We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow ,best pie ever and a chef who can do wonders with cabbage ”
Review of Red Lion Winfrith

Red Lion Winfrith
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed December 30, 2020 via mobile

Wow , called in on my way from Dorchester , was t sure if was open at first parked next to the mobile fish n chip van and wandered to pub door , was open being Tier 2 during Covid and was .
We was early about 12:30 pm on Tuesday 29th December 2020 , the two young men behind the bar was nice and friendly and was lighting the cosy fires , my partner and I ordered steak / merlot & Turkey / ham pie, chips and veg . I can honestly say the pie was the best homemade pie I have ever tasted and the pastry was perfect , the chips was homemade wedged and served with roasted carrots and cabbage ( another couple asked the chef how the cabbage was cooked as it was delicious- he replied “ the polish way”. The chef came out to the bar and we chatted and he said it was nice during the quiet lockdown Covid times to be able to experiment with new food ideas .
We was so satisfied we had no room for a pudding , if ever we are in the area again I will defiantly call in for lunch again .
The £ 11.95 for my meal was well under what should be charged for a lovely filling freshly cooked meal . Well done to staff and manger/ chef

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank Shazzery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 265 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2020

scammers. did not pay £ 35 for the hired transport. The reason: because the thing you bought is not working. He bought it untested ~(seen advertising). and in their opinion external driver is responsible for it. Avoid as they are hungry at £ 35. Common scammers. Very bad people

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mariuszmY4554JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2020

Thank You to amazing staff who looked after us so well. Very helpful, anything we asked for wasn't a trouble. Food was very tasty and fresh. Room was clean and cosy. My expectations were lower and I was really happy. Great vloue for money, nice full english breakfast included in our room rate.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Piotr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2020 via mobile

Have driven past numerous times but never called in until by chance today, when we decided to have lunch there.
Both the quality and quantity of the food together with the friendly service were excellent and this, together with it being a dog friendly pub means that we won’t just be driving past in the future.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2020

Popped in for dinner when staying at a nearby Airbnb on our cycling trip. Great service from the friendly landlady and a very decent meal with plentiful portions. Felt like the pub was taking Covid safety seriously, which really helped to make a pleasant and relaxing evening.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank the_lucy_show
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion Winfrith also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to Red Lion Winfrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.