We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and great!”
Review of Le Jas de Joucas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Jas de Joucas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Joucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My husband and I went to the Luberon area in July 2011 and stayed at "Le Jas de Joucas" 6 nights. Bottom line: WE LOVED IT!!!

Everyone has different ideas for their vacation and creature comforts, however, what WE always expect of an accommodation is:
- convenient location (reasonably close to hiking, sights and restaurants)
- reasonable size of room, if possible with small fridge
- cleanliness
- good service, if problems arise
...and "Le Jas de Joucas" had all that for us!!!:
Location: Was PERFECT for us, because we were spared the hassle of Gordes and Roussilon and other sights, yet close enough to drive there within a few minutes.
The village of Joucas is about 2 miles down the hill from the property, and the village of Murs is about 2 miles up the hill. So - "Le Jas de Joucas" is seemingly in the smack middle of nothing - but only, if you must walk everywhere.
The location and also the size of the property makes "Le Jas de Joucas" a tranquil, quiet and relaxing place.
Size of rooms: If you are not European, do keep in mind, that in Europe all things are a little smaller. We stayed in Pavillon No. 1 and really liked it. Upon opening the door you sort of walked into your bed already - but only, if you step another 5 feet to the left.
There is a set of about 5 steps going down to the WC and shower/bathroom. And there is a set of about 10 steps up to a loft.
Theoretically, another 2 people could sleep here since there are two more single beds in the loft. But that would be a little tight in my opinion. We used the loft to keep our luggage out of our way.
Anyways, once you get organized in your room, you will find it rather spacy!
Also, we had a really nice terrace looking over to the pool that was only about 20 meters away.
Cleanliness:
Room was cleaned every day, towels changed every day (if so indicated by you)
We only had one complaint: The provided wine/water glasses were not cleaned every day - so we did that ourselves with some detergent. We told Nathalie, the owner, about that upon check-out - and she apologized right away and told us, that the cleaning personnel is supposed to clean drinking glasses every day as well. - I guess, we should have told her the first morning, and we would never had had any other problem. - Our mistake!
Service: We do not speak a lot of French, but Nathalie - the owner - worked with us very patiently and was very friendly and extremely service oriented. As mentioned with the topic of cleanliness: If you have any issues/complaints/wishes, please, do tell Nathalie right away - and she will do her utmost to make you happy.
Other amenities:
Pool - gorgeous!!!! with a wonderful view over to the Petit Luberon and Great Luberon.
Lounge areas and quiet little places to hang out in various spots on the property.
Landscaping and decoration very nicely done, well kept and still looking natural.
(If you absolutely must have a fitness room: They have one, but it is a small, rather dark room - with quite a few machines and weights!!!)
Breakfast: People are always a little special with their expectations for breakfast. Nathalie covers almost all with her HUGE buffet: juice, fresh fruits, breads, croissants, pancakes, cakes, meats, water, coffee, tea, milk, eggs to boil, jam, butter - and all on a wonderful terrace!

Again: For US, it was the absolutely PERFECT place to stay.
If we travel to that part of Provence again, "Le Jas de Joucas" will be our first choice!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2011

Nine months after we returned from our 3 weeks in France and Germany, Le Jas de Joucas stands out in my memory as my absolutely favorite lodging. A serenely beautiful spot looking out over the Luberon, lovely and supremely comfortable bed and bungalow, exquisite pool with absolutely clear sparkling water, scenic hillside with plants and scents of Provence, including centuries-old olive trees. Above all hostess Natalie's gracious welcome, making a point to speak slowly and distinctly so our teenage daughter could understand. Truly the best breakfast we had in France, with eggs from her own chickens soft boiled to order, meats, cheeses, cakes, good coffee, and her own preserves. I particularly loved her pear and lavender jam. Many great things to do nearby, including visiting an ancient olive oil press, the town of Rouissillon, and the incomparable Romanesque Abbaye de Senanque. Price was quite reasonable compared to many other places we stayed. Family friendly but also very romantic for couples. If you are considering a stay in the Luberon, do yourself a favor and book several nights here.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WannaGoThere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed here for two nights in July and regretted immediately that we had not booked for longer. The accommodation is composed of little "chalet"-type houses which are very tastefully decorated, quite modern and cater for all your needs even including a fridge for those olives and bottles of Rose which are an essential part of any Provencal trip. The pool is FABULOUS and the chalets form an arc around it but not in any kind of a claustrophobic or encroaching way. Basically all chalets have the view of the pool while situated a suitable distance away.The property has great views out over the Luberon and has olive trees and lavender on-site. The gardens have a gazebo where you can go to meditate or just stare and listen. There are also seats placed at perfect positions around the grounds where you can escape. The breakfast is served on a terrace, suitably shaded with umbrellas. This breakfast is one of the best that we have ever come across in Provence.........breads, meats, cheeses, juices, GOOD coffee, home-made jams and conserves, fruits, eggs, pastries...you name it. Take your time here in the mornings and don't rush. The hosts are very friendly and really want to cater to your every need. They speak minimal english but have enough to ensure you are content with everything. We had hoped to be able to walk into Joucas for food each evening but it is too far, and this was a disappointment which was quickly overcome. In Joucas the hotel at the edge of the village beside the car park has fantastic food and an incredible view out over the vineyards and the Luberon, but you need to book these tables as they are limited. The second evening, we ate at a saladerie which was unusual and very special. Basically, this is run from a tiny shop (the only one, I think) which is a deli of sorts. In the evening times they serve the food that they sell, as salads and this place has the most fantastic views from all seats. You just sit down and really do not want to leave. We just stared out and watched the swallows for much of that evening and thoroughly enjoyed the freshness of the tasty salads. Definitely worth visiting but bear in mind that they only serve salads. Anyway, we both thoroughly recommend le Jas de Joucas for a Provencal break and will return next year. The area is great hiking country too which suited us......many walks being possible from our front door.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandMariaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This B&B is my ideal of hospitality a la Provencal. The owner, Natalie, makes you feel as if you are her personal friend. Her breakfast is home-made and delicious - most ingredients are from her own garden. And she is ready to help you with information, reservations, etc. She understands a little English.

The B&B consists of several buildings surrounding a courtyard, from which you have a magnificent view of the entire region (it is high up on a hill). It has a delightful pool (lie down on a beach chair and look at the Milky Way!), a hot tub and a gym. I loved the interior design - Natalie's doing. It's contemporary with Indonesian accents. The only strange thing is the toilet - which is separate from the shower/sink, and has no door. It has a bead curtain, which may not suffice for your privacy, nor for stopping smells from getting into the room. (We had the cheaper room; others are different). Also, the (free) wifi didn't work for us, though European guests had no problem.

Overall, I wished we could have stayed longer. It is a wonderful, relaxing place from which to explore the Luberon, or just laze about and admire the countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megajo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The hosts were quite friendly, giving us good tips e.g. what to see and where to eat. In addition, Jas De Joucas is relatively central, i.e. we could to day trips to many famous places, but the place itself was not directly in a tourist hot-spot. Overall we felt like we were able to enjoy the authentic Provence. We stayed in one of the bungalows, it was very new, comparatively spacious, and the breakfast was good too. It is a bit difficult to find especially at night, but using the GPS coordinates and a navigation unit helped tremendously. Unfortunately we didn't have time for the pool or the gym, sightseeing was a higher priority and *very* worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank gustep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

i stayed here for 2 nights in april. setup was nice. i had a "room" with bedroom, bath down and a loft with additional sleeping accomodations. nice outdoor patio viewing pool and main building as well as a view of the countryside.

the hosts were very friendly and helpful people.

i opted for breakfast (good idea as anything else is a drive to a nearby town.) the breakfast is served in the main building and is an array of homemade offerings by the hostess. price for room and breakfast was about 80$ US.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minocquatex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

This new out-of-the-way retreat/resort is just outside the tiny village of Joucas -- but a few minutes drive from the fabulous villiages of Gourdes and Roussillon. The rooms are in little, well-decorated cabins. But better is the view from the lounge chairs surrounding the pool -- overlooking a lovely olive orchard, and below the entire Luberon region.

We happened follow a sign to the place -- but it's a real find and I highly recommend it. A definite plus is the large breakfast served on the terrace.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cambridgenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joucas
0.5 km away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
4.3 km away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
274 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 5 in Roussillon
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#8 of 24 in Gordes
494 reviews
5.0 km away
Le Jas de Gordes
Le Jas de Gordes
#5 of 24 in Gordes
145 reviews
3.4 km away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#10 of 24 in Gordes
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jas de Joucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jas de Joucas

Address: Route de Murs, 84220 Joucas, Gordes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Joucas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Joucas
Price Range: $229 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Jas de Joucas 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres above sea level, we warmly welcome you to a unique setting with a panoramic view of the Luberon. You can enjoy the swimming pool, a game of lawn bowling, the health spa, or the stillness of nature all around, as you like. Our 7 bungalows nestled in the heart of a pine grove provide a relaxing and friendly environment. For nature-lovers and the merely curious: get away to the many wonders of the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Jas de Joucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing