We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
513
171
61
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
171
61
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard pool turn down service our honeymoon beachfront villa flambe island night ocean restaurant cook islands happy hour ribs wedding planner sun loungers staff were so friendly tropical paradise relaxing holiday watch the sunset fish
Filter
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 773 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here with close family in preparation for our wedding. It was AMAZING! We arrived very early on Saturday and it was pouring down with rain so badly. Thankfully our transfers were all ready upon arrival and we were well looked after. The team organised an early check in and had everything under control.

Overall, the staff are fantastic and are an absolute pleasure. It was wonderful that they greeted me by name. The rooms are decorated beautifully and the grounds are immaculate (every day there were gardeners cleaning up the beach, raking the sand and attending to the garden). Breakfasts were amazing and soooo tasty! I didn't get a chance to try the restaurants for lunch or dinner but some of our guests did and they loved it - going back several times. The spa is awesome - we loved our massages and they were a great start to our wedding day. :)

A massive thank you to the Crown Beach Resort staff for making our time there so enjoyable. It was incredible. The Beachfront Villa was sensational and made it so much more pleasurable getting ready on the wedding day! Thank you again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Droplet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your wedding ceremony and reception at our small beachfront boutique resort - it all looked amazing (many of our other in-house guests were so impressed with your theme & colours) and from the look on the faces of your guests, a great time was had by all.

We are pleased to read that your wedding group enjoyed the amenities and services at our resort, including the cuisine at Oceans & Windjammer restaurants; the wellness treatments at the spa, snorkeling in the lagoon filled with tropical reef fish and coral; cocktails at sunset and so much more.

We wish you the best with your new married life and may the gods shower you both with many blessings.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from another wonderful holiday at the Crown Beach Resort where we stayed a year ago for our wedding anniversary, and it was just like we'd never left. We requested the same courtyard poolside room as last time, which the staff very kindly organised for us, and it was so nice to go into the room and find a bottle of 'bubbles' on ice when we arrived. The staff were all hepful and friendly, and we wanted to make a special mention to 'Tina' who serviced our room daily, as she always went the extra mile to make us feel special, and nothing was ever a problem. We didn't have the best weather this time unfortunately, but Rarotonga had been experiencing a drought, so the rain was a very welcome sight for the locals. The lovely girls that greeted us at Oceans for breakfast each morning, were always so helpful and friendly, as were the wonderful staff at the front desk. The gardens were always immaculate and well cared for, and it was nice to see the same familiar staff there from last time. My only negative experience was at Arariki Spa, but the Manager did phone me and talk to me about my concerns, and I was happy with the outcome. We'll always have happy memories of our time at Crown Beach, and of Rarotonga, which is such a special place. We're already planning our next trip back!

Paul and Leanne

Room Tip: Ask for a floor plan of the rooms/villas at the resort, as this will help when selecting the location and type of accomodation that suits your needs.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leanneb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Kia Orana Paul & Leanne,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa again!

We are pleased to read that you had a fantastic time with us, seeing familiar faces, the beautiful tropical gardens, the meals at the restaurants, the cocktails on the beach at sunset and so much more.

We are pleased to read that your problem at Spa Ariki was resolved by the Spa Manager - we will ensure this does not happen again.

We look forward to seeing you both again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had always wanted to visit the Cook Islands and had 2 friends that went there for honeymoons & raved about it. So when it came around to me getting married I knew we had to go here for our honeymoon as well. The hard part was choosing a resort to stay at as they all look magnificent. I think the reason I chose Crown Beach Resort was the good reviews on this website, and I have to say they are all correct. The resort itself is lovely, it was fully booked when we were there but didn't feel overcrowded with people, the only time we really saw a lot of people was at breakfast or dinner in Oceans restaurant. We stayed in a Courtyard Pool Suite and were very impressed with the room. The extra privacy and having our own plunge pool was a bonus! The location of the resort was great, only a 10 minute scooter ride into the main town Avarua, lots of yummy local restaurants within walking distance and a beautiful beach on your doorstep. The perfect place to sit at happy hour with a cocktail in hand and watch the sunset. We had rain for most of the time we were there but still found it a beautiful place to be and we still swam in the beach and snorkelled as the water temp is lovely. It really is like you see on postcards; turquoise water, white sand & friendly locals. The Saturday Punanga Nui Markets are a lot of fun, checkout the Waffle stall for breakfast. The shopping was a bit more expensive than what we expected but we still shopped up a storm!

Room Tip: Courtyard pool suites are much more private for couples
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donkeykong787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite with high stone walls, private pool and outdoor dining gazebo.

We are also pleased to read that you loved exploring beautiful island of Rarotonga with her many offerings including shopping outlets, the Punanga Nui Market, the various snorkeling spots around the island, restaurants & bars and so much more.

We hope to see you both again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I faciltated our inaugural yoga retreat for a group of 16 yogis at the Crown Beach Resort and Spa. The large spacious yoga studio facilities were perfect. Our entire group were pampered and indulged for the 6 days and 7 nights. The staff were attentive, friendly and professional and probably somewhat amused at sweaty yogis who could not get enough of the ice cold Nu and smoothies they provided. The food was exceptional!! One guest requested that when they return next year for another retreat if we could just eat on site at the Windjammer Resturant as it was the best meal we had on the island.
I look forward to hosting many more yoga retreats at the Resort as I am confident our guests will not be disappointed and it will exceed expectations.

Room Tip: We all had private pool villas. Perfect for privacy an total relaxation.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent group stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you all enjoyed the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suites with high stone walls, private pool and outdoor dining gazebo.

We are equally pleased to read that your group loved their cold 'Nu' (coconut water), the fresh fruit smoothies and the meals at Windjammer Restaurant. We will happily program more meals at Windjammer the next time your group returns to Rarotonga, although we do recommend that you continue to dine around the island - for a bit of variety.

Our staff enjoyed looking after your group and we thank you for the special yoga session you dedicated to our team of 85 - very inspirational!

We look forward to seeing you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Where do you start to try to explain how simply awesome this resort and its people are? It just has that WOW factor as soon as you walk in. The food at all the resort resturants is just out of this world. The super friendly staff that looked after us were the BEST. We are so chuffed with the entire experience we WILL return. As our Kiwi mates Cathryn and Peter have metioned the stay will exceed your expectations. The rooms were super clean and right up to date, this resort has everthing you wish for but seldom find.And to add to all those superlative things factor in EXCELLENT VALUE !!
Thank you Crown Beach for making our stay such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Courtyard villa which had a private plunge pool, and tops in privacy !!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that your loved the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite complete with private pool, outdoor dining gazebo with guaranteed privacy provided by the high stone walls.

We are equally pleased to read that you loved our cuisine at our Windjammer & Oceans Restaurants (Tang Restaurant is closed until her chef returns from Singapore) and that you enjoyed interacting with our team of 85 Cook Islanders who ooze the art of polynesian hospitality straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews