We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
r00lvd
Rheineck, Switzerland

Charming, comfortable & delicious

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 28, 2016
AMAZING! Recommended for those who want to combine comfort with a gourmet experience. The hotel is about 30 minutes away from the "Wine Route" of Alsace, which is not a problem if you have a car. Located in the middle of nowhere, the hotel surprised us with clean, spacious and modern rooms. There's not a lot going on in "Sand" but the hotel restaurant is absolutely amazing. It's part of the Michelin-Restaurant guide and it's crazy delicious. From the smallest details, like a perfect sunny side up egg to the complexity of a perfectly cooked steak, everything was perfect. Our only mistake was not having dinner our second night there. Already thinking about when we're going to come back!
Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
La Maison Mann
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Hôtel Restaurant La Charrue
Free Wifi
Free parking
Suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$150
  • Hotels.com
4.9 km from Hôtel Restaurant La Charrue
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
6.7 km from Hôtel Restaurant La Charrue
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
13.2 km from Hôtel Restaurant La Charrue
Free Wifi
Contact accommodation for availability.
12.5 km from Hôtel Restaurant La Charrue
Free Wifi
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
13.5 km from Hôtel Restaurant La Charrue
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
13.2 km from Hôtel Restaurant La Charrue
Free Wifi
Spa
Contact accommodation for availability.
13.2 km from Hôtel Restaurant La Charrue
Free Wifi
Wir hatten das Eckzimmer im 3.OG
Contact accommodation for availability.
13.3 km from Hôtel Restaurant La Charrue
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Sand
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
51
36
9
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
51
36
9
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 103 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Found because it was one of the last room available for the christmas markets.

The place is extremely nice even if in the middle of nowhere.

The room was adequate but very small. It should be nice also in spring. For the Christmas markets, the place has the advantage that it is more or less at the same distance from Strasbourg and Colmar, so...

Very good cooking, but you must like strong flavours (kidneys, or the typical choucroute de canard). But not so cheap.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Alsace was a positive surprise!
We visited beautiful villages and locations and discovered the sanctuary of St.Odile which is definitively worth a visit.
I am afraid Sand was not one of the nicest places (although not lacking of a certain melancholic charme) BUT "La Charrue" was a pleasant place to spend the night at. The hotel is clean and the staff was extremely friendly; the room was nothing special, too cold for our standards and quite noisy, but with an incredibly confortable mattress.
The food on the other hand was spectacular. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant (a lot different from the main building, modern and stylish) and breakfast in the breakfast room. And in both cases, we were very pleased with everything we were served!
As for the prices, the hotel is quite convenient, the restaurant is no bargain.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vienna_myCapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Upon arrival the receptionist told us that no room was available despite that we had booked and got it confirmed via their website. Instead he was trying to persuade us to take a more expensive room. After arguing that we had booked it and stated we had a confirmation and was considering to leave, all of a sudden the room we had booked was available.

The room was sparklingly clean and the food in the restaurant was prepared with great passion and was delicious.

Too bad we got a bad impression to start with, otherwise a pleasant experience.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n00g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This family run hotel south of Strasbourg was charming. The room was quite generously sized, the beds comfy and everything sparkly clean. When we advised the hotel that we would be arriving late, they said they would put together a cold plate and a glass of wine for us. It was fabulous and a real treat after driving in the dark and the rain in a strange country. Breakfasts were plentiful with yummy local cheeses and homemade applesauce and rhubarb sauce. Yum. It's located in a very quaint town. Upon opening the windows in the morning we could hear sparrows up close and roosters farther away - and almost no vehicles.

Date of stay: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBuff55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 11, 2022
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews