We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favourite place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arorangi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arorangi Beach Front Bungalow & Studio Unit
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We rented the bungalow and the studio unit, and loved them both. This is our new favourite place, and we have already started to look at dates for the next trip. The house is ideal, and the location is perfect! The swimming hole in front of the house was great for my 4 year old son - just the right depth at all tides (and Nana enjoyed it too!). Lucky the dog was also a hit with my boy - he couldn't believe that we got to have a "Rarotongan Dog" to hang out with. Sue was a pleasure to deal with, and they couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We are more than happy to recommend the property to anyone looking for a fantastic holiday - the only problem is that we're worried too many people will find out, and it won't be "our little secret" anymore!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rozzy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful beachfront bungalow. Perfect for the whole family. Beautiful beaches to the north & south. Make sure you take a stroll along the beach to some great swimming & snorkelling spots. We're planning to return same time again next year. Unbeatable value & kind freindly hosts. Absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takotorau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Big rambling 4 bedroom fibro (fibreboard) bungalow, comfortably furnished with cane sofas, comfy beds and island decor, wall hangings, etc. Plenty of room for a family to spread out and relax. When we arrived the promised DVD player was missing but the owner brought us another one the same day.
We enjoyed lazy breakfasts outside on the verandah admiring the view and in the evenings watching the sun set in a blaze of glory over the lagoon.
It was nice being on the wind-protected side of the island, as the more popular resort areas around Muri Lagoon are exposed to the full brunt of the prevailing SE Trade-winds in the winter months.
The winter months being the peak tourist season, we missed out on the internet off-peak deals so the tariff was quite high. There were also a few minor things in need of repair, (eg missing doorknob on clothes cupboard, corroded window catches etc), but you'd have to be picky to let that stop you enjoying your holiday!
The location was perfect. - 10 minutes from the airport and main town, 5 minutes to several restaurants and cafes, peaceful, private and sheltered location. there is a small 'rockpool' for swimming in front of house, about 10m across, and good wading on the rocks and reef (wear reef shoes!) with plenty of marine creatures to see (starfish, sea urchins, anemones etc). Just a few hundred metres south is Kavera Beach with good swimming and Kayaks and snorkelling gear for hire. Even though the winds were quite strong on the Muri side (SE) of the island, Kavera Beach on the west, was sheltered and protected by the fringing palms along the beach. Maori Cafe next to the kayak hire serves awesome burgers and chips (french fries).
We would also recommend the Day trip to Aituaki. The lagoon cruise, BBQ lunch and snorkelling were just superb!
Rarotonga is not "up-market" - it's definitely a laid back relaxing place to visit. The Arorangi Beachfront Bungalow may not suit you if you are looking for the glamour and social buzz of a resort, but for a peaceful secluded family getaway, where you can do your own thing at your own pace, in natural surroundings, it is ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We stayed in the studio and were very impressed by the location and the standard of the studio. Even though is is joined to the bungalow it was very private. We made excellent use of the covered large outdoor area and the sun loungers.
Lucky and Patch the dogs were daily companions whos company we enjoyed. The owners also own Island Car Hire and we got a good rate from them as we were staying in their accomodation. When Raro tours forgot to pick us up for a flight, karen one of the owners rushed us to the airport and we got there 15 minutes before the flight left. She then negotiated with airport staff to let us board - we really appreciated this act of kindness

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurelWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

The Arorangi Beachfront Bungalow ticked all the boxes for us. It was clean, comfortable, on the beach and large enough to accommodate our extended family. It was also very reasonably priced with special deals, which made it very affordable. We loved the 'little extras' like the 2 dogs and cat that adopted us while we were there but were never intrusive, the hammock slung between two trees overlooking the beach was soooo comfortabe,the basket of blow up toys in the corner of the verandah that our kids had a ball with. The bungalow is placed in a perfect position for supervising children and whether you enjoy sitting out in the sun or prefer the shade, there are lots of options. When we return to Rarotonga we will be looking no further than the Aorangi Beachfront Bungalow for our accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2008

This is a 4 bedroom beachfront bungalow with everything you need for a self catering holiday. Great for families or groups. Sleeps up to 10 and has a studio unit next door as well. There is a swimming hole right in front of the house or you can walk a few hundred metres down the beach to a good swimming beach. We were only there for 5 nights and wish we had booked longer! 2 adults and 2 kids aged 12 and 14. 2 of the days we didn't leave the property as the kids could swim and snorkel right in front of the house while we lazed on the loungers, under the trees or took a dip in the swimming hole, when it got too hot! If you want to go somewhere that is private, quiet and has everything you need then this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KiwiWhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
0.0 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.0 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.0 km away
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
#4 of 12 in Arorangi
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 km away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
162 reviews
0.0 km away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arorangi Beach Front Bungalow & Studio Unit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arorangi Beach Front Bungalow & Studio Unit

Address: | PO Box 2083, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Arorangi
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Arorangi Beach Front Bungalow & Studio Unit Cook Islands/Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing