We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Little Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Alloway Cottage with spectacular views of the Ayrshire and Galloway Hills !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alloway Cottage with spectacular views of the Ayrshire and Galloway Hills !
Alloway cottage Living Room with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Alloway Cottage with spectacular views of the Ayrshire and Galloway Hills !
Alloway cottage
Living Room with wood burning stove
Living Room
Kitchen with slate floor and exposed brickwork.
Kitchen with Belfast sink and beamed ceiling
Master bedroom with purpose made furniture
Toilet with bath and shower over
Alloway cottage from the road
Alloway Cottage from the road
View from living room and master bedrooom
Patio area
View from living room with horses in paddock!
Maidens beach nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fionacoze...
Telford
1 review
“Cosy Little Cottage”
Reviewed August 17, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Lovely situated -5 mins by car from beach so great for dogs. Well equipped, reasonably well-maintained easily coped with 4 adults and their wedding gear. Would certainly come back again had a really enjoyable despite it raining everyday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Kelly...
1 review
“Pet-friendly countryside cottage!”
Reviewed June 28, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We loved our perfect stay at this gorgeous little cottage. It had everything we could need for a weeks stay and close to plenty of attractions ie. Culzean castle, Burns museum/cottage etc. Lots of nice local pubs and even a Chinese takeaway/local shops only 5 mins away. Clean and tidy but also welcoming and cosy.We would definitely stay again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Sorry to hear this although this guest did contact me to ask on how to operate the tv and for more towels that were sent that day and never mentioned their concerns? The cottage is of a rustic nature with a Rabbie Burns theme and would have to take issue with their comments.We do not keep any of our"stuff" under the beds only the folding cot and high chair for guests to use if required. The visitors book is very rarely used as most people do so online.The other five star reviews give a more accurate opinion of the cottage..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thanks for your nice review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kenny B
2 reviews
“A great wee cottage”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is a great wee cottage in the Ayrshire countryside. It has a stove in the living room which makes it very cosy, but it's not really needed as it's warm enough with the central heating anyway. The shower is great!

We used this place to explore Burns country and Alloway (Burns' birthplace) is a short drive away. We also visited Culzean Castle grounds and Dumfries House as well as experiencing the phenomenon of Electric Brae!

We have children and a baby son who was just taking his first steps - I wouldn't say it was 100% safe for him, but it was fine. The cottage is semi-detached - the neighbours have rottweilers locked in kennels but we never saw them and only heard the odd bark when we were outside.

We ate at the Wilding restaurant in Maidens (very good) and Soutar's Inn in Kirkoswald (good). Unfortunately the Minishant Inn couldn't accommodate us on the Friday night.

There was a travel cot and high chair supplied which were very useful for us. Plenty of DVDs, books and a computer games console if needed. Communication with the owners was very good and they provided us with all the information we needed. We picked up the key at the cottage and never met them. I hope we left the place in a satisfactory condition - apologies if there were any stray rusks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thanks for your great review Kenny and you left the cottage in excellent condition.Come back again soon!Best regards Kevin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lijatap
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you could ask for”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a really comfortable, well equipped cottage. We were lucky to have great weather so couldn't take advantage of the excellent DVD collection. Lovely view from the window and easy to get to nearby attractions - culzean, roselle, etc. If there are kennels next door you wouldn't know - we didn't see nor hear any dogs, apart from our own!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was really comfortable
Liked least: The gates at the entrance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
80HoopsMc...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at this cottage and we found it to be fantastic for all of our needs. A great location for the Galloway Forest and for beach walks at the nearby Turnberry and Culzean. The wee restaurant just down the road at Minishant ( the Minishant Inn, I think) was brilliant too. The Cottage was roasty toasty with a splendid wood burning Fire and special mention of the fantastic powerful hot shower which was perfect after hours out in the hills.We noticed that there were Kennels next door but we never heard a thing.
We would go back in a heartbeat !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: The lions heads at the front gate but at least they are a landmark
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing