We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Proper Welsh Welcome”
Review of The Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rock
Ranked #2 of 6 Blackwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed over on a Friday night due to attending a friends wedding at The Maes Manor.

We arrived at lunchtime to be greeted by Jennifer in the car park showing us through to check in

From this moment on, nothing was too much trouble!

Paul kindly drove us to the wedding avoiding the need for a taxi, really kind gesture

We stayed in the Black and White room, that was nicely decorated and tastefully furnished

The ensuite whilst a little small has a good hot shower and the little touches such as shower gel and moisturiser were well received

Upon our return from the wedding we had a drink in the bar noting that our hosts had laid on nibbles free for the guests.

Breakfast was available in the morning in the lovely kitchen area with a wide range of options

We have been lucky to have travelled extensively throughout the world but rarely have we experienced such excellent customer service. Very good value for money.

Thanks Jennifer and Paul for making our visit to Blackwood memorable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Had a family get together here on a Saturday lunch time,we have lived near here for 2 years and had been on about visiting since day one,pity we didn't as we realised what we had been missing out on after our visit,food was lovely,staff were very helpful and welcoming we all agreed that we would be visiting the Rock regularly.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Belated Birthday family get together for lunch. Atmosphere was great and welcoming. We were 6 adults, 1 child plus a 7 month in a high chair all sat together with plenty of room. Menu for Sunday Lunch was as tasty as it looked too and enjoyed by all of us. Childs portion had plenty of meat on it plus all the vegetables. The owners Mr & Mrs Taylor made us welcome and the staff were friendly and helpful especially with our 2year old grandson. Selected this place for a homely lunch as I had been the week before for an evening meal with friends to celebrate my 60th. A good selection of evening meals and deserts at reasonably prices.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank LizzieNiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Our 2nd visit, but this time just the two of us. Warm an friendly welcome, lovely meal an great atmosphere. Will definitely go back, drinks order taken at the table. Waitresses smartly dressed and always smiling. 10/10

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HFritz2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Our first visit.
First impressions was good.
Warm welcome upon arrival, shown to our table, but was asked by the waitress to order our own drinks at the bar.
The waitress took our order, which arrived promptly.
I had salmon which was slightly over cooked,hubby had sea bass which he said was "spot on"
Overall, a nice pleasant atmosphere and reasonable food.
We would definitely revisit.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Went there for a special birthday and we weren't even sat at the same table! The food was way over priced and flavourless. The meat was dry, the veg was cold and the gravy was incipid. As OAPs, it was too expensive to have a starter or a dessert.

Room Tip: I highly recommend to avoid this place. The customer is never right and there are very offensive sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank enyapyendys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Loved it, went for my birthday last September. My dad and his mate are regulars there anyway and said it was a good place. Super warm welcome, the pub has a nice atmosphere and cosy feel. Had the battered fish and some chips. Well, the chips are just out of this world amazing, the landlord was super friendly and there was a piano player! And to top it all off, the landlord brought over a free bottle of Prosecco for me to take as a birthday present! Amazing, thank you for a great night :)

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Lydia106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackwood hotels
0 km away
Maes Manor Country Hotel
Maes Manor Country Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blackwood
225 reviews
0 km away
The Halfway House
The Halfway House
#5 of 6 in Blackwood
100 reviews
0 km away
Brewers Lodge
Brewers Lodge
#4 of 6 in Blackwood
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock

Address: Tredegar Road, Blackwood NP12 1DD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Blackwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Blackwood
Price Range: C$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Paul and Jennifer Taylor extend a warm welcome to you here at The Rock. The former winners of the Enterprise Inns National Pub of the year competition have put their plans to emigrate down-under on hold. Having taken on the tenancy of The Rock in July, they have completely refurbished the entire hostelry throughout. We offer an elegant, well stocked bar, choice of real ales, interesting selection of wines and some old fashioned soft drinks which all catch the eye as you approach. The menu is comprehensive, predominantly fresh food based, catering for both those on the move lunchtimes, as well as those who prefer to linger. Our specials are innovative and changed regularly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing