We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
351
193
37
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
193
37
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaddo elephant parksemi detachedplay areaswimming poolbraai areabeautiful farmbeautiful placewi fienjoyed our staythe main housebird lifea lovely staybeautiful viewspent two nightsmud hutcitrus farmwarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 593 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018

It is out of the way, so you have to eat there or drive somewhere. That said the food is good and reasonable as are the wines on offer. Unfortunately much of the accommodation is a good walk down the track, and there is NO lighting at night, so bring a torch. The plus of this is excellent star gazing opportunities. The room was clean and comfortable, the ensuite was a bit dated and had cracked tiles. A wardrobe but no hangers.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowbabe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Very beautiful and atmospheric place. Close to addo Park. Nice breakfast and dinner. Safe. For those who loves nature. You must have a car to get there and enjoy any activities. Friendly staff. The only minus is cleanliness of the room, they should pay more attention to space under the bed when washing floors. Overall - we did enjoyed our stay. Thank You.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2rememberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018

We stayed at Avoca about 12 years ago. We liked it so much we decided to come back.
12 years later it is still fantastic or actually even better. They have done a lot of work to upgrade everything.
We stayed in a river side chalet. The chalet is spacious and well equipped. Next to the chalet was a nice boma with a braai.
The location along the river is really beautiful.
The pools and playground are nice and lovely for the kids.
The landscaping is amazing.
We had breakfast and it was very tasteful. (the only thing to improve would be adding cold cut meat/cheese)
We have no experience with their dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniellev202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Four of us stayed here in Feb 2018 having come along the garden route from Cape Town where we had spent just shy of a week.

Have to say Avoca River Cabins was the worse experience of our whole holiday. Our welcoming was a disgrace from the female manager on site at the time of our arrival, having had a pretty stressful journey to arrive (along a dirt track road) the manager seemed to revel in telling us we could have taken a better route. She also sneered when we confirmed we “had followed the satnav”. Wouldn’t it have been better for her to put clear instructions on which route to take?

She also was highly unprofessional in telling us where we had booked our Safari was a mistake and we should have booked with her (I wonder why?!) in the end we had an amazing Safari so her unprofessional comments were rubbish.

Our room wasn’t particularly clean and our fridge didn’t work which meant the items we had for breakfast (milk and fruit juice) were rancid by morning.

Our second morning was no better than the previous night. Having told the lady directly what time we would be arriving at breakfast and needed to leave for Safari she rudely told us we were early. She then rushed us off after breakfast like she didn’t want us there anymore and made us leave the breakfast room before our friend had returned from the toilet.

Would never recommend this place in a million years and was a real fly in the ointment. How this lady is in the hospitality business is beyond me. Rude, unprofessional and spiteful.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018

Absolutely breathtaking. We enjoyed every minute. The kids play park, canoes and swimming pool made for a very relaxing time with the kids. Service was excellent. We will be back to visit this establishment soon

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vacationer656757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews