We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stuff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Famous Mauro's Pizza

Famous Mauro's Pizza
Ranked #22 of 99 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Eastern Caribbean
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Many say this is the best pizza on the island and they are right. Try the chilli oil if you dare.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DonMacCluskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Antigua - Hands Down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I've been to Mauro's on several occasions and find that I keep returning time and time again. I've visited twice in the last two weeks. Mauro's is unpretentious, clean and has outstanding pizza. Watching Mauro make the pizza is like watching art. You can see all that happens in the kitchen area and you know it's clean and the food is quick from kitchen to table. Mauro himself reminds me of the Soup Nazi from Seinfeld which only adds to the charm - you know this man is serious about his pizza. His wife can be charming or a bit stern depending on the evening, but it also adds to it. Let's get real - it's a family run business and it is what it is. I love eating there - they have a waitress that is working there who is also very nice.

I've eaten at many of the pizzerias in Antigua - I sincerely believe that Mauro's has the best pizza on the island.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrieJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“"Pizza in front of your eyes"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Great atmosphere, wonderful pizza made in front of your eyes..

Helpful?
Thank Gerron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Confirmed; absolutely the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Very unique and totally worthwhile experience. 12 inch pizza serves one person. Nothing fancy; just great food.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SktnSkCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mauro's pizza delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Great pizza. Mauro and wife a bit dour, but still a favourite place

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AnneBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Famous Mauro's Pizza also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Famous Mauro's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing