We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Janet L
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

A litlle paradise

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 4, 2013
In 2012 July we've had an opportunity to spend 1week at Kinbasket lake resort . It was absolutely awesome. Everything was just perfect ! And guess what? We were lucky to book and get a campsite at this amazing campground in coming August 2013 for two weeks!!!! Looking forward for relaxing holiday . We do deserve a little piece of paradise. ;)😊
Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$205
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$205
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$204
  • Tripadvisor
    C$205
24.7 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free parking
C$318
  • Expedia.com
    C$347
  • Hotels.com
    C$347
  • Priceline
    C$318
36.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$414
  • Trip.com
    C$491
36.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
2 Bedroom Suite
C$329
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$329
  • Agoda.com
    C$329
  • eDreams
    C$329
39.2 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cabin 8
C$269
  • Priceline
    C$269
  • Agoda.com
    C$269
39.4 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
double bedroom
C$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$190
  • Tripadvisor
    C$190
  • Priceline
39.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$263
  • Tripadvisor
    C$263
  • HIExpress.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$263
39.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$289
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$289
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$280
  • Expedia.com
    C$289
39.8 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$283
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$283
  • Algotels
    C$279
  • Expedia.com
    C$283
40.0 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beavermouth
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
72
28
24
15
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
28
24
15
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner beautiful spot long weekend love this place lake site power august horns tents
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 162 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed at Kinbasket several times and have always enjoyed ourselves. Yes it's slightly rustic but that is part of it's charm. If you want ultramodern go stay in some of the campground in the Okanagon where some sites are so close to each other that you can't open your awning without intruding into the site next door. Rick is a great host and great person all around. Yes they have rules that must be followed, pretty standard stuff that you find at all campgrounds. For those who question Ricks people skills, I suggest you look at your own. We have stayed as a couple and as part of a large group and have always had a great time. The prices are fair and the service is great! Kudos Rick ( the hockey stories are a bonus, Where else can you meet a humble 5 time Stanley cup winner?) Those complaining about trains need a lesson in history and railroading, the tracks follow lakes, rivers and valleys all over the world and particularily in the mountains!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Surroundings were beautiful but the owner is a micro manager like the other review stated and if you are unlucky to camp close to where he sits on his deck, he will bother you. We are a quiet family with one small child, very respectful campers. The owner was on an ego trip, we felt harrassed and could not relax at all. Would never go back!

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PassionforTravel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

** Dont listen to the 1 star reviews. If you cannot enjoy this place you will not be happy anywhere. Maybe stay in a hotel.
Every year we camp we are very careful to pick a campsite that will have some privacy, safety and views. We drove from calgary to Revelstoke and stayed in a hotel that night then the next day to shuswap/Salmon Arm and being disappointed with the camping we found there and further west had fire bans, we drove back to Golden and stayed in another hotel to regroup and find a campsite. The room was rough in Golden and was $189 a night. My wife found Kinbasket lake resort on the computer and the description sounded fantastic and just what we wanted. We drove there the next day which was only about 30 mins west and were very please with what we saw and decided to stay a week. We had no reservation but Rick found us spot 32 which was a private beautiful tent site over looking the river on top of a ridge. We loved the spot.(see pictures) Our other 3 days we switched over to a cabin, #1 as we got lucky and it was open. It was fantastic!! Big comfy bed in its own room, a futon couch that pulled down to a bed if needed, kitchen with everything you need, fridge, private washroom, Huge yard (cabin 1) and over looking the lake. It was only $115 a night. We wished we found this place a couple days earlier! Free shower house was perfect for a camp site shower house and like ANY public shower, be it the gym or out camping, bring a pair of flip flops you can get wet and wear them in shower. Duh. The out houses were not pit toilets they were flush toilets with lights in them. (nice touch and not stinky) I brought a bit of my own firewood but preferred the firewood they sold there. Very nice smelling and every night we would see a new animal (or alien) in the hot embers/wood. We started calling it the magical wood. I could write on and on, Just such a pleasant experience, I loved the trains and they brought up a lot of interesting conversations and goggling the history of the Canadian railroad. Rick was such a down to earth guy who I thought might have an ego being a 5 time stanley cup champion but let me get my picture taken with him and wear one of his rings. Did I return that? :-) Five times, are you serious!. Adam was great, helpful and single ladies (at time of this review) Dawn and Tim were a pleasure to be around and even borrowed me a cord I needed. (yes, I returned that) Thank you Lake Kinbasket Resort and we will be back!

Room tip: Cabin 1 has the largest yard (huge) and can sleep the most people.(6) Loft for kids or adult.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were camping here above the lake in the later part of August 2012. It is a beautifull site nestled in the rockies. We found the campsite very clean. Well for $38.00 a night it should be. I was appalled at the washroom facilities. The washrooms are very old and need upgrading desperatley. Perhaps new showers because of the poor mouldy conditions of the shower walls and the plastic curtains. I was scared to touch anything. Also was unimpressed for the price as each site didn't have a deposit for water wastes. They do have a sanidump on site only to be used at the end of our stay. We don't like the fact of unhooking and re-hooking our trailer up. Also a bundle of wood was $8.00 extra on top of the $38.00 per night stay. I loved the spot but it needs new ownership who can fix up the place. The docks are okay and there is no designated swim area which I find sad for a lovely spot in the mountains. The stairs towards the dock from the upper level of the campsite also need repair and leveling out. The dock is also in need of repair. I didn't fancy the loud trains nearby as well. I understand that trains come and go but nothing was said on their website. I also didn't appreciate the fact that we had to pay up front for use of the campground in order to ensure our spot. No one else seems to do this. I'm sorry for the poor rating and felt the need to say something.

Room tip: Double check this site and ask questions about the washrooms, dock swim area and train.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyR538
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

If you are interested in getting away to a remote, breathtaking oasis then Kinbasket Lake Resort is the place to go. We happened on the website through google and we were not disappointed when we arrived. We rented a cabin and it fulfilled all of our basic needs. The bed is comfortable and the cabin was accommodatingly spacious. The view is out of this world, the staff are friendly and helpful, the showers were clean with hot water. We brought our boat and enjoyed fishing, swimming and boating around the expansive lake. We also enjoyed fishing from the dock and met wonderful people. Due to it's remote location we could appreciate the challenge of maintaining the campgrounds, the cabins, the dock, the main lodge, the shower house and everything else but it is all well maintained. We heard the train the first couple of times then didn't notice it for the rest of our stay. We stayed at Kinbasket twice last year and we have booked again this year. Kudos to the owner and staff for their hard work creating a wonderful experience for us.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews