We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
hatravels22
Estevan, Canada

Trains, logging trucks & Trains

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 10, 2017via mobile
Stayed at kinbasket for two nights this august, and there was absolutely no mention of the 5km trek down a dusty mountain road full of logging trucks. No mention that the trains were running all day and night. There was mention in the website of one or two. Not 24/7!! Was woken up every night multiple times from trains. Our site was a good size but pure dust not even dirt, DUST. You couldn't walk one step without getting yourself all dirty. The lake was very beautiful don't get me wrong, but the trains and the trek down the mountain is enough to make me never go there again.
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick C, Owner at Kinbasket Lake Resort, responded to this review
Responded Aug 12, 2017
Perhaps this guest did not read our site very well where we describe the environment here very well. The trains are stated on the front page and based on the number of returning customers every summer, (over 2,000) as the trains and trucks nearby may be an issue with some, they are not with many others. The description of us being on a forest road is displayed at least 4 times, twice on the home page.

As for the dust, everyone wants a nice warm, dry camping experience. Most of interior BC has not seen rain in weeks, (we have not in 7 weeks) and if you have ever been in the mountains when its dry you'll know about dust. Yes it is dusty, but as our 55 sites and 7 cabins have been full since the July long weekend I guess some just deal with it better than others.


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$205
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$205
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$205
  • Tripadvisor
    C$205
24.7 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free parking
C$325
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$325
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
33.8 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$346
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$318
  • Hotels.com
    C$347
  • Priceline
    C$318
36.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$488
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$488
  • Agoda.com
    C$417
  • Trip.com
36.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge Eagles Eye
C$182
  • Expedia.com
    C$239
  • Agoda.com
    C$167
  • Hotels.com
    C$239
36.9 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Suite
C$329
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$329
  • Agoda.com
    C$329
  • eDreams
    C$329
39.2 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cabin 8
C$269
  • Priceline
    C$269
  • Agoda.com
    C$269
39.4 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
double bedroom
C$190
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$190
  • Hotels.com
    C$190
  • Priceline
    C$190
39.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$306
C$279
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    C$297
  • Priceline
    C$297
  • Expedia.com
    C$297
39.6 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$309
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$309
  • Algotels
    C$303
  • Expedia.com
    C$309
39.8 km from Kinbasket Lake Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beavermouth
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
72
28
24
16
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
28
24
16
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner beautiful spot long weekend love this place lake site power august horns tents
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 164 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

We decided to stop here on our way out to Vernon, for a family reunion. We checked it out on line, and agreed it would be a good spot to stay.
The online advertising is very misleading!!
There is no mention of the 5 Km hair-raising trek down a freaking logging road, dealing with hairpin corners and all the powder dust and not to mention meeting the logging trucks on this horrible goat trail. The camp-site was OK, but very small.
There is mention of the trains on the website, BUT no mention of the trains running 24/7, litterally right on top of you.
If you see the sign on Hwy #1, keep driving!!
It's advertised as a resort but couldn't be further from the truth!!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick C, Owner at Kinbasket Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

When we say we are on a forest road - stated on the first page of the web site - one should assume its not the Trans Canada highway and yes logging trucks do use it as on most forest roads. As for the trains, really, do you thing they only run during the day?

Some folks should just stick to the highways and cities and leave our campground to us as we don't have but a few "cranky campers" each summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017

The location right on the lake provides spectacular views of the tranquil Lake, and gives you access to beaches depending on the time of year and water levels. However, the train tracks that run directly next to the site are a regular source of disturbance. If you are a light sleeper, I highly recommend looking elsewhere. Otherwise, it is a wonderful location that is surprisingly low on mosquitos. I would definitely return, but not before getting some quality ear plugs to sleep more soundly.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jasminenhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 20, 2017

Traveled with my brother and his family. when we arrived we were upgraded to the revelstoke and cabin beside. The experience was exactly what we expected. Was very quiet and relaxing. The kids lived the playground, the adults loved the hiking trails. very relaxing location, friendly staff. will be back.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

If you are anywhere near Glacier National Park...check this place out. It was the best campground I've seen in BC and I've been biking through the province for the last two weeks.
The view is spectaculer, the location gorgeous and the staff is extremely nice, helpful and friendly.
Do yourself a favour and go take some time off at this place!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Sebastien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

We stayed here for the first time last Summer for almost 10 days. we love that it is a smaller campground and we chose a site further in from the main road so we were not afraid to let our older children roam and play at the campground with fear of them being run over. The campground is relatively quiet and has a great park for the kids. We stay in August so the water is clear and good for fishing, but being mountain water, a bit cold. Quite refreshing though, on a hot day! Lots of trees for the kids to run around in and build forts.

The showers had been recently upgraded and were cleaned daily as well as the washroom. Aside from a problem with hot water which was fixed while we were there we didn't have any concerns with the washroom facilities.

The price of wood wasn't any more or less than we experienced anywhere else. A wheel barrow full for $10 - husband said he thinks it was a mix of pine and larch and would last approximately 2-3 nights depending on how much you burnt.

The beach is ok, a little rocky, but being in the mountains I don't expect Bahamian beaches. Bring some water shoes or crocs and have fun!

Our only negative experience about the campground was that there is a train track that runs near by. It needs to blow its whistle as it goes through as it is an uncontrolled crossing and it can be quite loud. It does not whistle between the hours of 11 pm and 7 am thought which is good for sleeping. In saying this - as annoying as it is, it's tolerable and not really a huge deal....

All and all drink a beverage and relax and enjoy the great view. Life could be much worse!

Room tip: great view, good fishing
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kyla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews