We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
147
129
76
34
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
129
76
34
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gilsland spa coach parties coach trip evening entertainment spa hotel bowling green sunday lunch extensive grounds hadrian's wall older generation co op great weekend putting green buffet breakfast staff were attentive croquet lawn lovely grounds
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from 3 nights at Gilsland Hall. The hotel is in beautiful grounds in amazing countryside.The hotel is a bit tired and dated but very clean and friendly. The food we had was very good and the staff pleasant and helpful. We will return for another break in the future

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 231lindyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bring your walking shoes and a map. Plenty of walks around the area. When you come back from your walk , sit by the logs fires and have a drink and order a great bar meal. a perfect way to end the day

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BigGee-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The room was large and comfortable but the television was very small and bathroom could do with being updated. Wi-Fi was only available in the reception area. Reception staff were fine but not over welcoming , however, waiting staff in dining area were very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018

I booked this hotel on price, I was touring round the area on motorcycle so just really needed a bed, shower and a bar, a quick look at other hotel/B&B's in the area were showing more expensive, didn't want to take "pot luck" after a day riding. As others have noted the hotel is looking a bit dated, and does cater for the older client, but it was clean and tidy the breakfast was very good, and the staff were friendly. I ate in the bar, the menu is limited but the food was of good quality. The bed was comfortable, and the shower in my room was pretty powerful, so all in all, a good hotel in an excellent part of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wroone375298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, General Manager at Gilsland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Dear wroone375298,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Nigel Holling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

The Gilsland Hall Hotel is a couple of kilometres out of the town of Gilsland. It is though set on a very large garden estate and has wonderful views down the valley back to Gilsland. The rooms rates were very economical. The hotel has its own Bistro and bar, which is convenient as there are no shops, etc within walking distance.
The rooms are basic, but they are clean, comfortable and well presented. The rooms have tea coffee making facilities. I was on the first floor and the wifi was poor in my room - it is much better on the ground floor in the public areas.
The hotel reception staff were excellent, very friendly, efficient and attentive. I must admit the corridors on each floor are like a maze and I felt unsure if I was going the right way at times.
Hadrian’s Wall is only a few kilometres away. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank FrequentFlier756853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews