We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pooley Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a walking holiday, we popped in the hotel for a drink at lunchtime and sit outside to enjoy the beautiful view of the lake from the terrace.
We were informed that there wasn't a bar but could order a drink. They only had bottled beer and my wife ordered a glass of wine.
At the end of our visit I went to pay at reception and was told my bill was £19.50 for two drinks. I expected to pay more than a public bar but come on!!! No bill was provided so I don't even know what cost what.
The hotel position is stunning but be aware that unless you don't mind paying a lot of money then avoid. I felt totally ripped off.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tim T,

thank you for your feedback regarding your visit. You are quite right in that we do not have a bar, our guests are seated and select drinks from the menu, which are then brought to them.

Bills for small items are printed on request, and we ask if you would like one.

We do price competitively for the choice and service we offer, I am sorry you felt disappointed.

Kind regards, Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We had the Gourmet Menu two nights in a row. Our meals were fabulous in both taste and presentation. My favourite main course was the halibut with sesame crust. The additional canapés, amuse bouche and pre-dessert courses were all delicious. We also stayed at the hotel. We enjoyed the view of the lake, nice little touches such as ground coffee, shortbread and bottled water but for the price, the room we stayed in desperately requires updating.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Emma B,

thank you for your kind comments, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I take on board your comments about your room, we do have plans in progress.

I hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay.

Kind regards, Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed here as I was attending a business meeting in Penrith.

I can only describe it it as outstanding. The rooms are elegantly decorated, large and very comfortable.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night. It’s not cheap but the quality of food is outstanding and the service is fantastic. Dinning here is a real experience coupled with the wonderful views across the lake is difficult to beat as an experience.

Attention to detail is excellent with lots of extras to amuse your taste buds.

We will be pleased to return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Srhewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Srhewett,

thank you for your very kind comments, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us, and will pass your comments on to the team.

I hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay soon.

Kind regards, Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Stayed here as a treat at end of a uk coastal road trip. Arrived fairly la late afternoon owing to late Hebridean ferry crossings. Idyllic setting on lakeside, beautiful even in heavy rain and wind. Lovely welcome at reception, followed by short tour of building to help us get our bearings. We had cheaper room in the gatehouse, ground floor, and it was lovely and had everything we could want. Nice separate lounge area, great bathroom. Real coffee and cafetière, all replaced and room tided whilst we were having dinner. Hotel is a good walk up drive, so we drove as still raining, but plenty of parking.
Pre dinner drinks in lovely lounge. There is no bar, asked to sit and staff serve whatever you want wherever you want and take dinner order. Dining room is lovely, food is not cheap but is excellent. Think we got three amuse bouche courses which were lovely. Nice gourmet menu, plenty of choice. Duck and lamb were memorable, as was scallop starter and ice creams. We took coffee in a lounge. Service excellent and attentive without being intrusive.
We had a cracking stay, albeit too short. Nice 11am checkout. They have dog friendly rooms, so will return. Truly memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Andy K,

thank you for your kind comments, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us following your coastal trip.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sharrow Bay soon.

Kind regards, Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Not what was expected. None of the staff seamed happy, a smile goes along way.

There was an older gentleman at the door he was lovely and very welcoming.

Food was average certainly not worth the money. Beef was dry and Lamb was tough.

Long wait between courses and the restaurant did not seam busy. Only check back was after you’d eaten.

Disabled toilet access is very very bad, you have to make a disabled man walk down a corridor through the actual kitchen, then outside in the pouring rain.

I will not return there are better places in the lakes to enjoy fine dining.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Scrop33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Scrop33,

thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit and would have been happy to address the issues raised if you had made them known at the time of your visit.

With regards to the facilities, I'm afraid we are constricted by the nature of the original Victorian building, but must point out you do not go through the actual kitchens, but use the service corridor past them.

Kind regards, Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to The Sharrow Bay Hotel. We first visited in 1990 following our wedding. Our children booked and paid for this two night stay via Expedia to celebrate our silver wedding. I should start by saying that the staff were very friendly and service was good, the afternoon tea scrumptious and the lemon shortbread in our room was delicious. Unfortunately that is where the good points end. Our classic room was situated upstairs in The Gate House. We had previously stayed in a Gate House room which was lovely. The photographs show the myriad of issues with our accommodation that we found to be so disappointing. The carpet was stained, the corner on a picture frames was broken leaving exposed nails, the glass top on one of the bedside tables was chipped and was too big, one of the electricity sockets didn't work, the lock on the bathroom door was broken, the orchid on our table for afternoon tea the day we arrived was wilting and was still on the table two days later. The wifi was intermittent. The water pressure in the shower could be described as abysmal and the bath panel was cracked and extremely tatty looking. The breakfast food was good but the menu was dotted with grease spots and some of the Minton China on the breakfast table was cutlery scratched and stained. So sad to see what was formerly a magnificent country House hotel so faded and in need of some love and attention.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LW1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear LW1963,

congratulations on your wedding Anniversary, and what generous family you have.

I do take your feedback on board.

Kind regards, Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We visited Sharrow Bay Hotel last week after eating there is 2013. Its as you imagine a quiet country hotel with views and are serene and relaxing. We had the room called The Courtyard which was quiet and cosy with a view over the Lake. The sunsets were a sight to behold. Towels were fluffy and a nice touch was shortbread biscuits and tea/coffee in your room and bathrooms. Our only comment is that the latch on our window fell off at the end of our trip due to the window frame being rotten which is a minor detail and the radiators did not fully heat up but the handymen attended to this at once. Last thing was the bathroom door did not close but that did not ruin our enjoyment. The meal the first night was excellent with silver service and a lovely amuse bouche which was a nice touch. The waiter was attentive and you felt like you could take your time. Thank you Sharrow Bay we will be back

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank biffakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear biffakins,

thank you for your kind comments, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us. We can't take credit for the sunsets but they are something Ullswater seems to do particularly well.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Sharrow Bay.

Kind regards, Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.4 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
9.1 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.4 km away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
19.4 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,164 reviews
26.3 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

Address: Howtown Road | Lake Ullswater, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pooley Bridge
Price Range: $292 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharrow Bay is unique; the epitome of English country living in an unrivalled location surrounded by snow-topped mountains and fells, right on the shores of Lake Ullswater, widely regarded as the most beautiful lake in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharrow Bay Country Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing