We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John H
Kelowna, Canada

Not again (unless ownership changes)

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 13, 2012
We camped at this campsite for the first time in early August 2012. We are a family of 4 plus a dog and we camped with one other family. We both have medium sized trailers and we both camped there for 4 days. Overall, it is average in terms of amenities and layout.

Fast facts:

- It is a 5 km drive down a maintained Forest Service Road to the campground
- The campsite is divided in two by the FSR that cuts through it: upper and lower The upper campground has more trees and is more private, while the lower campground is on a small plateau, so it is flat but less private
- It has boat access
- Not very dog friendly
- Attempts are made to make it family oriented, but efforts are misguided because the owner micro-manages people

The good:
- Pretty setting. It's the middle of the Rockies, after all!
- Trains are cool. We liked them, even if they came a few times a day.

The bad:
- The owner and his staff are not people oriented. The first sign you read in the campground as you drive to your site is "SLOW DOWN NOW". They appear nice but they do not have people skills and small, inconsequential things upset them. This causes tension in the campground. Over the 4 days we camped there, the owner yelled several times - often from his deck - at various people who broke his rules. Although he would often approach the person later to try and smooth things over, the awkward, uneasy setting had already been created.
- There is no place for dogs. They must always be on a leash, including at the under utilized boat launch. I was told that I could not throw sticks into the lake for my dog anywhere on the property and I was directed to cross the FSR bridge and down the road if I wanted to exercise her off leash. Interestingly, a camper who is friends with the owner had his older St. Bernard wander up to our campsite one morning and make a deposit by the breaker panels. I am not making this up - our family saw it real time. To me it is no big deal, but owners should at least watch their dogs when they are off leash so they can be picked up after.
- Firewood is a joke. My wife called about firewood beforehand and was told that you pack a load of wood in a wheelbarrow to your campsite for $8. What we got was a small Home Hardware style wheelbarrow that was pre-loaded. The wood was even with the sides of the wheelbarrow and it totalled 10 pieces. We laughed about it. Additionally, I took a look at the rounds they were splitting and it looked like green timber that was cut within the week. I asked about this with the wood cutting guy and he told me they were. I should have brought my own seasoned wood from home - SO SHOULD YOU! Another option is for your to bring your chainsaw and cut some firewood - legally and free - from dead standing trees down the road. Just print a firewood permit from the BC Ministry of Forests website. I cut 6 cords of fire wood for our home each year doing it this way.
- Laundry - Bring it in to the office and someone will do it for you for $6. We appreciate the gesture, but it's odd.

I am a reasonable, approachable person with a job that requires me to work with various people. A campground owner/operator needs to have the same temperament as this, but this was not evident.

We will not stay here again. Next time we'll be checking out Canyon Hot Springs Resort campground 45 minutes west.
Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$205
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$204
  • Vio.com
24.7 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    C$358
  • Priceline
33.8 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Hotel Site
  • Expedia.com
    C$608
  • Trip.com
36.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge Eagles Eye
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$330
  • Hotels.com
36.9 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Palliser Lodge Eagles Eye
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$785
  • StayForLong
37.2 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Suite
C$329
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$329
  • eDreams
    C$329
39.2 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
double bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$190
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$190
39.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Wyndham
    C$409
  • Booking.com
40.0 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
39.8 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deer Lodge Summer shot
Contact accommodation for availability.
48.3 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beavermouth
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
72
28
24
16
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
28
24
16
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner beautiful spot long weekend love this place lake site power august horns tents
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 164 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

2nd year back to Kinbasket and was a great time all around, our children loved the park and made a lot of friends, we came later in the year this year and the water was warm enough for swimming and even cleared up enough to do some wake boarding and tubing, I noticed before we left that the tug boats were starting to clean up a lot of the debris in the area so hopefully next year it will be even better.

We were tenting in one of the Powered RV sites and was by far the biggest site we have ever had, the bathrooms and showers were clean and the water supply was drinkable which is rare. The staff were very friendly, knowledgable, professional and great with all of the kids. Met many other familys during our stay and we are all meeting up again next year at Kinbasket.

The forestry road out the back side is full of view points, wilderness trails and the lake seems to never end. We got amazing family pictures with the most natural, beautiful backdrop of mountain ranges and water.

And last but not least THE FISHING, this lake has bar none the best fishing I and many others have ever seen but if you want to catch the big ones you are going to need to bring a boat. The lake is full of Dolly Varden and they are the best tasting fish I have ever had, we also caught some rainbows and white fish but have heard that there are also ling cod and sturgeon to be had as well.

On the negative yes there are trains and they are loud but they sometimes you don't hear them for several hours at a time and in our opinion a small sacrifice for all of the benifits this campground has to offer.

I have recommended this campground to many friends and family and everyone has loved this spot.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Location, location, location. The campground is in a gorgeous setting. The lake is glacier fed so the water is cold, but it did not stop us from swimming. There are a lot of logs floating in the water, but this is not the fault of management. The rv sites are not very level and this could be improved. Heard squeals of joy from the kids in the playground all day long. Met great people and enjoyed their company. The women's shower was clean with lots of hot water. Trees everywhere! We have already booked a return visit this year.

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ajzuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed there tenting for the weekend. Our site had a gorgeous view of the river below, fellow campers were very courtious of us noise wise. Train was loud but didn't seem to keep us awake at night.
Would not want to stay over in the RV part of the campsite, we found it much busier and louder.
Lake was beautiful and clean (can understand at sometimes that there would be alot of debris in the way)
The staff was very helpful, and friendly
Would stay there again

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time with friends at this campground. We were unfortunate enough to get caught on the wrong side of a mud slide that forced us to eventually turn around and go home the first night we were scheduled to check in. We were able to get through the next day though, and the staff were extremely accommodating when we checked in. They even offered to comp us the night we lost, and we didn't even bring it up! They weren't responsible for our travel delays but were happy to make up the loss for us. The caretaker and his adorable sons do an amazing job keeping up the campground and delivering huge wheelbarrows of wood to campers. We never saw any trash anywhere, the garbage bins were always empty, the showers and bathrooms were clean, and everything just had an air of being pristine. In the evening we sat around our campfire and listened to the sounds of crickets as dusk turned to night. The stars came out and filled the moonless sky and we realized how truly at peace we were.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

There are several really positive things about this campsite. The staff was very friendly and the location is great. We arrived and were initially impressed. After a few days our impression changed. Yes, there is a train that runs literally right beside the campsite but that was not so bad. The site markets itself as having hiking and biking but I am not sure where exactly this is to take place other than the campsite. There is a forestry road which is straight uphill and used by other vehicles. The showers were filled with black mold which we found quite disgusting. Considering the site is in bear country we were also concerned at the lack of regard for this fact. Oh, and don't plan on swimming or boating in the "lake" which is filled with debris.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mutccarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews