We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Some little shortcomings...”
other traveller has booked this property
Foxes Reach cottage front blue bench pic
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Foxes Reach cottage front blue bench pic
The Hot tub is gorgeous in summer or winter Foxes Reach comfortable sitting room with woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Foxes Reach cottage front blue bench pic
The Hot tub is gorgeous in summer or winter
Foxes Reach comfortable sitting room with woodburner
Foxes reach comfortable sitting room
Sitting room nook
Cosy woodburner
Dining room set up for a family
Dining room awaits arrivals
Foxes Reach master bedroom
Foxes Reach upstairs bathroom
Upstairs bathroom
Foxes Reach single back bedroom
Single bedroom ( one of two, each has a TV/DVD)
Double bedroom
Foxes Reach butterfly room.JPG
Foxes Reach single
Spacious single bedroom at Foxes Reach
FR loungers
Cosy in the snow
Really well equipped laundry and boot room.
Laundry room off courtyard is convenient for wet swimwear!
Laundry
Summer lunch
Limestone tiled downstairs shower room
Downstairs shower room also has basin and wc
The hot tub in the garden
International Birds of Prey Centre makes a fab outing
Canoe  or raft on the scenic Wye
Fantastic walking from the doorstep
View down to Tintern from Devils Pulpit on Offas Dyke
Autum colour in Catbrook
Torchlit Carols in December at Tintern Abbey
Offas Dyke offers amazing walking
Puzzlewood is always popular with families
Raglan Castle is great to explore
Sunshine guaranteed in the curtyard!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tintern, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Willy V
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Some little shortcomings...”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The property was nice and clean, the hot tube excellent for relaxation, our dogs loved the garden. But we noticed some failings : no wifi, the drying machine needed continuous supervision, and -despite the fact the weather wasn't too bad, the central heating was not sufficiant for a comfortable feeling during the evenings...

The nearby woods in the Wye Valley and the forest of Dean are beautifull for short and long walks; and in the neighborhoud you can find a lot of interesting places to visit, within reasonable miles: from Tintern Abbey to a multiple choice of Welsh castles or even Cardiff...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hot tube and the garden
Liked least: the temperature inside by (not even so) cold evenings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
We are really sorry and a little suprised to hear these things.
We were aware thar the WiFi failed. We had to complain repeatedly to British Telecom and it took them over a week to fix the problem on their line. We did immediately refund the WiFi charge and apologise to the guests but despite daily chasing we could not get a faster repair.This was out of our control unfortunately.
We have not had any issues before or since with the large new tumble drier and no difficulty was reported to us at the time. We do have a spare one had we heard about any problem. Happily, and as our guest says, the weather was good and we do have a rotary washing line plus an indoor drying rack with heating panel in our laundry room.
These guests were with us in early June. At that time of the year our included central heating is set to come on if the temperature indoors falls below 20C from 6 30 am to 10 am, 19C all day and then 20 again from 5pm to 11pm. We have a woodburner for use by guests if this is not enough as everyones tastes in heat do vary so greatly.
We are readily available to our guests as we see to the hot tub on a daily basis and in this case chatted with the guests on arrival and several times during their stay but sadly none of this apart from the WiFi matter and some minor damage by the guests was reported to us. We would have tried to help had we known.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxstedii...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage ”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at foxes reach for a relaxing break in November 2014. Such a peaceful and comfortable cottage. Thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub, spacious garden and log burner.
We were greeted by the owner who had fired up the burner and showed us everything we needed to know. The whole cottage was very well equipped, including the kitchen. We were even treated to some Welsh goodies to begin our stay.
Owners were great. We ran out of kindling and they came with more straight away. Very accommodating. Highly recommend and we will definitely be back. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We really appreciate it and are delighted you had such a good time! We would like to thank you for leaving the cottage in great order as well. Not everyone does and your care is so much appreciated.Look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy H
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“more than just a hottub”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was our first cottage rental and it won't be our last. Gorgeous inside and out and well worth the 2 mile country lane drive.The weather was lovely and we even enjoyed a afternoon BBQ and hot tub session.We visited local cities and towns and failed to do any walks (we have a disabled child) The local pubs suggested by cottage owners were excellent too.We had a massive plate of Sunday roast at the Fountain and a very pleasant evening meal at the Rose and crown.The only reason we would be unlikely to return is that having a growing family with teenagers they were a bit stuck and we can go anyway without our disabled child so could n't go alone..

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: hottub
Liked least: not near enough to a pub.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnH892
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed December 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful cottage. This beautiful cottage is everything you could wish for. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Malcolm we had a most relaxing stay. Very clean and had everything you could wish for plus lots of treats and special touches. On a cold December afternoon the heating was on, table laid for dinner including crackers, wood burner glowing, cottage decorated for Advent ~ what more could you want. The hot tub was a dream and sitting in it on a starry night was wonderful. Will certainly return next year. Thank you Fiona and Malcolm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant again”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Came with small children and dogs earlier in the year. This time a short break just the two of us. Again a really great cottage and welcome. Loved the hot tub even in the rain. So warm and relaxing and we love all the extras as well Thank you. We will be back again with the kids next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and woodburner
Liked least: That we only had three days this time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A warm, clean, comfortable and well-equipped cottage.”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Foxes Reach is a warm, clean, comfortable and well-equipped cottage located above the Wye Valley not far from Tintern Abbey. Directions to the property were clear and there were some nice welcoming touches on arrival (welcome note, fresh flowers, milk, cake and a bottle of wine).

The cottage is well located for exploring the Wye Valley and the Forest of Dean and beyond with a number of ancient towns and castles worth visiting. Local shops for essentials (e.g. milk, eggs, fresh fruit and vegetables, newspapers etc) are not far away. A range of places (mostly old pubs) to eat at lunchtime or in the evening are also to be found within a reasonable distance of the cottage.

The cottage was not perhaps as rurally secluded as we had imagined being surrounded by other houses nearby, but the garden was not overlooked and the location was quiet.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne P
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One visit isn't enough!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What with busy lives work, kids, life. What a tranquil cottage. From the moment we were greated by Malcom and shown around to leaving on the Saturday we had a fabulous week.. The cottage was lovely, cake,wine flowers in all the rooms and dog biscuit for our pooch, clean and tidy, garden was in bloom. Hot tub was inviting. The peace and quite (even with two teenage boys) was lovely. The loudest noise was the bumble bees doing their thing. If your looking for some time out, relaxing, dog walking and some good books you couldn't ask for a better place. Although there was plenty to do should you want to go exploring the area. We certainly will be going back..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage,garden,hot tub,peace and quite
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing