We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Walpole House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Walpole House
Beautiful View from Walpole House Landcombe Cove Strete, our secret beach..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Welcome to Walpole House
Beautiful View from Walpole House
Landcombe Cove Strete, our secret beach..
Wish you were here...Strete Gate and Slapton Beach, take the beach walk to Torcross
Bright and airy lounge, with DVD, TV, stereo, games and real fire
Autumn nights, cosy by the fire
Our home from home kitchen with cosy Rayburn
A devon welcome..homemade scones and Jam
Dining area, table extends to seat 6
Master Bedroom with views to the village and Sea
Master Bedroom
Cosy chair in bedroom, with breath taking views out to sea
Door detail
Bedroom two (twin)
Bedroom 3 with views out to sea again..
Bedroom 3
Bathroom
Bathroom
Lavender scented verandah
Laughing Monk Restaurant, just a few doors away, let someone else do the cooking..
Dartmouth Harbour
From Dartmouth and across to Kingswear..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Strete, Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
643Coz
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were so disappointed that there was nowhere to sit outside. There is a courtyard but it has extremely high walls and was a bit scruffy, the table and chairs were dirty. We couldn't sit outside the front of the house either, where there is a bit of paving, as the french windows were stuck fast. There was no freezer compartment in the fridge. The washing machine was outside in a shed and at a very difficult angle to use. The window blind had not been replaced in the small bedroom which meant being woken up as soon as the sun came up. The tap in the sink in the bathroom just trickled water out.. The airing cupboard was too dusty and dirty to use, I tried to clean it a bit to try and dry clothes there.

The pub opposite the house has been closed all summer, which although not the fault of the owners, this should be noted on the website as it means you have to use your car if you want to eat out. Although there is a very good, but quite pricey, restaurant close by.

I hate writing such negative comments but we felt that with just a little bit of money and attention paid to the house it would be far more comfortable and worth the price we paid for it.

On the plus side, the beds were very comfortable, the view from the small bedroom of the sea in the distance lovely and there were lots of lovely pictures around the house.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we take all comments seriously as a responsible owner. I will address your points as until your feedback, we'd been listed Excellent, so am somewhat dissappointed myself?

I think the property details, photo's, inventory of facilities reflect the property as it is. Apologies with your disappointment of no freezer at the property, but we haven't listed one, the current fridge was with the original house we purchased a year ago and see no need to replace at this point as not broken to coin a phrase ... The house on purchase in June 2013 has had a complete overhaul of redecoration both inside and out, Plumbing and heating also. (if a problem, we would expect you to contact us) With this in mind we are a little surprised with your 'scruffy courtyard' comment, personally we love our private little sun trap and were confused with your comment of 'nowhere to sit'? There is a set of vintage filigree chairs, table and bench which are cleaned every changeover and a set of seat pads for our visitors comfort provided, located in the shed. Apologies the airing cupboard is actually just a housing for the water tank, which we will perhaps lock in future to save confusion, we do however provide an airer for the drying of clothes, again located in the shed. The public house over the road is between tenants, we in the village look forward to it's reopen but unfortunatley I cannot control and we do state on our page and information file at the house excellent pubs/restaurants nearby. The Laughing Monk being a few doors away you mention is a well respected, highly commended local establishment, serving local produce, wines and spirits - A menu is posted daily for visitors to see before entering with dishes and prices. we also recommend their 'Early Bird' reduced menu, something for all budgets and very family friendly. Despite your concerns, we hope you enjoyed your overall holiday..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
362julie
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“home from home”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We really enjoyed the house, beautifully restored,all impressed,clean and homely. Only pub in village was closed. Great thought about homemade scones'jam and cream on arrival. Met the lady next cottage who made these. Post office across the road helpful and friendly. Locals whilst dog walking friendly too. Lovely stay with husband and two sons and grandparents and puppy. Thanks to Andrea for restoring/letting out her property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth l
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house, beautiful location, friendly village”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at Walpole House over Whit Week and had a lovely time. The house is gorgeous and in mint condition. On arrival there was a chilled bottle of prosecco in the fridge, which was a very good welcome and we enjoyed exploring the local area. Special mention to the Village Stores opposite and the incredibly friendly locals. We know the South Hams well but we were delighted to discover unspoilt beaches along the coastal path and would recommend the walk along Slapton Ley to Slapton Village. We had a great holiday; if there is one criticism it would be that the house could be cold (we could have lit a fire but didn't want to buy firewood) and that one evening, there was no electricity (it came back on, but my husband couldn't easily reach the trip switch, and he is very tall, so maybe there should be special instructions about this). However; it didn't matter in the grand scheme of things, the house is delightful and lots of hot water and very comfy beds. A good holiday in a gorgeous house in a really beautiful, convenient location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The heating
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House restoration and decoration
Liked least: Parking not directly outside house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kim m
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great accomodation great venue lots to do and see”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Truly a home from home accommodation, would definitely recommend. great walks for the dog and plenty to see and do in surrounding areas. Going to book for out of season as would love to explore more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wasn't like a rented property, felt like home from home and on arrival the scones and home made jam with a welcome note on the chalk boaard made us feel sepecial
Liked least: small court yard garden, however other benefits outwieghed this
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Penny R
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous house- more of a home from home!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A delightful house, beautifully furnished with thoughtful lovely touches, in a fantastic location for countryside and beach trips and handy local pub. What more could you want. We will be back :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing