We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place in Raro”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Arorangi, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ben_mico
Paris
1 review
“Perfect place in Raro”
Reviewed September 26, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We’ve had a wonderful stay at Island Harmony cottage. The location is perfect, less than 5 minutes from the beach by foot, where there is also a convenience store, very nice fish and chips and giant ice creams. All we need to spend great time in family !

The cottage is charming, neat, and Linda thought of all the details that make a place confortable. We definitely felt the love in this very special place, which makes it so homy.

Plus Linda was so helpful during our stay and when we were preparing our trip.

We were in one of Fiji’s best resorts a month ago but enjoyed so much more our stay at Linda’s !

Thanks

Ben and family

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2018
The children were so well behaved a credit to the parents
Very friendly, I loved conversing with them & they were clean
I am so happy to be able to give them joy on their holiday & to have contributed to their world trip, all the best with your beautiful memories
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneC973
Mapua, New Zealand
1 review
“Lives Up To It's Name!”
Reviewed July 24, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Linda is such a thoughtful host and the accommodation is clean and very well appointed and comfortable. Great shower water pressure! Location and accommodation is perfect if you are after more low key/laid back /do your own thing holiday and want to be away from the touristy hustle and bustle side of the island and is a perfect spot with a lazy short walk to the beach, a store for food and ice creams (in a cone....kids have never had so many ice creams in a week!) a few minutes walk down the road along with a little cafe for burgers and beers or coffees (best iced coffee I have had in a long time). Also within walking distance to beach bars down the road to enjoy a drink and watch the sunset over the sea. Absolutely magical. The location, the beautiful tropical garden with bananas, limes (handy for your gin and cocktails) and other fruits for your picking along with a thoughtful and helpful host make this a lovely alternative to resort/hotel accommodation overall offering a more authentic island experience and holiday. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2018
Thank you Jayne for your awesome review
Highly recommend this little family, they were clean, quiet, respectful, friendly, easy to converse with a pleasure to have
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umbopa
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Garden of Eden”
Reviewed April 12, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We spent 9 weeks in Rarotonga, New Zealand and Tokyo and our week at Island Harmony Cottage was an absolute highlight of our trip. Although more expensive than we would normally consider, we thought we'd lash out on a bit of comfort at the start of our trip to get over our jet lag. We are so glad we did. The house and garden were lovely and had everything we needed. We felt so relaxed there being set in a garden paradise well back from the road. Linda was an exceptionally welcoming and generous host. The snorkeling off the local white sand beach is about as good as anywhere on the island - lots of lovely fish but almost entirely dead reef, as it is all round the island unfortunately. We were lucky in that our visit coincided with tropical fruit season and we were inundated with the most delicious mangoes and passion fruit we have ever tasted, all hanging from the trees in Linda's garden. We arrived from a miserable English winter to high humidity and 28 degrees on verdant and beautiful Rarotonga. It was like a wonderful dream. The weather was very mixed this time of year with much rain but that just added to the contrast. Given how warm it was, we decided to do the cross island walk in torrential rain without waterproofs which was such a sensual experience! Our three children loved the house, garden and Rarotonga, saying how much it reminded them of the Disney film 'Moana'. The singing on Sunday mornings at Arorangi church is also not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for your awesome review, really appreciated your time & effort, What a Lovely family a pleasure to have
happy to have had a part in the start of their dream holiday
Clean & respectful of the cottage etc
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRY93
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place to stay at longer”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Originally I had meant to stay 4 nights - in fact I stayed 12! I guess this tells you more than some details....! But: truely enjoyable was the location of the house to me as it is not directly at the street but not too far away from it either, i.e. it is easy to walk to the beach. Also, the garden with Linda's fruit trees and the wonderful corner of the porch where you can enjoy your breakfast added to the picture that I so much enjoyed. Linda was a perfect host, extremely helpful and nice in any possible way! I hope to be able to be back very soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2018
Jutta is very friendly easy to converse with, very down to earth
Enjoyed having her. She kept the Cottage clean
Recommend her wherever she goes. All the best with your book
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt g
1 review
“Living like a local”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Wonderful! It’s so comfortable! The air was cool without the need for aircon. The screens kept the bugs out. The fresh fruit and kind hosts were very much appreciated. My wife is a clean freak, and she approved. We made it a week without our own transportation, using buses mostly, but guests should consider bicycles or a car or a motorbike. There is a store five-minutes walk and a few restaurants too. The beach is less than 5 min. It’s a great side of the island, very quiet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2018
Lovely couple, friendly, my family loved them very down to earth
Very respectful, Kept the Cottage clean,
Would have them back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreoFlatW...
Fremantle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super, secluded, and spacious place for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our family (two adults, one child) spent 11 nights in this wonderful cottage and couldn't have been happier with our choice of accommodation and location for our first Cook Islands holiday.
Firstly the location is great - a short distance up a cul de sac from Ara Maata / Ara Tapu (aka the main road) it was very quiet, and felt much more like being part of local life rather than the more heavily tourist oriented parts of the island. We really enjoyed walking past the few neighbouring houses and taro fields on the way to the beach which is less than five minutes walk away and fantastic for sunbathing, swimming / snorkelling (in the shallow lagoon, great for kids), kayaking and general relaxing.
Turn left at the main road and the well stocked Kavera Central Store (stocking pretty much everything you need for self-catering)is just a couple of minutes walk away. Also there is Cafe Maori (coffee, well-priced burgers, beer) and an icecream store where the servers are very generous with the scoop size!. Next door is a business where you can hire bicycles, scooters, sea kayaks etc. On the beach side opposite the shop there are public toilets, beach showers, and outdoor tables which makes it great for extended periods at the beach. A bit further on, but still within easy walking distance is Cocoputt - combing alcoholic beverages, restaurant, and mini-golf it was a hit with us.
Turn right at the main road, and it is only a few minutes to a great beach bar (Shipwreck Bar at Aro'a Beachside Inn) while a bit further on you can get fantastic and great value fish and chips at The Pacific Fish and Chip Shop.
In our experience, there is no necessity to leave the vicinity of the cottage, though of course there are lots of attractions and things to do in other parts of Raro. We accomplished using the fun local bus service (which stops near the store) and the pickup services provided by various tour operators when booking paid activities like lagoon tours and the cross-island walk. Of course we had the luxury of time on the island - if you were there for a short time hiring a car or scooters would make it easier to see more. The main thing I would say is don't be put off by perceptions of distance from the 'tourist hot spots' - accessing them is really quite straightforward if you want to, while Island Harmony and Arorangi District have their own benefits of being a bit removed from the 'crowds'.
The cottage itself is really quite large, extremely well-equipped and magnificently clean. We cooked at 'home' most nights and really enjoyed just relaxing in the cottage and grounds. The cross ventilation made it very comfortable, the beds were large and comfortable, the hot water and water pressure great, and we really appreciated having the laundry facilities to wash / rinse out clothes and swimwear and have them dry overnight. One thing to note, which didn't impact us but may do others, is that the second large bed is open plan to the kitchen area / entry and access to the bathroom - as such it may not be ideal for two couples or those who must have privacy (there is a freestanding room divider).
On the subject of noise, much is made of the roosters but although there were a few around we didn't find they interrupted our sleep at all. Laying in bed at night the main sounds you could hear were the waves on the reef and, occasionally, the distant drumming of the (highly recommended) evening showing at Highland Paradise. Similarly we had no issues with mosquitoes, though we were careful to apply repellent, not really noticing any at all around the cottage during our stay.
Communication with the owner was clear, simple, and timely both before and during our stay - not that we had any issues at all that required her attention during our time in Raro. She was kind enough to book our airport transfers and provide some great tips on things to do.
All in all Island Harmony Cottage and Arorangi District come highly recommended as places to base yourself for a wonderful, extra relaxing, comfortable holiday on Raro. We certainly hope to be back sooner rather than later.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2017
What an awesome review & so informative for future guests
It was such a pleasure to have met & accomodate this lovely little family
I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND THEM where ever they go
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pshouler
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful island getaway”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is the perfect cottage for an island getaway. Linda was the perfect host and the cottage was clean and well equipped. It was surrounded by a stunning garden and only a short walk to one of the best beaches on the island. There are good restaurants close by and a good convenience store 2 minutes walk along the road. You would be hard pressed to find better value than this and I whole heartedly recommend it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2017
What a lovely, beautiful, relaxing, friendly couple so easy to talk too
Where ever they go they would be so welcome, HIGHLY RECOMMEND THEM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing