We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Black Pearl at Puaikura(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$436
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$341
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aroa Kainga(Arorangi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
496
168
59
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
168
59
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard poolturn down serviceour honeymoonbeachfront villaisland nightflambeocean restaurantcook islandshappy hourribssun loungersstaff were so friendlytropical paradiserelaxing holidayfishnice beachwatch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 749 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Where do you start to try to explain how simply awesome this resort and its people are? It just has that WOW factor as soon as you walk in. The food at all the resort resturants is just out of this world. The super friendly staff that looked after us were the BEST. We are so chuffed with the entire experience we WILL return. As our Kiwi mates Cathryn and Peter have metioned the stay will exceed your expectations. The rooms were super clean and right up to date, this resort has everthing you wish for but seldom find.And to add to all those superlative things factor in EXCELLENT VALUE !!
Thank you Crown Beach for making our stay such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Courtyard villa which had a private plunge pool, and tops in privacy !!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that your loved the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite complete with private pool, outdoor dining gazebo with guaranteed privacy provided by the high stone walls.

We are equally pleased to read that you loved our cuisine at our Windjammer & Oceans Restaurants (Tang Restaurant is closed until her chef returns from Singapore) and that you enjoyed interacting with our team of 85 Cook Islanders who ooze the art of polynesian hospitality straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Kia Orana :)
It was so good. Eight days of warmth and beauty after a long cold NZ winter. Our 2nd stay at Crown Beach. Everything we loved on our first visit- we loved all over again. This time we want to thank all the lovely people that made our stay so special.

Rohan - Resort Manager - quick to respond positively to any requests/concerns!

Sonya - Resort Concierge for the way she cheerfully went beyond the call of duty to care for us.

Maru and Sera- in Oceans Restaurant who, each morning greeted us with happy smiles and made sure that our Crown Beach breakfasts were memorable!

Karl - 'groundsman extraordinare!!We take our hat off to this man. The tropical gardens at Crown Beach that he nurtures will leave you gasping at their lush green beauty and their peace. We also thank Karl and his lovely wife for extending 'extraordinary hospitality to us'...and to the special people we met at the resort -Jeff and Nicki from OZ, for early morning chats over breakfast...Ray and Judith from NZ on their 13th (or thereabouts) visit to Crown Beach - for being kind to us and brave in the face of adversity!! Well done you! 13 visits!!! what does that say - the place has got to be good!!

While the beauty of Rarotonga melts the heart - it is the caring people you meet along the way, fellow travellers and kind hearted residents - these are the people who warm your spirit and make your stay so well worth it!!


Peter and Cathryn

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Kia Orana Peter and Cathryn,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you had a fantastic time with us on your 2nd stay in our revitalised Beachfront Pool Villas.

I absolutely loved the final paragraph in your review...'Rarotonga melts your heart...but the caring people you meet along the way warms your spirit and makes it all so worth it'...this is so true! You have captured the spirit of Crown Beach in one paragraph. Thank you so much for your kind words.

The team misses you both and cant wait to see you both again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We arrived at the Crown Beach Resort on the 14 August to commence the second 5 days of our holiday. Crown had to be good to equal our previous accommodation where we spent our first 5 days. We were picked up about 10.40am by Crown – Billy who was very helpful persuaded us to take ‘Captain Tama’s Lagoon Cruise’. We had previously decided not to do the cruise but on Billy’s recommendation we did. It was really good. Make sure you take mask & snorkel.
We were obviously expected at Crown as they had sent the pickup but we were delayed for about 2 ½ hours, sitting at reception being told that the room was being prepared. We finally got to our rooms shortly before normal check in. Yes I know the previous guests had to leave but the process should have been handled better. We were shown round the resort but being offered a cup of tea after our fruit drink would have been nice, or even shown where the changing rooms/bathrooms in the admin block were & we could have had a swim in the pool.
Right that was the only disappointing thing. The rest was great.
We made the very wise choice to have a villa with a private courtyard & pool. It was marvellous. I can’t recommend it highly enough. The bathroom was excellent. The bed massive & comfortable. The ‘kitchen’ contained a microwave, sink & fridge. There are louvers throughout the villa which with the curtains control the heat. The lounge area is very comfortable with a day bed, TV & DVD player which is very handy with the one TV channel.
Big thanks to the turn down ‘fairies’ they were great.
The beach in front of Crown has the coral rocks removed which makes it good to walk on. The snorkelling is good. Snorkel out as far as you can, the coral & fish change the further out you go.
The quality of the dinners at Oceans Restaurant is very good after a very disappointing experience at another restaurant we were very pleasantly surprised. Combine that with the 3 happy hours and it is even better. One night we went to Tang Tapa’s which also was great.
The island night was excellent and is a must see.
The spa, massage, hair, hands, feet & nails was delightful.
The 'no children' policy was one of the reasons for choosing to stay here.
Would we go back, without a doubt.

One night we had pizza from from a nearby ‘Italian’ restaurant. Definitely to be recommended. Turn left out the drive and walk a couple of hundred metres.
About the only fruit that was available was paw paw & ‘star fruit’ ( Averrhoa carambola). When we got back I Googled star fruit. Concerningly if you have kidney problems it is seriously toxic, best to be warned, for anyone else it is fine.
There were three disappointments all nothing to do with Crown. We went to the ‘Wigmore Falls’ a local attraction. There was a drought. Apparently people that walk the island & arrive there swim in the pool, I doubt it is ever much more than a metre deep. For us it wasn’t even worth the drive.
We had read the tourist brochures about horse riding. We went and had a look at the horses. Poor things. Very little grass, no shelter, no water and ribs showing. We gave that a miss, apparently tourists do complain but that is the way the locals care for horses. .
When you arrive & enter the terminal the duty free shop is directly in front of you. Websites claim that the duty frees in the Cook Islands are cheaper than NZ & Australia. I am not sure about that but if not they are not a lot dearer & it saves you the bother of carrying the bottles. The downside of getting duty frees is how much you will be delayed getting through immigration, customs etc if you got off the plane quickly but then you might have to wait with the transfer bus for other visitors.

Room Tip: Get a private courtyard & pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michaelrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite complete with private swimming pool, outdoor dining gazebo and more.

We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinners at both Oceans and Tang Restaurants. Pity you did not try our upmarket Windjammer Restaurant - the cuisine is truly divine! Our Spa Ariki offers a full array of treatments to rejuvenate your body & soul. Our international qualified therapists (Thailand, Sweden, Australia, New Zealand) are true masters of their craft.

Our standard check in time is 2pm. We were fully booked at the time of your stay and could not get you into your villa earlier. Guests have the choice of waiting for their villas at our comfortable reception lounges; poolside or on the beach. Our front office team have been briefed to encourage guests to change into their swimwear and spend time at the pool or on the beach until their villas are ready at 2pm.

All in all, we are pleased you had a fantastic time in the Cook Islands and we hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in June and were not disappointed by the great service and accommodating bungalows. We stayed in a garden bungalow away from the pool and restaurant which was nice as it was a lot quieter, especially at night when singers were performing. The location was beautiful, with amazing sandy beaches and great snorkeling. It was walking distance to other resorts and not to far from the main town (driving distance). My only compaint would be the breakfast. Often they either made an error with our order, or failed to inform us that essential items such as bananas werent available before we ordered. I do however praise the Wind Jammer restaurant, as the food was delicious and of 5 star quality. I would recommend this resort to other people.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahli542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your stay in our One Bedroom Villas tucked away in beautiful gardens with a peaceful ambience.

Our sandy beaches and the blue lagoon is filled with tropical fish and colourful coral - a snorkellers paradise.

Our breakfast service at Oceans Restaurant has improved and Windjammer Restaurant continues to deliver exceptional cuisine & service.

All in all, we look forward to seeing you both again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Excellent location the best hotel in Rarotonga wonderful service . Food brilliant perfect place to get away and no children too . The added bonus to see humpback whales 200m from the private romantic beach as you sip cocktails and watch the sunset . Excellent value ! Paradise :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilcox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our warm polynesian hospitality, our cuisine from our 3 restaurants, and the fabulous sunset cocktails as you watch stately humpback whales breach just over the reef, beyond the blue lagoon.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews