We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
56
21
10
6
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
21
10
6
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm welcomefor sunday lunchcorned beef piesalmonwelsh publittle touchesowners and staffnice atmosphereserved quicklycheesecakemaes manorpaulmenuportionschefwaitressdisplay
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 120 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2017 via mobile

We stayed over on a Friday night due to attending a friends wedding at The Maes Manor.

We arrived at lunchtime to be greeted by Jennifer in the car park showing us through to check in

From this moment on, nothing was too much trouble!

Paul kindly drove us to the wedding avoiding the need for a taxi, really kind gesture

We stayed in the Black and White room, that was nicely decorated and tastefully furnished

The ensuite whilst a little small has a good hot shower and the little touches such as shower gel and moisturiser were well received

Upon our return from the wedding we had a drink in the bar noting that our hosts had laid on nibbles free for the guests.

Breakfast was available in the morning in the lovely kitchen area with a wide range of options

We have been lucky to have travelled extensively throughout the world but rarely have we experienced such excellent customer service. Very good value for money.

Thanks Jennifer and Paul for making our visit to Blackwood memorable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile

Had a family get together here on a Saturday lunch time,we have lived near here for 2 years and had been on about visiting since day one,pity we didn't as we realised what we had been missing out on after our visit,food was lovely,staff were very helpful and welcoming we all agreed that we would be visiting the Rock regularly.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Belated Birthday family get together for lunch. Atmosphere was great and welcoming. We were 6 adults, 1 child plus a 7 month in a high chair all sat together with plenty of room. Menu for Sunday Lunch was as tasty as it looked too and enjoyed by all of us. Childs portion had plenty of meat on it plus all the vegetables. The owners Mr & Mrs Taylor made us welcome and the staff were friendly and helpful especially with our 2year old grandson. Selected this place for a homely lunch as I had been the week before for an evening meal with friends to celebrate my 60th. A good selection of evening meals and deserts at reasonably prices.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank LizzieNiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2017

Our 2nd visit, but this time just the two of us. Warm an friendly welcome, lovely meal an great atmosphere. Will definitely go back, drinks order taken at the table. Waitresses smartly dressed and always smiling. 10/10

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HFritz2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile

Our first visit.
First impressions was good.
Warm welcome upon arrival, shown to our table, but was asked by the waitress to order our own drinks at the bar.
The waitress took our order, which arrived promptly.
I had salmon which was slightly over cooked,hubby had sea bass which he said was "spot on"
Overall, a nice pleasant atmosphere and reasonable food.
We would definitely revisit.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews