We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing travel experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Found

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oranjestad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paradise Found
Ranked #8 of 12 Oranjestad B&B and Inns
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing travel experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

My husband and I spent two weeks with Jim and Shawna at their piece of paradise. They are very welcoming and their home is relaxing, beautiful and very clean and comfortable. The day always started with a fresh and delicious breakfast. Jim and Shawna made great recommendations on places to visit and where to eat, they even kayaked us out to the reef out front of the B&B and took us on a couple of hikes to see parts of the island. Everything on the island can be reached from their central location in less than a half an hour by car. We enjoyed snorkelling in front of the B&B and at Mangel Halto, Baby Beach and Arashi Beach. The rugged east shoreline is beautiful and the ruins from the gold smelters were interesting as well. We ate at Marina Pirata, B55, Zeerovers, The Flying Fishbone and got takeout at Young Fellows and a little nearby hut that sold arepas...and would recommend them all. We would highly recommend Paradise Found to anyone who is looking for R&R away from the resorts and is interested in exploring the Happy Island. The sunsets from the B&B are amazing!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Jim, Shawna, the house, the dogs, the rooms, the neighborhood, the price, the breakfasts, the warm 81 degree water, the information, the close bus stop, the snorkeling being so close, were all perfect. I liked being picked up at the airport by a smiling face and taken to the airport with a smiling face. Any question was answered with a smile and information was always helpful. The island is small so getting around is not a problem. Paradise Found is definitely a paradise for us. We ventured all over the island, part by bus and part by rental car, but being located in the middle of coast we could go anywhere in a short time. The coffee and breakfasts were accompanied with great conversation and information about the history and the people of Aruba. Much more history than I would have received at a hotel. Even on the rainy day we had a beautiful open air room to read and relax. Other visitors came and went. We met a couple from Miami and a lady from Finland. More smiling faces. Our favorite was the scuba dives (we did 3) . Red Sail was the company we used and this too was a great experience--clear warm water. There are other companies also. We took the bus to the "big beaches" and walked and walked and saw lots of people in front of the hotels--then we were able to return to the quiet neighborhood of Paradise Found. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickieandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Jim and Shawna are some of the nicest people you will meet. They are gracious, helpful, and genuine. My wife and I will definitely stay with them again. We liked Aruba and our stay with them so much, we extended for another week.

As mentioned already, the snorkeling is fantastic from their house. So many fish you are swimming in the aquarium. My wife and I even saw a sea turtle on our last day!

Their B&B is very well maintained and extremely clean. As mentioned by others the posted pictures don’t do it justice.

2 big thumbs up for Jim, Shawna and Paradise Found. We miss Aruba already. A return visit to Paradise Found is a must.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

Wonderfully quiet neighborhood with beautiful, relaxing views away from the city traffic. Hosts were wonderful - very friendly and helpful. The ONLY reason for not wanting to give Paradise Found a total Five Star rating is the fact that I want to have a room available for our return trip!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveArubaYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

My wife and I stayed at Paradise Found for two nights following 7 days at a time share. We enjoyed every minute with Jim and Shawna and would recommend their B & B to anyone who goes to Aruba. They are very hospitable and the accomodations are prefect. Most of the time, pictures make the the place look better than it actually is. Not here, the place is beautiful. We felt like we were staying with rich friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WdotDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

What luck to meet Shawna and Jim and get to stay at their house. They are the most hospitable hosts you could find. My partner and I felt very welcomed. they give great advice especially for reasonable fun things to do.
Across the street is access to one of the most beautiful reefs I have ever snorkeled.
I get bored easily with the large resort/hotels and lying on a beach. This was perfect. The island is so small that it iseasy to get around.
It is important that you enjoy dogs as we do. We had a great time with them.
We have traveled pretty extensively and found this to be one of our best experiences ever. I would highly recommed it

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdxjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at Paradise Found for part of our stay in Aruba. We had a great time. The owners, Jim and Shawna, are wonderful hosts. All of their restaurant recommendations were wonderful local spots that had much much better food than the resort area. They made us feel very comfortable and are truly kind people. Even after we checked out, they invited us back to snorkel in the ocean behind their house which is a prime snorkeling spot. I wholeheartedly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmas2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
14.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
12.5 km away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,306 reviews
0.3 km away
Seabreeze Apartments
Seabreeze Apartments
#1 of 1 in Pos Chiquito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Coral Reef Beach Villa and Apartments
12.8 km away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
11.5 km away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Found? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Found

Property: Paradise Found
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd. 238 | Pos Chiquito, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oranjestad
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Paradise Found Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing