We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jeff V
Red Deer, Canada

Best Family Trip Yet

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 1, 2012
2nd year back to Kinbasket and was a great time all around, our children loved the park and made a lot of friends, we came later in the year this year and the water was warm enough for swimming and even cleared up enough to do some wake boarding and tubing, I noticed before we left that the tug boats were starting to clean up a lot of the debris in the area so hopefully next year it will be even better.

We were tenting in one of the Powered RV sites and was by far the biggest site we have ever had, the bathrooms and showers were clean and the water supply was drinkable which is rare. The staff were very friendly, knowledgable, professional and great with all of the kids. Met many other familys during our stay and we are all meeting up again next year at Kinbasket.

The forestry road out the back side is full of view points, wilderness trails and the lake seems to never end. We got amazing family pictures with the most natural, beautiful backdrop of mountain ranges and water.

And last but not least THE FISHING, this lake has bar none the best fishing I and many others have ever seen but if you want to catch the big ones you are going to need to bring a boat. The lake is full of Dolly Varden and they are the best tasting fish I have ever had, we also caught some rainbows and white fish but have heard that there are also ling cod and sturgeon to be had as well.

On the negative yes there are trains and they are loud but they sometimes you don't hear them for several hours at a time and in our opinion a small sacrifice for all of the benifits this campground has to offer.

I have recommended this campground to many friends and family and everyone has loved this spot.
Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$205
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$205
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$205
  • Tripadvisor
    C$205
24.7 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free parking
C$347
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$347
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$313
  • Booking.com
    C$318
36.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$506
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$506
  • Vio.com
    C$414
  • Trip.com
    C$493
36.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Palliser Lodge Eagles Eye
C$841
No fees just great deals
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
37.2 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Suite
C$329
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$329
  • Agoda.com
    C$329
  • eDreams
    C$329
39.2 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cabin 8
C$269
  • Priceline
    C$269
  • Agoda.com
    C$269
39.4 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
double bedroom
C$190
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$190
  • Hotels.com
    C$190
  • Priceline
    C$190
39.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$310
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
39.8 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$180
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$180
  • Agoda.com
    C$180
  • Vio.com
    C$180
39.8 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$312
Fully refundable
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
    C$291
  • Booking.com
40.0 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beavermouth
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
72
28
24
16
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
28
24
16
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner beautiful spot long weekend love this place lake site power august horns tents
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 164 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Location, location, location. The campground is in a gorgeous setting. The lake is glacier fed so the water is cold, but it did not stop us from swimming. There are a lot of logs floating in the water, but this is not the fault of management. The rv sites are not very level and this could be improved. Heard squeals of joy from the kids in the playground all day long. Met great people and enjoyed their company. The women's shower was clean with lots of hot water. Trees everywhere! We have already booked a return visit this year.

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ajzuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed there tenting for the weekend. Our site had a gorgeous view of the river below, fellow campers were very courtious of us noise wise. Train was loud but didn't seem to keep us awake at night.
Would not want to stay over in the RV part of the campsite, we found it much busier and louder.
Lake was beautiful and clean (can understand at sometimes that there would be alot of debris in the way)
The staff was very helpful, and friendly
Would stay there again

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time with friends at this campground. We were unfortunate enough to get caught on the wrong side of a mud slide that forced us to eventually turn around and go home the first night we were scheduled to check in. We were able to get through the next day though, and the staff were extremely accommodating when we checked in. They even offered to comp us the night we lost, and we didn't even bring it up! They weren't responsible for our travel delays but were happy to make up the loss for us. The caretaker and his adorable sons do an amazing job keeping up the campground and delivering huge wheelbarrows of wood to campers. We never saw any trash anywhere, the garbage bins were always empty, the showers and bathrooms were clean, and everything just had an air of being pristine. In the evening we sat around our campfire and listened to the sounds of crickets as dusk turned to night. The stars came out and filled the moonless sky and we realized how truly at peace we were.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

There are several really positive things about this campsite. The staff was very friendly and the location is great. We arrived and were initially impressed. After a few days our impression changed. Yes, there is a train that runs literally right beside the campsite but that was not so bad. The site markets itself as having hiking and biking but I am not sure where exactly this is to take place other than the campsite. There is a forestry road which is straight uphill and used by other vehicles. The showers were filled with black mold which we found quite disgusting. Considering the site is in bear country we were also concerned at the lack of regard for this fact. Oh, and don't plan on swimming or boating in the "lake" which is filled with debris.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mutccarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This campground is located in a beautiful part of British Columbia, and could really be something else, but it is missing a LOT of TLC. Our site consisted of dry dirt and weeds. No gravel or grass. The managers told me they stayed in that site the night before so all should be OK....but I found fishing line under the picnic table and bottle caps and cigarette butts around the campfire pit. The picnic table had almost no stain left on it and might collapse at any time. The site was also not level, I had to lift the front end of my truck 6" just to get it close. No privacy in the sites either...my neighbour was about 4 feet from the corner of my picnic table.
Worst of all...the sani dump is 6 feet from the edge of the kids playground. It stinks! Plus there was pieces of toilet paper on the ground IN THE PLAYGROUND from the sani dump. There was also a lot of garbage in the playground that was never picked up the whole weekend I was there. The playground is super cheap (no wonder there are no photos of it on their website); a sandbox with no toys and home-made swings, which incidentally one of the chains broke on the tire swing the weekend I was there and a 5 and 3 year old crashed to the ground. No injuries though thank goodness. I just can't believe it is so crappy for $38/night! Wal-Mart parking lot is cleaner. The owner is a friendly enough guy, but instead of wandereing around socializing with the campers he could stain some picnic tables or pick up some garbage.
I won't even mention the loud train whisltes...others already have. I feel sorry for the place, it has so much potential but obviously the owners have lost the energy and will to keep it up.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael_Von_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kinbasketlakeresort, Owner at Kinbasket Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

I'm sorry that this camper had such a bad visit. I apologise for our oversight of some refuse at his site on move-in. It's too bad that on moving in he did not mention to us as we could have immediately cleaned it and checked the table for him. Relative to his campsite, he was a late booking and as we were full for that week he was placed in one of our overflow sites which are not as finished as our other campsites, These 2 campsites have a combined width of over 60 feet and his truck camper which I remember was actually some 12 feet from his neighbor (a relative as it turned out) and could have been even further away if he had used the site's footprint better.

Where I see a great deal of mis-information is about our playground and sani-dump. The sani-dump is actually about 20' from the nearest piece of playground equipment and not the 6 feet indicated. It does not "stink" unless it is being used as it has a sealed cap in place the rest of the time. The toilet paper in question, that was over 15 feet away and which I personally removed, did not come from the sani-dump (when does wet toilet paper travel 15 feet?) but rather was brought by the kids from the shower house. As for garbage in the playground, we pick it up constantly, and the kids (during this period there were about 30 of them constantly there) keep producing more so its an ongoing endeavor to keep it picked up - but we do!

Our playground for the most part is a big hit with the kids and their parents. It is rustic but gets a tremendous amount of use by packs of kids and echos with laughter continually. (we have to close it at 10PM to quiet the place down) We did have a tire swing break but as its only 18 inches off the ground it was fortunately of no consequence and was repaired and strengthened. Sorry that we were expected to supply toys for the sandbox - we supply the sandbox and expect folks to have their own toys.

I have been building this business for 11 years and take a lot of pride in what we offer and the condition of our grounds. That is why I spend 15 to 18 hours per day working at it along with 4 full time staff so no, I haven't lost interest. Our exit surveys show 9 of 10 people love the place and what we have done with it even with the occasional train horns. The others obviously have different expectations we hope they will find what they are looking for, and if the Walmart looks better just remember to take your own grass, trees, toys, sandbox, lake, power, water, toilets and showers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews