We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, clean cottage, great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Arorangi, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
NZbex83
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean cottage, great location”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Island Harmony Cottage is a fantastic holiday rental that was an ideal base for myself and my partner on our recent trip to Rarotonga. It is a beautiful cottage and was immaculately clean.

It only takes about 40mins to scoot all the way around Rarotonga, and the key spots are the main town of Avarua (North), Muri Beach (South East) and the much-lauded snorkelling spots of 'Black Rock' (West) and 'Fruits of Rarotonga' (South). We found Island Harmony to be perfectly situated to get the most out of all these places - based just off Aroa Beach on the South-West side of the island, it was close enough that nothing was more than a 10-15mins ride away, but far enough that we could keep ourselves to ourselves away from the main hubs when we preferred.

The only mistake we made was to not appreciate the beach right on our doorstep until the very end of our holiday - we heard from everyone we asked that undoubtedly the best two snorkelling spots were 'Fruits' and 'Black Rock' - and while these are certainly both great locations, the beach right in front of Island Harmony had the benefit of being much quieter (verging on private), and easy access to the water (at Fruits you have to navigate some rock to get into the water). The only downside was that the coral access is tidal, so you need to time your visit to get the most out of your snorkelling here.

Linda was a lovely host who greeted us on arrival, and even allowed us to use the property all day on our day of checkout because we had a late afternoon flight and her next guests weren't due for a couple of days.

We won't hesitate to book Island Harmony Cottage next time we visit Rarotonga. Thanks for everything Linda!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredibly clean, cottage also stayed cool during the hotter days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelC500
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Upon arriving at the Island Harmony Cottage, we were immediately impressed with the spaciousness of the 2 bedroom cottage. We were greeted by warm and welcoming Linda. Even though we arrived very late at night, Linda took time to greet us and show us around. Linda took care to ensure we had all the necessities needed for our stay, as well as providing seasonal fruit on arrival (plus some extras throughout our stay and invitation to help ourselves to the fruit trees on the property).

The surrounds of the property itself are so tranquil and exactly what we needed for our relaxing holiday. The cottage is located an easy short 3 minute walk to one of the best beach spots on the Island; just tucked away from the main road to give the privacy and peace we were looking for. Each morning we awoke to the lush trees and flowers surrounding the cottage. The deck was a perfect spot to just sit and enjoy the views.

Whilst the cottage is located on the island side closer to the town centre and airport, we experienced no noise pollution of cars and scooters, or airplanes.

Having looked at numerous accommodations on the island, this was definitely best value for money for us on a great spot on the Island. If you are looking for a relaxing, private and tranquil holiday experience, away from the typical tourist spots at Muri on the other side of the island, this is definitely the spot to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hassle free dealings with Linda who made the whole booking process so easy and stress free; Privacy of the cottage and spaciousness was impressive; close to a great beach for swimming and snorkelling; great value for money
Liked least: Nothing we did not like about the cottage itself. Travelling to Rarotonga generally, If you are a light sleeper, you may wish to invest in some earplugs as there are chickens, roosters and native birds and can be vociferous at times.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten G
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Island Paradise”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Walking into Harmony Island Cottage on arrival in Raro we were welcomed with fresh tropical fruits from Linda's garden which were sublime, then immediately told to help ourselves from the trees outside during the course of our stay......the cottage is spacious, airy & light, hugely comfortable, & has everything & more that one needs. We felt at home immediately. It’s also the perfect place to stay, down a side road lined with palm trees, opening into the most beautiful colourful private quiet garden, we felt right at home & as if we were one of the locals. The snorkelling right off the beach across the road from the cottage was actually some of the best we experienced, full of beautiful tropical fish & coral. Shipwreck bar just a short walk up the beach was magic & a bit further up the beach from there was Castaway Resort with another fab beach bar & great food served whilst sipping cocktails watching the sun go down. It's situated in a great stretch of the island, a truly wonderful, picturesque spot.

Lindas warm welcome & friendly relaxed way topped off the most magical week. Cannot wait to go back for more. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Harmony Cottage and highly recommend it.
Thankyou Linda!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissyBa...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful home away from home :)”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Island Harmony Cottage was a fantastic place to stay on our holiday. Linda was extremely helpful and exceeded our expectations in every way. The cottage was clean and tidy and about a 2 minute walk to an excellent snorkeling spot. We wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude F
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spacious and quiet Cottage near Lagoon”
Reviewed January 23, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful cottage located at 250m off the main road is very convenient, spacy ( approx 100m2 ), with all amenities to cook, wash the laundry and more. Beds are new and comfortable. Linda, the owner even have beach towels, masks, snorkels and fins for her clients. WIFI is available, providing a credit bought at Telecom. This is the way it works in this island where all communications are via satellites. The location is very clean ( this is a Swiss writting :-)) ! ), and the lagoon just across the main road. It only takes 5mn to be on a wonderful beach. Bus stop is very near and very convenient. We really enjoyed staying there for nearly a week in January 2015. I recommend it, Linda is a lovely, smily and helpful host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Calm location, flowers and fruits all over the Cottage
Liked least: leaving the island !
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorand...
Warkworth, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Privacy, Peace and everthing we needed for a relaxing stay”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This accommodation is much more than a cottage. Modern and spacious we enjoyed complete privacy overlooking the lush green lawn and garden. Our hosts were more than happy to help us and everything was provided to make our stay comfortable and relaxing - from fresh fruit, milk & bread on our arrival plus all tea and coffee making ingredients. A short walk to the beautiful lagoon with fresh beach towels & snorkelling equipment available made it easy to wander to the beach to see the variety of fish and coral. Plenty of space and airflow in the rooms to return to afterwards. Handy to some tasty local cafés and restaurants and about 10 minutes drive to Muri shops and night market. We totally recommend Harmony Cottage and hope to stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacios,clean, quiet, close to beach
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT place to stay”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I was lucky enough to spend a month at the cottage, and if you are looking for a comfortable home away from home, this is the perfect spot. It is in the great location of Arorangi, tucked back from the main road so it is nice and peaceful and quiet. As per the photos, it is very spacious, CLEAN, tidy, light, airy, and tastefully decorated. There's a great bathroom, shower and all the laundry facilities, so you can have a completely self contained holiday. The kitchen is well stocked, and the drawers have everything you could ever need!
Linda and her husband are really sweet and they allow you a lot of privacy but are there if you need anything. It's great to have a car as there is a safe space to park and lots to do in the area. Wigmores supermarket a 5 minute drive away. The beach is great and its a short easy walk down the road. Nice towels available at the cottage.
I will miss my time there and have no hesitation recommending it to friends and family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was clean, spacious, light and airy
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing