We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great wee cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Alloway Cottage with spectacular views of the Ayrshire and Galloway Hills !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alloway Cottage with spectacular views of the Ayrshire and Galloway Hills !
Alloway cottage Living Room with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Alloway Cottage with spectacular views of the Ayrshire and Galloway Hills !
Alloway cottage
Living Room with wood burning stove
Living Room
Kitchen with slate floor and exposed brickwork.
Kitchen with Belfast sink and beamed ceiling
Master bedroom with purpose made furniture
Toilet with bath and shower over
Alloway cottage from the road
Alloway Cottage from the road
View from living room and master bedrooom
Patio area
View from living room with horses in paddock!
Maidens beach nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kenny B
2 reviews
“A great wee cottage”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is a great wee cottage in the Ayrshire countryside. It has a stove in the living room which makes it very cosy, but it's not really needed as it's warm enough with the central heating anyway. The shower is great!

We used this place to explore Burns country and Alloway (Burns' birthplace) is a short drive away. We also visited Culzean Castle grounds and Dumfries House as well as experiencing the phenomenon of Electric Brae!

We have children and a baby son who was just taking his first steps - I wouldn't say it was 100% safe for him, but it was fine. The cottage is semi-detached - the neighbours have rottweilers locked in kennels but we never saw them and only heard the odd bark when we were outside.

We ate at the Wilding restaurant in Maidens (very good) and Soutar's Inn in Kirkoswald (good). Unfortunately the Minishant Inn couldn't accommodate us on the Friday night.

There was a travel cot and high chair supplied which were very useful for us. Plenty of DVDs, books and a computer games console if needed. Communication with the owners was very good and they provided us with all the information we needed. We picked up the key at the cottage and never met them. I hope we left the place in a satisfactory condition - apologies if there were any stray rusks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thanks for your great review Kenny and you left the cottage in excellent condition.Come back again soon!Best regards Kevin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lijatap
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could ask for”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a really comfortable, well equipped cottage. We were lucky to have great weather so couldn't take advantage of the excellent DVD collection. Lovely view from the window and easy to get to nearby attractions - culzean, roselle, etc. If there are kennels next door you wouldn't know - we didn't see nor hear any dogs, apart from our own!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was really comfortable
Liked least: The gates at the entrance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
80HoopsMc...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at this cottage and we found it to be fantastic for all of our needs. A great location for the Galloway Forest and for beach walks at the nearby Turnberry and Culzean. The wee restaurant just down the road at Minishant ( the Minishant Inn, I think) was brilliant too. The Cottage was roasty toasty with a splendid wood burning Fire and special mention of the fantastic powerful hot shower which was perfect after hours out in the hills.We noticed that there were Kennels next door but we never heard a thing.
We would go back in a heartbeat !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: The lions heads at the front gate but at least they are a landmark
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stewart20...
England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Photos advertising property are years out of date. Black mould and damp around ceilings of bedrooms. Paper peeling off walls. Property not clean, empty wine bottle found under chair in living room.

Despite several enquiries owner did not reveal that the property was semi detached with a shared access or that the neighbours have a kennel with more than a dozen breeding Rottweilers.

The garden was not secure for dogs and each time we closed the gates the neighbours opened them.

We left the propert early and stayed in a hotel.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
I am very disappointed with this review as it does not reflect the way the property is looked after or run as can been seen from the other reviews.The photos are mostly up to date with a few minor changes.There was a minor part of the wall with mould due to a blocked gutter now repaired and the room has been re-decorated.The empty wine bottle must have been missed by the cleaner but I can assure any clients the cottage is always cleaned to a very high standard.The listing clearly states this is a semi-detached property and at no point was this asked in any communications where it would have been pointed out.The neighbours do not have a dozen dogs but have pedigree show dogs that are well behaved and kept in their own grounds away from the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana B
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“suitable for family”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We found the accomadation affordable with all the amenities listed. Nearby town of Maybole or Alloway for groceries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of kitchen iitems
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley M
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Cottage”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed in this cottage with my partner and his sister for a family wedding in Ayr, it was a truly amazing cottage and made the stay very enjoyable. Easy to find using a sat nav there was ample parking and a beautiful setting. The cottage is rustic in style and has everything you would ever need including iron and iron board. Both bedrooms are a really good size and the bathroom had a large shower. The kitchen has a small fridge/freezer and allowed us to cook our own meals saving us a fortune in eating out bills. Would definitely recommend and would book again, great contact from owner and a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a lovely stay at Alloway cottage. It was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. I would have no problem recommending this cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$97
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing