We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely comfortable cottage in a beautiful garden”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Arorangi, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jr532015
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable cottage in a beautiful garden”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A perfect location on the quieter side of Rarotonga. The beach is a three minute walk at the end of the lane across the road. There is a shop for all your groceries at Kevara, a 5 minute walk. The round island bus stops there or you can just wave it down. We didn't need a car. Nearby attractions include Coco Putt, ( don't miss the Sunday barbecue) and the Shipwreck hut bar on the beach, 5 minutes walk.
Linda and her sone Dion are very friendly, helpful and generous. A great place to stay and enjoy Rarotonga

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
Lovely couple, easy to converse with, very friendly, Left the Cottage clean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey70...
1 review
“Roomy, clean, well provisioned, comfortable”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Located near lovely beach and cute beach bar, Island Harmony Cottage is a short walk away @ 300m inland. Linda, owner, is very open and friendly. Showed us around her lovely garden and offered good top tips and a bit of island history.
The cottage is generous in size, fully mosquito proof, has ceiling and floor fans. Kitchen fully equipped for self catering including sandwich maker, blender, microwave and generous sized fridge. Bathroom is roomy with excellent water pressure. A washing machine and good areas for drying. Beds very comfortable and rooms tastefully decorated. Clean sheets and towels provided on request. We were also encouraged to help ourselves to any ripe fruit in the garden: the passion fruit were in season and delicious.
We had a few days of rainy weather during our stay but due to the spacious cottage no 'cabin fever' incurred.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Left the Cottage clean. Friendly, so easy to talk to
Highly recommend them as guests where ever they go
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackTrace
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is awesome!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I have been to Rarotonga twice before and always stayed in Muri however this time I had new baby twins and wanted a peaceful place to stay with all the comforts of home. I was not disappointed. Linda's cottage is absolutely perfect for a holiday retreat, it is quiet and surrounded by lush and beautiful gardens. However it is also just a short stroll to the road/beach/bus and is also walking distance to Shipwreck's beautiful sunset beach bar (we spent a few nights there and the chowder is amazing), There is a kayak and bike hire place also a walk away as is the Maori cafe, a convenience store and of course the bus will stop right outside (you just flag it down).
The cottage itself is spotlessly clean, modern and has super comfy beds and pillows (I'm one of those people that takes my pillow to ensure a good night's sleep and it turned out I didn't need to!). We had a running joke where if we needed something we were damn sure Linda had supplied it - we just had to look for it (extension leads, insect repellant, umbrellas, first aid kit - you name it she has thought of it!).
If it's not there all you have to do is give her a ring and she will do her best to bring it to you - we had a couple of rainy days and asked to borrow her DVD player - she brought it straight over.
All in all an absolutely lovely place to stay with beautiful hosts and I would definitely stay again and recommend to all.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
They were beautiful guests to accommodate especially having children you can tend to get a bit nervous in how they will treat the Cottage but I did not need to have worried as the Cottage was kept clean an they were very respectful of the Cottage a pleasure to have
Easy to talk to, very friendly as if I have known them for a long time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
1 review
“Excellent customer service, beautiful property, perfect location!”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Our group of 5 stayed here from Nov 14-18, 2016 at the tail end of our 2 week trip to Rarotonga. During the first half of the trip, we stayed on the east side of the island, near Muri Beach, which had all the large tourist resorts and activities. It was a nice change of pace to move down to Island Harmony Cottage, which is in the south end of the island, close to great beaches for snorkelling and swimming. The home is located a little inland (about a 5-10 min walk from the main ring road) and surrounded by a large garden with all sorts of fruit trees (mangoes, papaya, guava, banana, star fruit...), so you get the feel of having a secluded little paradise all to yourself. Plus, you're welcome to the fruit on the trees, though unfortunately most of the fruits were out of season during our stay.

Linda and her family live in the home next door and they are extremely hospitable. She and her son showed a few of our group around the garden and shucked coconuts for us to eat. When we had questions or needed some extra supplies, they were readily available to help. The service they provided went a long way to making our trip more memorable.

As stated above, the location is great for those who enjoy snorkelling. And the sunsets on this side of the island are gorgeous. I would highly recommend booking this cottage for a fantastic experience!

(not to confuse anyone new to Rarotonga - on the island, you purchase data packs through WiFi. While there is internet available at the cottage in the form of a WiFi hotspot, it's not without charge)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
For a group of 5 they were very quite which was excellent
Easy to converse with
Respectful of the cottage and clean what more can I say
Thanks again for your awesome review really appreciate that
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALaodicea...
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Far from the Madding Crowd”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a relaxing holiday we had at Island Harmony Cottage! I had specifically chosen this holiday home due to its high ratings at TripAdvisor (well-deserved, as we experienced) and its private garden setting, a world away from the crowds and noise of touristy Muri Beach, and NO traffic noise, as it is not near the main road (as are so many other holiday rentals in Raro). And you definitely want to be on the sunset side of the island for the spectacular sunsets and less wind. Just a short walk to the beach, with hardly anyone else there, so you feel as if you have the lovely lagoon to yourself. Heaven!

Dion was our charming host, and he very obligingly drove us into town to fetch our rental car, and was available for any other questions we had. The huge pluses of Island Harmony are its spaciousness, comfortable beds, ceiling fans, washing machine, lovely and quiet garden setting with privacy, huge beach towels, well-equipped kitchen, Wifi capability, excellent value for your money, and proximity to a "private," uncrowded beach for incredible swimming and snorkeling. And it's just a short stroll to the island's famous Shipwreck Hut, rated as one of the top three "beach bars" in the world. We hope to return again to Island Harmony Cottage next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
I did not have the pleasure of meeting Gina & Craig hopefully I will have the chance to meet them next year when they come back to Rarotonga
Dion my son was there host and said they were a lovely couple and loved the Cottage and looked after it as if it was there home
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean and friendly”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved our stay here. The cottage is spacious and airy, immaculately clean and well kitted out for a stay of a week or more. Everything you would want in the kitchen is there and the washing machine is handy to save on packing.

Linda and her family live in the house behind and were really welcoming, with fresh fruit from from the garden and advice on what to try.

Can't recommend highly enough. We'd love to stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Sarah & James left the Cottage clean
They were a joy & a pleasure to have stay in our Cottage
Also I learnt from Sarah that "Adventure Cook Island" which hires out snorkel gear , Body boards, kayaks, scooters, bicycles etc is one of the best adventure places on the Island and just 5 min away from Island Harmony
So pleased to have contributed to your holiday here in Rarotonga
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meganmQ45...
1 review
“Awesome location”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Coming to Rarotonga for the third time, this was the best place to stay... The best beach is at the end of the driveway! Great to have access to all the snorkelling gear and we left some more. Layout of the house means everyone had their own space! Quiet surroundings back from the main road is awesome. Linda, a friendly and helpful host! We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thank you Megan & family for your beautiful comments
Thank you for treating Island Harmony like your home
It was great to play a part in your having a greatly needed restful holiday
My family enjoyed all the goodies you left in the cupboard
Look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing