We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cosy - quiet - relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of patch cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
sitting room
main bedroom
sign to local post office
coastal path
jurassic coast path
lulworth cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winfrith Newburgh, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jan B
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“cosy - quiet - relaxing”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We enjoyed a lovely 5 night stay at Patch Cottage - the perfect choice for a winter break. The cottage is full of character - beams - wood burning stove - iron bedstead with feather quilt plus all the expected modern conveniences - central heating - dishwasher - lashings of hot water etc The kitchen is well equipped - there was a lovely welcome pack and there is access to a pretty garden and summer house - parking at the rear of the cottage allows for easy unloading of the car on arrival. Wifi signal was good - phone signal a bit more hit and miss We loved our stay. Thank you Louise for all the useful information you gave us prior to our arrival

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Thank you Jan for your lovely comments. I am so glad you had a good stay and made the most of the wonderful location. The mobile phone reception is a problem in the cottage unfortunately it seems to work better at the bottom of the garden!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreddyMea...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Having had prior knowledge of this beautiful cottage we decided to book up to stay. We had three days and spent the time exploring the Purbeck nooks and crannies in out wetsuits.

Location is great, cottage is exceptional, Louise is lovely. Not just a place for oldies! We're 26, 27 and 33 and will be coming back!

Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myfanwy B
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful period cottage”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is charming cottage in a beautiful village location close to the coast. On arrival the owner made us feel most welcome and we were delighted with the cosy and characterful cottage and its decor. The owner, Louise, had thought of everything, with a good selection of books and games should it rain and a varied selection of cookery books if you found yourself tempted by the local produce. The Sailor's Return, a local restaurant/pub is well worth a visit. We look forward to visiting again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet and peaceful location
Liked least: Stairs are steep but managable
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2015
Thank you for the lovely review. You were perfect guests and you are welcome to come again any time!!! Lou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGtips
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Purbeck cottage”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is a lovely cottage, with bags of period charm, but with the contemporary facilities you might expect. Perfect for families or couples, there are lots of excellent walks around Winfrith Newburgh. Upon arrival, there is a welcome basket of local bread, eggs etc. which is a very nice touch. Would stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sara m
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Me, my husband and our dog had a wonderful stay at the wonderfully peaceful patch cottage. The cottage is really beautiful and very well equipped. The garden especially is stunning and lovely to sit out in. The stairs are very steep but we coped fine and I was 7 months pregnant when I stayed, you just have to take care when using them. There is a great village shop a few hundred yards away. The location is great for getting to all sorts of sights, we loved lulworth cove especially. Overall a wonderful cottage in a lovely location to which we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden, location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillydog9
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic half term spent in Patch Cottage”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Louise the owner made us feel welcome, meeting us at the cottage earlier than expected. What a wonderful place to spend a few days. The cottage was clean and well equipped. Plenty of logs for the fire. The children thought it was wonderful, like stepping back in time.
Thatched roof, winding stairs and sympathetically decorated. Nothing is too far, well stocked village store a short walk away. The Countryman public house close by too, provided good home cooked food. Can't wait to come back.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing