We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at English Harbour
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The Inn at English Harbour is undoubtedly one of the best Hotels on Antigua. My wife and I spent five glorious days here following a Caribbean Cruise.

English Harbour is an ideal location, close to Nelsons Dockyard with all the restaurants and super yachts to visit and watch and yet the Inn is in a quiet corner easily accessed by the Hotels own launch.

The hotel has just 28 rooms, we had a Junior Suite which was spacious, clean, cool and nicely furnished. Deluxe suites are available and they also have 4 cosy beach Cabanas by the waters edge.

The food was good but the menu was limited, fine for a few nights but any longer and it would become rather repetitive. One let down was the instant coffee supplied at breakfast, this in an Italian owned hotel!!!! I would suggest bed & breakfast so you could mix the hotel with the other nearby restaurants.

All in all, The Inn is and excellent hotel, great staff, good location and lovely surroundings. I would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Junior Suites as the best value, the Beach Cabanas seemed rather small by comp...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crazypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at English Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

We spent our honeymoon at the Inn... here are the good aspects of the hotel:
-beach is not crowded, always plenty of loungers to choose from
-food selection is good
-room was amazing (deluxe suite), nice and big, felt more like a vacation apartment than a hotel...bed is very comfortable
-cleaning staff do a great job
-very relaxing

however...there were a number of negatives with the hotel as well... primarily that they do not enforce beach privacy. daily there were people coming onto the beach from elsewhere, and nobody stopped them. it made us wonder why we were paying such a premium for 'privacy' when we were not getting what we bought into.

i also had to complain when a group of families walked onto the beach with children...probably 5 kids. while i love children, i did NOT want them around on this holiday! they were very loud and nobody did anything about it until i complained. i then looked like a jerk as staff were hesitant to tell them to go away. it took about 1/2 an hour for them to leave. this really bothered me, being that the site clearly states that children are not welcome. as a guest i should not have to enforce this rule...it's what we paid the extra money for! the next day, a young child was at breakfast, and was later crying at the pool... clearly they make exceptions for some children, and this will keep us away from any future holidays there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jgal713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHarbour, General Manager at The Inn at English Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback and for the many good points you have highlighted, among which the amazing rooms and their cleanliness, the good food, and the relaxing atmosphere.
Let us express our sincerest apologies for the situation created on the beach with the presence of kids on that Sunday.
Our beach staff may have looked hesitant but in fact when you called her and showed the kids swimming in the sea their grandparents had already been told of our policy and were waiting for the kids to come out of the water to leave The Inn.
The privacy of our beach is very important to us and we do try hard to maintain a quiet environment for our guests and to implement the no-children under 10 years old policy. Sometimes it does require some extra effort with the occasional no-residents guests but as you can see from previous comment on Tripadvisor you can appreciate how hard we implement this rule.
We do hope that you accept our apology and we wish that the positive experiences you had here with us will subsequently overwhelm the less positive one and compel you to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Fabio Giorgi
General Manager
The Inn at English Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We have stayed at the Inn at English Harbor for two years in a row, something we don't usually do as we usually like variety. But The Inn is so perfect for a beach vacation that we couldnt pass it up. The hotel is simple luxury, not too stuffy, just relaxing with really friendly managers and staff. By 3 days you feel like part of the family.

You must go for the suites or the Junior suites, don't know about the beach cabanas as they are lacking in privacy and look small.

Would reccomend Catherine's next door for lunch / wine as well as going to Shirly Heights on a Sunday (although can be a bit touristy). There are a number of other places to eat around the English Harbor (you will get tired of the full board menu after a few days even though they do switch it up so good to have some options). Also go to Harmony Hall/green Island.

Great for younger couples with no kids, older couples with pre teen or teenage kids or for even older couples with grown up kids.

Downsides: gym is a little small/dated, only instant coffee in the rooms, and no bath tubs.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClifandMelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We visited Antigua for the first time the day after Christmas, staying through the New Year. This property is absolutely gorgeous. It was fully booked for the holiday season but that had no impact at all. The property is very intimate and allows for maximum privacy while still providing a very nice, warm ambiance in the lounge, the restaurant and the grounds in general. The staff is wonderful. We knew this before we even checked in as I had dealt with Sherma for many weeks prior to our arrival with a host of questions. I read a negative comment about Wesley - It could not be the same charming, funny gentleman who did so much to make our stay memorable. If you wish to go out and about, Christina knows every treasured spot on the island -- all of her recommendations were spot on!

The room was spacious, spotless and chock full of amenities. The pool is lovely and overlooks the beach and water. The beach has lots of nice, cozy places to relax - complete with hammocks.

The food at the Inn was wonderful. Breakfast was buffet or a la carte with options to fit a universal palate. Dinner at the formal restaurant high on the cliffside was tasty with a great selection of local ingredients.

The location of this property is fantastic. There is a free water taxi that can take you around the cove and delivers your within steps of lots of great restaurants and bars. A short hike on a nearby trail takes to Shirley Heights with breathtaking views of the harbor.

New Year's Eve was a blast -- a great party with one of the best bands on the Island. We could not have ended 2011 and welcomed 2012 in a better place. We left Antigua having made lots of new friends and looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this property - they all have fantastic views and are steps away from the...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scooby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We have enjoyed a wonderful few days at The Inn beautiful location and wonderful staff who are very obliging, and good food on the menu. A couple of observations on the previous comments by reviewers: firstly, you can choose to switch dinner for lunch if you are on half board - the hotel just asks that you let them know in advance; secondly if you choose a room on the beach just be prepared for sandflies at dusk and dawn and wear insect repellent. The hotel is very good and we would love to return!

Room Tip: Suites are better choices but more expensive.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SurreyDINKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We are returners - even better than before. The Smiths.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cergsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I stayed in the Inn at English Harbour last January (2011) with my wife. It is a lovely hotel in a great location. We had one of the rooms in the small cottages right on the beach. For some reason these are the cheapest on offer and I would look no further. They are right on the beach and private. Being 10 steps from the sea first thing in the morning is my idea of paradise.The staff in the main are great, except that is for the head waiter (Wesley). I found him rude and incompetent. In fact everything would be running perfectly until he arrived on the scene and spread panic and disorder. Given we were crossing paths at least once a day he became very annoying. Only other issue I would have was the quality of food at dinner. Why do so many Carribean hotels try and fail to deliver a formal dining experience. Why not keep it casual (it is a holiday) and use the natural resources at their finger tips. I would take some BBQ fish above what they serviced any day. Breakfast and lunch in the Inn are fantastic. I would love to return to the Inn but it would have to be on a B&B basis...the Half board they offer includes dinner. With so many great dining experiences in English Harbour (and the above comments re dinner at the Hotel) I would prefer to have the flexibility. If they could iron out these few issues I would return every year to this beautiful hotel in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Go for one of the beach cottages.
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterHIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHarbour, General Manager at The Inn at English Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Mr. Ireland,
Thank you for your feedback and positive comments; we would certainly welcome you back here at any time. It has been almost a year since you last visited and I hope it was the nostalgia of what you have defined as “paradise” that has made you write this late comment.
As you have rightly mentioned The Inn has a fantastic location right in the Nelson’s National Park surrounded by green hills and the magnificent Caribbean Sea. A short delightful boat trip compliments of the hotel, takes literally a few minutes to the Dockyard then onto the Dockyard Drive there are several restaurants mainly very informal and picturesque. Our Terrace restaurant has a long tradition for its high standard of food and service as well as the elegant ambience, during the year we have learned that this is very appreciated by the great majority of our clientele. Of course once or twice people like to go to a more casual restaurant in the harbour and therefore we have made our Half Board package very flexible and guest can swap lunch for dinner any time they want.
Wesly is a very joyful person with a sparkling personality. He may have gone too far in the attempt of giving great service but for sure he never meant to be rude, our apologies however if you felt otherwise.
Once again, we thank you for your comments and do look forward to welcoming you tour little paradise again.
Fabio Giorgi
General Manager
The Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near English Harbour
20.0 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
16.6 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
19.0 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
971 reviews
2.9 km away
St. James's Club & Villas
15.2 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at English Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at English Harbour

Address: Freeman's Bay, English Harbour, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > English Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in English Harbour
Price Range: $650 - $1,439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at English Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a postcard-lovely bay on the island of Antigua, this split-level resort features a hilltop building overlooking English Harbour and the picturesque waters of the Caribbean Sea. The Hotel has its own white sandy beach, with a small but lovely private dock. Clear emerald blue waters are encompassed by the magnificently lush green landscape of the surrounding hills. This semi-enclosure induces a feeling of privacy and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at English Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At English Harbour Hotel English Harbour
Hotel At English Harbour
At English Harbour Hotel
The Inn At English Harbour Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing