We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house, incredible location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Mount Irvine, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jkpaul-gm...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing house, incredible location”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
5
people found this review helpful

Our first visit to Tobago & certainly not the last! We booked this lodge because it was remote (20 mins drive) from the main commercial / tourist centre, situated directly on the coast, accommodated 10 people (we were 7) and had its own private infinity pool. We were not disappointed.
The drive there was very interesting and not for the timid: if it wasn't for the local who looks after the house leading us there from the airport we'd never have found it! The roads on Tobago range from basic to pot holed tracks and we covered the lot! Once we arrived at the Lodge the reveal as we drove around the corner and then walked inside was magical! The place is beautiful, huge, light, airy and almost totally wooden which gives it a very natural feel. Situated as it is between the rainforest and the cliffs over the Caribbean Sea it is fitting that it's so wooden and the birds and animals around are not wary of coming near the house and into the gardens.
Sitting on the balcony eating breakfast was fantastic watching the pelicans, frigate birds, Hummingbirds, Cocoricos and Blue Crowned MotMots flying over the pool & gardens. The hummingbirds were so close on the bushes next to the balcony you felt you could almost touch them! There are often lizards and iguanas in the garden too, though they're quick to leave if you are nearby.
The pool was great and very welcoming on a hot day, which is any day incidentally, whether it's bright blue sky or slightly showery, the temperature is high 20s, low 30s C.
All of the 4 double ensuite bedrooms (including 1 family room with 2 double beds) have their own AC unit's which are a saviour at night. The main living area can get very warm but with the large fans there and the opposing sets of windows which can be opened, there's plenty of scope for cooling breezes.
There's a washing room with large washing and drying machines, not to mention an iron and board.
The kitchen has a large oven, a microwave, a toaster, hob top, double sink, blender and a large fridge / freezer ... Almost everything you'd need during your stay.

The house is also equipped with a stereo you can use to fill the living area and / or the pool area with music.

Unfortunately the walk down to the sea is not straightforward or easy... It is more of a risky clamber using ropes and when you get down there it isn't suitable for paddling or swimming anyway so it's best to go to one of the nearby beaches like Mount Irvine for swimming or snorkeling.

All in all we had a fantastic stay at MotMot lodge in Arnos Vale, it is recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilesy201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best family vacation.....ever!”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
6
people found this review helpful

For our family holiday in Tobago, we needed somewhere to stay that could comfortably accommodate up to 12 people, provide a base from which we could explore the island and keep a mix of adults, teenagers and children entertained for 2 weeks........no easy feat!

After much searching we chose Mot Mot Lodge.......and it was BRILLIANT!

The villa is located on a beautiful and peaceful hillside, with an uninterrupted view of the Caribbean Sea, which you can choose to enjoy from the comfort of the infinity pool, the 1st floor veranda, or the master bedroom. It also has the feeling of being close to nature, with hummingbirds and cocrico regular visitors to the garden.

We rented a car for the entire 2 weeks, which was not only well worth it, but almost essential. The villa is fairly isolated, but is a short drive from various local supermarkets. It is also less than 30 minutes from the airport (and about the same distance from the ferry terminal).

Within walking distance is Arnos Vale beach, which is great for swimming and especially great for snorkelling.

Mot Mot Lodge is the perfect place to spend a holiday in Tobago. It feels incredibly spacious inside, with an open-plan layout and high ceilings that give it a really nice, light feel. Our holiday was made even better thanks to Carlon, the property manager and Yvonne, the housekeeper, whose help and attention made our stay even more special.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: We used the infinity pool every day!
Liked least: Expect one or two bugs to come in the house if the windows are left open after dark!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha W
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A private piece of sunny heaven”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to stay at the fabulous Mot Mot Lodge and since I have got home I cannot stop raving about it. As someone who finds it difficult to relax, I was amazed to find myself happily lying by the pool, taking a dip every time I got a bit too warm, watching the rare birds fly across the sea and listening to the sounds of the waves. The beds are ginormous with lovely air conditioning and I slept like a baby every night.

It was great having wifi and sky TV and we enjoyed watching a film or two as well as enjoying the night life of Tobago. The housekeeper Carlon could not have been more helpful. He organised our car hire as well as picking us up from the airport, taking us to the local supermarket and also took us to and from the infamous 'Sunday School' so we could both enjoy a drink listening and dancing to the local steelbands!

The house itself is on a cliff looking over the sea and wonderfully secluded, away from the standard well beaten tourist tracks (which we loved), so a car or jeep is essential. Having a car meant we wanted to use it and so travelled the length and breadth of the island having lots of fabulous experiences and really made the most of our honeymoon.

As someone who never travels light, I especially appreciated the walk in wardrobe and loads of storage space. Additionally we felt very safe the entire stay, facilitated by the CCTV and video security system on the gate at the top of the drive.

We are so happy we chose the Mot Mot Lodge for our honeymoon, truly making it an experience we will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lying in bed in the morning sun with the french doors that open to the pool and the sound of the waves AND the ice machine!!
Liked least: Having to do the washing up straight away for fear of 'bugs'!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiePSmi...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An action packed escape to the beautiful island of Tobago”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We spent an unforgettable week at Mot Mot Lodge welcoming in the New Year true Caribbean style. The villa was brilliant - it's open plan kitchen/ living area, complete with games room, four large bedrooms (all en-suites) and wide and well positioned terrace. The sea views from Mot Mot are breathtaking, and sunrise/ sunset is truly spectacular. The infinity pool is a real bonus, and the sunloungers are all very comfortable (particularly important for us girls!). Mot Mot is everything we could have asked for - it is clean, very well maintained and extremely comfortable, and Tobago is utter paradise...like nowhere I have visited before! We were fortunate to have two rental jeeps to get around the island, enabling us to witness the entirety of the coastline. Opportunities for snorkelling, scuba diving and fishing were ample, and we were never short of activities, including waterfall treks, jungle walks and visits to the towns of Charlottesville and Scarborough. The beaches are beautiful, particularly Englishmans Bay, and the Tobagonians (as I believe they are called) are welcoming and friendly. We ate out only three times because the kitchen facilities at Mot Mot are great, and you really can't beat a BBQ on the terrace! I can't recommend a trip to Mot Mot enough - thanks so much for an unforgettable week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrob1988
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay and wonderful experience!”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
6
people found this review helpful

As you drive around Tobago on your way to the house you get the slight feeling that you've fallen into a time machine and landed yourself in the 1970's, surrounded by beaten up old cars and the odd cream rolls royce in a hotel car park. Arriving at the entrance of Mot Mot Lodge however could not be a more welcome change! The house has a wonderful chalet feel with a large open plan top floor opening out onto the balcony. The facilities are well kept and clean and the whole house is very well maintained.

Car rental is a MUST as the house is on a hill, perfect to ensure a peaceful escape and privacy! Its also the perfect way to make the most of the island we took a trip up to Englishman's Bay whilst we were staying and am still getting over how stunning it was!

Carlon, the house manager is very helpful and is a great asset to the house, he gave us some fantastic recommendations for food and things to do whilst we were there which ensured we had a holiday not to be forgotten.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and the feeling of escape from the world
Liked least: difficult to find salad!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wazthere
woking
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning Location Very Relaxing”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Mot Mot is a large open plan villa in a stunning location overlooking the Caribbean sea. It easily sleeps 8/10 people, and caterers for all your needs. It is very quiet and relaxing where you can get away from all the hustle and bustle of every day life. Car hire is essential and will also mean you can explore Tobago and its beauty easily. We travelled with 3 children age 5, 11 and 13 and found the villa worked extremely well for them and us, with direct TV, internet access, pool table, swimming pool and access to the sea down a steep path through the garden, or a short walk down the road to Arnos Vale Bay. To sum it up Tobago is a beautiful island and Mot Mot is a great place to stay and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing