We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
144
35
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
35
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steve and geraldine shipwreck bar music nights ship wreck bar meals golden retriever saturday bbq enjoyed the live music butter chicken loved our stay here awesome beach local staff other guests seafood chowder chilli con carne bbq night deluxe unit
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 188 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2015

This was our third trip to Rarotonga, staying at Aro'a. We simply would not stay anywhere else. The best snorkeling on the island is right on the doorstep (easily on par with fruits of rarotonga given what we ticked off the list), and if you dont go out at least once a day, you are missing out. The bar is the perfect spot for watching the sun go down with a cocktail (we had friends join us one night and they agreed it was such a magical relaxed evening). The rooms, while not the hilton are perfect for a relaxed beachfront hotel where we walked around in jandals and bare feet. Small note that our rooms only received new towels and the odd bin empty over the week, so may have been good to have a bit more of a clean once or twice to keep the wee ants at bay. The hammocks are not to be missed for a great reading spot or simply drag a lounger onto the beach for some relax time. Thanks to Steve and Geraldine for keeping Aro'a the beauty it always has been and thanks again to Steph, Alone, Nani and Cas for being awesome and making our trip that much more enjoyable. Might have to be longer next time.... xo Nico & Jason

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NicoJoubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2015

Kia Orana Nico & Jason,

Thank you for your brilliant review. So pleased that you enjoyed your holiday here at the beautiful Aro'a Beachside Inn. I'll pass your comments on to everyone.

We look forward to you returning, maybe during the next school holidays???

Meitaki ma'ata,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2015

Aro'a Beachside Inn is one of the most understated relaxing places I have ever stayed. It has memorable unforgettable sunsets from both your room and the bar, with local musicians playing and Stephanie and Neinei singing voices will make you never want to leave, 3 nights of the week.
Aro'a is so peaceful, maximum capacity is around 22 and there are no overnight kiddies. Geraldine and Steve are wonderful hosts and full of great recommendations of places to visit eat and experience. (the Moorings, Highland Paradise, end of the runway on plane take off and much more) The seafood barbeque at the Shipwreck hut was amazing, thanks to Neinei's excellent Rarotongan cooking skills, the rakau, ikamata and smoked marlin are delicious. The staff here are fabulous and full of local cultural information, Stephanie, Aroa and Alone to name a few, make you feel so at home on the island.
A must do is 10am mass at the local church on Sunday at CICC Arorangi, Steve and Geraldine even give you a lift there, the singing and local hospitality will absolutely blow you away. Go for tea will the locals afterwards, thanks to Chief Auntie Tinomana for her wonderful food and kindness and free paw paw, custard aples and coconuts and you even have cooking facilities in your room to cook all the local produce you can buy or pick on the roadside.
Aro'a beachside is a must detention to stay, I cannot recommend it enough, to relax enjoy and to make everlasting friends, both local and tourists.

Room tip: Keeping our room secret for next time
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MrsLeady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Kia Orana Mrs Leady,

Thank you so much for your heavenly review. So happy that you had the holiday that you wanted and our recommendations.

It was a pleasure having you here and I'm sure that Leady will be owning the microphone on your next visit. We really hope that you make it back here soon.

Thank you for your personal recommendations.

Meitaki ma'ata,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team (and Dexter...).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2015

A wonderfully peaceful, comfortable & welcoming place from which to enjoy the many island sights and activities, or to just relax in the calm pool & child-free garden setting overlooking the beach & lagoon. Hosts Geraldine & Steve, and all their wonderful staff made us feel very much at home on our arrival, with an island orientation from Stephanie over our first fruit & muffin breakfast. Our room met all our needs, the seafood & western bbq's were great, and our 10 days went past much too quickly. Our huge thanks to the Aro'a Beachside team for making our stay so special - Robodoc & the Canook.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robn455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Kia Orana Rob,

Thank you for your awesome review. I will pass all your comments on to the team.

It was great having you guys here, loads of fun (I will be using your nickname as an example on Sunday mornings from now on...).

We all really hope that you come back and see us again soon.

Meitaki ma'ata,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team and Dexter, of course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2015

We had a great stay at the hotel. the room we had a unique view of the sea. The beach is wonderful white and you can walk endlessly. The owners are very friendly. as the staff, especially "Alone". the BBQ-Nights are wonderful.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michaellQ7247MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2015

Kia Orana Michael,

Thank you for your perfect review.

I have shown your review to Alone, she was delighted with your comments about her.

Thank you once again.

Meitaki ma'ata,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2015

Very comfortable small inn with a quiet lagoon and incredible views of the waves breaking at the reef. Their Shipwreck Hut bar and pub food restaurant is just superbly placed: Look-out from under shady trees perfectly framing the lagoon. At certain nights they have life music entertainment and a good barbeque (presently Tuesday) and on Thursday there is life music and pub food. The rooms are quite spacious and meticulously clean, most have view onto the lagoon. Our room (105) was perfectly situated for the view, had a queen size bed and another that served as sofa or additional bed. Sleep quality would be good, were it not for those roosters with their early-morning song - but I understand they are all over the island. Small, well equipped kitchenette, very good shower, plenty of places to store things. At the entrance is a spacious, covered veranda with table, 4 chairs etc. A good breakfast is served consisting of a selection of fruit juices, a fruit platter, home-baked muffins as well as toast bread with jams and peanut butter, etc. The personnel is just lovely, the owners Steve and Geraldine are very personable, sit down with each arriving guest and explain how their inn functions and give good recommendations for local activities and assist in making reservations where needed. The staff are all very cheerful, it really is a pleasure to be here.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weberwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2015

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your fantastic and informative review. The time that you took to write your detailed review is much appreciated.

I will pass your comments on to our awesome staff.

Meitaki ma'ata,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews