We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
321
93
59
29
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
93
59
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea garden room the main house amuse bouche sticky toffee pudding scallops overlooking the lake special occasion the main dining room tasting menu sausage rolls stunning views birthday treat tea cakes lamb amazing setting staff were attentive
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 522 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

We had the Gourmet Menu two nights in a row. Our meals were fabulous in both taste and presentation. My favourite main course was the halibut with sesame crust. The additional canapés, amuse bouche and pre-dessert courses were all delicious. We also stayed at the hotel. We enjoyed the view of the lake, nice little touches such as ground coffee, shortbread and bottled water but for the price, the room we stayed in desperately requires updating.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear Emma B,

thank you for your kind comments, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I take on board your comments about your room, we do have plans in progress.

I hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay.

Kind regards, Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here as I was attending a business meeting in Penrith.

I can only describe it it as outstanding. The rooms are elegantly decorated, large and very comfortable.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night. It’s not cheap but the quality of food is outstanding and the service is fantastic. Dinning here is a real experience coupled with the wonderful views across the lake is difficult to beat as an experience.

Attention to detail is excellent with lots of extras to amuse your taste buds.

We will be pleased to return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Srhewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear Srhewett,

thank you for your very kind comments, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us, and will pass your comments on to the team.

I hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay soon.

Kind regards, Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

Stayed here as a treat at end of a uk coastal road trip. Arrived fairly la late afternoon owing to late Hebridean ferry crossings. Idyllic setting on lakeside, beautiful even in heavy rain and wind. Lovely welcome at reception, followed by short tour of building to help us get our bearings. We had cheaper room in the gatehouse, ground floor, and it was lovely and had everything we could want. Nice separate lounge area, great bathroom. Real coffee and cafetière, all replaced and room tided whilst we were having dinner. Hotel is a good walk up drive, so we drove as still raining, but plenty of parking.
Pre dinner drinks in lovely lounge. There is no bar, asked to sit and staff serve whatever you want wherever you want and take dinner order. Dining room is lovely, food is not cheap but is excellent. Think we got three amuse bouche courses which were lovely. Nice gourmet menu, plenty of choice. Duck and lamb were memorable, as was scallop starter and ice creams. We took coffee in a lounge. Service excellent and attentive without being intrusive.
We had a cracking stay, albeit too short. Nice 11am checkout. They have dog friendly rooms, so will return. Truly memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear Andy K,

thank you for your kind comments, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us following your coastal trip.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sharrow Bay soon.

Kind regards, Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

Not what was expected. None of the staff seamed happy, a smile goes along way.

There was an older gentleman at the door he was lovely and very welcoming.

Food was average certainly not worth the money. Beef was dry and Lamb was tough.

Long wait between courses and the restaurant did not seam busy. Only check back was after you’d eaten.

Disabled toilet access is very very bad, you have to make a disabled man walk down a corridor through the actual kitchen, then outside in the pouring rain.

I will not return there are better places in the lakes to enjoy fine dining.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Scrop33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Scrop33,

thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit and would have been happy to address the issues raised if you had made them known at the time of your visit.

With regards to the facilities, I'm afraid we are constricted by the nature of the original Victorian building, but must point out you do not go through the actual kitchens, but use the service corridor past them.

Kind regards, Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to The Sharrow Bay Hotel. We first visited in 1990 following our wedding. Our children booked and paid for this two night stay via Expedia to celebrate our silver wedding. I should start by saying that the staff were very friendly and service was good, the afternoon tea scrumptious and the lemon shortbread in our room was delicious. Unfortunately that is where the good points end. Our classic room was situated upstairs in The Gate House. We had previously stayed in a Gate House room which was lovely. The photographs show the myriad of issues with our accommodation that we found to be so disappointing. The carpet was stained, the corner on a picture frames was broken leaving exposed nails, the glass top on one of the bedside tables was chipped and was too big, one of the electricity sockets didn't work, the lock on the bathroom door was broken, the orchid on our table for afternoon tea the day we arrived was wilting and was still on the table two days later. The wifi was intermittent. The water pressure in the shower could be described as abysmal and the bath panel was cracked and extremely tatty looking. The breakfast food was good but the menu was dotted with grease spots and some of the Minton China on the breakfast table was cutlery scratched and stained. So sad to see what was formerly a magnificent country House hotel so faded and in need of some love and attention.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank LW1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear LW1963,

congratulations on your wedding Anniversary, and what generous family you have.

I do take your feedback on board.

Kind regards, Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews