We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
126
47
7
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
47
7
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic foodcooking schooleco poolfrench couplefantastic staydouble roomguest housegame viewingstayed here for two nightscrisscross adventuresrondavelparkgardendrivedstvluxurysa
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 187 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The very small town of Addo -we nearly drove past it without noticing it- surprised us with this very pleasant guest house, and the friendly and hospitable people there. It's a place set in fairly large and well-kept grounds. It's an ideal location for visiting the Addo Park (where the accomodation is rather posh). We were offered the brand new family room in the guest house itself, a large, comfortably furnished room at a very reasonable rate indeed!
For self-caterers there is a well-equipped communal kitchen, kept spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We arrived here very late after a long drive and were so relieved when we saw how nice it was. We stayed here to be close to the Addo Elephant National Park which was only a 5 minute drive away. We stayed in a rondavel which was a really lovely experience and cooked our food in the main guesthouse which was well equipped. I really enjoyed dozing in the hammocks whilst my other half did the washing up! I liked the sounds and smells of being so close to a citrus vineyard but i could hear the road noise in the morning. Owner was very friendly and overall a very good stay!

Room Tip: The rondavels were fun!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brecon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2012

There isn't much in the town of Addo right outside the Addo Elephant Park but we were lucky to find the Aardvark Guesthouse. They cater to backpackers but they have 5 very nice rondavals (typical African round houses) which were well furnished and very comfortable. The location is perfect just 10 km south of the main entrance to the park. Daniel was a great host and price was well within our budget. We have some great memories of the visit.

Room Tip: Book one of the Rondavals and you won't be disappointed
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wernickejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2011

5 minutes by car from Addo National Park. We stayed one night in a very beautiful rondavel, with bathroom and shower, tea and coffee facilities provided.
Very clean and not toot expensive.
Addo "village" has nothing to offer besides being next to the park, but of you want to get to it at dawn I woul recommend Aardvark.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penelope72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2011

On the tourist-infested, over-priced slum that is the Garden Coast of South Africa, the Aardvark is almost a mirage - a decently priced, superbly fitted-out, beautiful little place with tons of character, warm, hospitable hosts and a great breakfast. This is the kind of place you feel happy to review because you want to give the owner more business. Absolutely super duper - the rooms were spacious and really beautifully done up.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Ritzy_Bitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews