We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveller rating
535
95
30
23
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
95
30
23
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar outdoor shower his team eco reserve addo elephant park overlooking the valley country lodge morning safari sundays river valley schotia game reserve food and wine fantastic views citrus farms attention to detail excellent accommodation perfect stay cape town
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 686 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

Superb lodge close to Addo Elephant National Park also offering professional Safari tours which we enjoyed tremendously - thank you Ilana! We were lucky and happy to get one of the New rooms for the Second Night with a superb view right from the bed!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 165silviaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2015

Absolute deserving location, superbly helpful staff. We enjoyed they're very different dinner offerings and the breakfast overlooking the Sunday river valley is truly just divine. Accommodation offered a very welcomed early morning jog around the reserve undisturbed. Your room had superb views and luxuriously fitted out.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDREVERCHON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2015

We stayed 2 night at the wonderful Hitgeheim Country Lodge.

Archie/Marietjie Hitge and the Team did everything to provide us the best service. The tours to all the parks were organized by Archie. A great place to stay - we enjoyed our time very much and we will come back as soon as possible.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank inestobiask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2015

It was a little difficult to find the lodge but well worth the effort. Wonderful view to the valley below us. Our room was beautiful with a very private little patio overlooking that valley. Big bath.room with sliding doors to another private patio that had an extra outside shower. Great food and friendly service by Donald and Nelmarie. Archie, the,owner personally greets his guests. All organized safaris went very well and although we did not see much at addo because it was extremely hot that day and most of the animal must have been having a siesta under the bushes, it was still interesting thanks to our knowgeable guide Peter. After the safari it was wonderful to relax by the pool or sitting in our own patio. I definitely recommend this place.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michelinecarloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2015

Hitgeheim, as the word already says, is the place to feel at "home"! You get everything: luxury, tasty and "nouvelle" food, very nice cottages and most of all very friendly people who will help you, no matter which problem you have got. The tours to all the parks were organized by Mr.Hitge himself and you can`t get it better. It`s worth driving the miles up north. You are in the middle of all you like to see. My daughter and I have been there to see the wild animals and we got them!!!!! Don´t miss the elefantriding. the location up on a hill gives you the feeling of overlooking afrika. Should we come to ZA again, we defenitely will stay there again.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 998monika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews