We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
93
49
27
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
49
27
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minutes by car small kitchen daily maid service ocean view rented a car boca catalina coffee maker windsurfers windsurfing island aruba unit beach sink carnival
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 186 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

Wow, where to even start. I will do this in list for.

1. The actual room is disgusting. First thing we noticed was the overwhelming smell of cleaner trying to mask the musty old smell.

2. Old! Everything in the room was at least thirty years old. Floors, counters, appliances, everything.

3. Bars on all the doors and windows. They have a list in the room of things you shouldn't do in order to not get robbed or have your things stolen. Very disconcerting.

4. This is in no way shape or form a beach front Villa. The "beach" is a rocky deposit from the extremely shallow and unswimable water line across from the "resort". If you look closely at the pictures you will see the major highway separating the "resort" from the "beach". The beach of full of ocean deposits of coral and palm debris. There is no way any sane person would ever spend more than thirty seconds at this spot. They make the pictures look like the doors open right onto the beach when in reality it is separated by one of Arubas major and most busy highways and a parking lot.

5. Under no circumstances what so ever should you ever stay at this place. It is a digusting horrible place ran by an immoral owner who thrives on baiting people into staying here. After we dicovered this place was terrible we asked for our money back and the owner refused. One of the worst accommodations you can get on the island. The local government should shut this place down, I don't understand how they are still operational.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
8  Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018

The property was fine for us - kind of 1960's motel style. The room was dated but we enjoyed sitting on the little patio outside our door watching the windsurfers. The location is good, with parking right in front of the room. The beach area is not good for swimming or even lounging - very narrow and rocky. But Palm Beach an easy 15 minute walk away and about 15 minutes in the other direction, at Boca Catalina, is excellent snorkeling. Many restaurants and the grocery were 15 to 20 minutes by car. It's a very safe area close to neighborhood homes and other small motel type rentals. Overall though, I thought the cost was high for this place and would probably not come back.

Room tip: Rooms on the road have the only view. Bring your own coffee filters.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jomart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

We just stayed here for a week. As many have said, this hotel is in dire need of updating. I knew from the reviews it was "old but clean" but took a chance for the quiet, away from the high rise crowded areas. The people working and those staying were all very friendly but the one bedroom beachfront villa had a number of issues that made this selection a disappointment. While the cleaning crew did a great job everyday, it was hard to overlook the 30+ year old tile floors with filthy old grout that ceased to be white years ago. The stove was just as old, with broken burners and there was no oven. No ice-maker in the small fridge. Not even paper towels were supplied. Neither the kitchen or bathroom sink had hot water. Things you would expect to be in a villa or any hotel really, such as an iron, hair dryer or TV in the bedroom are not included. The TV in the living room was small and very old. The bathroom was tiny with a pedestal sink, absolutely no storage for anything. The air conditioning in the bedroom sounded like a Mack truck revving up, couple that with a hard bed, it did not make for a restful nights sleep. We reported it and some adjustment was made but not enough to make a big difference, the unit was simply old. The sunsets were indeed beautiful, but with a very busy noisy road in front it took away from the peacefullness a bit! The grounds were nice with plenty of colorful plants, the pool small but nice and hardly used, so no problem getting a chair!. It was great having the deck out front, but the lights came on automatically in the evening so sitting out there, you were pretty much on display and being eaten by mosquitos! It would be nice to have control over the lights. With some work this could be a great little place and certainly far more worthy of the price paid.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Cin260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

We stayed at the villa for a week (Jan 2018) & found it adequate for our needs. Our housekeeper kept our room immaculate. Our room was in the back so we didn't hear the traffic at all. The small kitchen facilitiy was a bonus as eating out in Aruba is very expensive especially if you have to pay US dollars!!! The room was very spacious & the air conditioning was a must.The ocean was very rocky & rough not good for swimming but the view was amazing & we rented a car & found it very easy to get around the island & find the beautiful sandy beaches. Baby Beach & Rodgers Beach were our favorites not crowded at all.

Room tip: For a quiet room book the back sections not the highway frontage.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CherieandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

The best part of this place is the location, for wind surfing not swimming.
After check in we stayed there 2 minutes to let it all sink in.
Back to front office and explained to them I couldn't stay there. Unbelievable straight from the 50's. This is the first time I have checked out again of a hotel ( knowing accommodation was hard to come by because of the Carnival) that had high recommendation on TripAdvisor. Man was it awful.
The people that have rated it so high I would dearly love to hear from them and want to know how they possibly could rated it so high!!! what am I missing?
They only show one room on the pictures and I should have woken up to that.

On a very pleasant note I have to say that the gentleman who checked us is did understand and credited us on the spot the money back on the card.
So had a good ending.

Room tip: bottom front, facing the ocean
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Dutch999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews