite Avatiu Wharf and the results are outstanding. Visitors & local residents have fallen in love with the canteen style operation with good quality food, low-cost no frills service resulting in affordable prices that the whole family can afford.

The kayak paddle that you lost over the reef and were charged NZD150 for is arriving Rarotonga this weekend. We are advised that the replacement cost is NZD105. We will credit your American Express the difference (NZD45) as soon as the purchase transaction is finalised.

We are sorry that we were not able to please you during your holiday with us, but we do hope you continue to holiday in the beautiful Cook Islands.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at the Crown Beach resort for 9 nights. The location is stunning, staff are very friendly and attentive, food amazing and everything is so relaxed. Just as it should be for such a holiday. No wonder they call this place Paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Beachside villas and would definitely do so again. Watching the sunset from your own private spa pool with unobstructed views of the sea and sunset were out of this world.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your Beachfront Villa with front row seats to the worlds best sunsets. We are tickled to read that you loved the resorts' garden & beachfront setting, the gracious service from our team of 85+ Cook Islanders, the food from our restaurants, and the generally relaxed ambience of the resort.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This resort is really lovely, the Polynesian evening was fantastic, and we liked that they had time for us to have photos with the dancers, great touch, Service was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay and your dining experience at our Island Feast & Cultural Shows on Mon & Thu.

We are pleased to read that you loved your Polynesian night experience with us including the tasty local cuisine, the cultural show, and the gracious service straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

we stayed here and enjoyed all it had to offer . The fine dinning resteraunt was one of the best on the island the beds very comfortable ,staff were helpful and friendly. VVery attractive accomadation. would stay again.

Room Tip: if a pool swimmer take pool room otherwise all rooms good and quiet and near beach.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susiepnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you found our small boutique resort attractive with comfortable beds and friendly staff who ooze the art of Polynesian hospitality. We are pleased to read that you loved dining at Windjammer Restaurant, our Pacific fine dining restaurant located at the top of the property. Thank you for your high ratings of the modern cuisine at Windjammer Restaurant - it is a favourite of local residents of the Cook Islands, as well as visitors to Rarotonga.

We are pleased to read that you will stay with us again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews