We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here over Christmas and absolutely loved it! We ended up getting it at a phenominal price and could not resist. When we arrived we were told our room was one of the furthest from all the amenities, about which we were not pleased, but ended up loving our location. We stepped out our door and the beach was right there. It was amazing! It was away from all the noise and crowds and everything. We loved sitting out on our patio at all times of day.
Our favorite bar was the Bunker bar where we sat to watch the sunsets. The other bars were great too, but this oneis right on the beach on stilts. Very islandy..
We found the food at the buffet exceptionally good, and my husband is a picky eater. We booked a couple a la cartes, but never went as we enjoyed the buffet with no timeline when we had to eat. The snack bar by the pool had excellent choices for luch or snacks. Their chicken fingers and fries were awesome.
The beach is absolutely gorgeous, but we wore our water shoes in because there were pieces of coral, and a bit of seaweed in spots. Loved it nevertheless. It is beautiful!
We didn't do any of the tours, but hired a taxi (Rudolph was our driver, great name for a Christmas vacation) and asked him to take us to spots around the island. We wanted to go to the California Lighthouse, and the natural bridge. He ended up taking us to a rock lookout and a small church in the middle of nowhere, and did not charge us for the extra time it took to see these. He was great, he gave us lots of info on the island and the places we visited. We tipped him well.
Downtown Oranjestad is very pretty and we enjoyed going there also in a taxi. One huge mall is all high end merchandise and very expensive, but fun to look at. We shopped at the other stores and the market while we were there.
All in all it was a fantastic trip at a fantastic resort and would not hestitate to recommend it and hope to return.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, get one of the rooms at the far end of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    1,396
    416
    167
    89
See reviews for
1,027
1,661
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,036)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Travelled with First Choice to this hotel but would recommend travelling with Thomson and staying at the sister hotel short walk along the beach (or regular golf cart ride away for the not so energetic), facilities are shared which is great but the beach at Tamarijnd Aruba is built up with rocks due to erosion, there are a couple of bits beside the watersports area where access is easy enough to the sea but thats not really great when your sunlounger is up the other end of the beach. Food at both hotels is excellent and the a la carte restuarants are fabulous, they need to be booked but if you don't mind eating early or later then thats never a problem. Entertainment at Tamarind was better and more adult than Tamarijn Aruba and they had dancing into the night, all in all much more adult and their beach was lovely, a bit more expensive to stay there but it saves you trotting back and forward between the two hotels. Bikes are available but be warned these are dutch style bikes where you have to back pedal to brake (not for the faint hearted), buses are cheap and regular if you want to explore. Lots to see on the island, car hire a bit pricey but worth it for at least one day. Casino's great fun in moderation, drinks in Oranjestaad very expensive as cruise ships call in regularly, shops are expensive too but worth having a look. Had a great holiday, people are lovely, weather was great when the tail end of a hurricane died away but as Aruba is in the southern caribbean they never really get full force hurricanes only sometimes the tail end.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank indianoceanqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

5 stars in my book.. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They make you feel like family.
Each room has an ocean view. There is no bad room on the entire beach..

Room Tip: All rooms on water, all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here in February, 2011. We prefer smaller, more intimate resorts right on the beach, and this was all that was avaalable in Aruba, during the times we wanted. Seeing a 3.5 star rating by the travel company worried us a bit, but we really wanted to go, so we took the chance.

In a word - Stunning!

Overall, this resort was the best we've ever been to, including 5 star Sandals, and others, on various islands. The small two storey buildings are all right ON the beach. You step off your room patio and you're in the sand - all 3 miles long and 50 yards deep of it, with hardly ever a soul to bother you, and NEVER a peddlar! The beach was incredible.

The staff are always smiley and warm, and the food is varied and very good. Additionally, this resort is connected to a golf resort just a stone's throw up the road, at which there is a FANTASTIC restaurant - 'Windows on Aruba'. If this restaurant doesn't already have multiple Michelin stars, it should have. Literally the best dining experience of our lives (and we're "foodies"). Yes, expensive, but you get what you pay for. Impeccable food, service & ambiance, with truly professional attention to detail. Textbook perfect.

We loved this place!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank gandt_halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was our first trip to Aruba. We were there 2/5/12-2/12/12. If you love the beach this is the resort for you. Every room has a great view and is right on the beach.

Room: We were in a renovated room which was very nice--it was a little smaller than other places we had been but who cares you are in Aruba. There was still plenty of space. The beds were comfortable. All rooms above 2100 are renovated (to our knowledge).

Food: The food and drinks were terrific. Even the buffets were good, which at other places I have found repetitive. I loved that you could eat multiple times at the restaraunts and weren't limited to one reservation at each. We dined at the Red Parrot twice, Ginger, and Paparazzi. We passed on the Palm--where you cook your own food. Of course we hit up the Pizza snack bar a few times too. They had a great selection (compared to other places we have been) and were open until 1 a.m.

Activities: We rented a car one day (you can do this right in the hotel lobby with Hertz) and went to Baby Beach which has great snorkeling and went to the other side of the island to see the awesome waves. We also drove down to the high rise section just to walk around. Renting a car was cheaper then any of the tours and then you are on your own schedule so that was our preference. We rode bikes (resort provides) downtown one day. This is very nice and safe. There is an upscale mall and the local stores.

Transportation: We took a cab to and from the airport, but if we went back I would probably suggest taking the De Palms bus you pay per person and they give you a voucher for your return trip. It's slightly cheaper than a cab and took about the same time because the Tam is one of the closest resorts. Cabfare is set by the government so no matter what route or how many people it's a set fare, you can look the rates up online. It was $25 one way for us as we traveled on Sunday just to give you an idea.

People/Staff: The other guests at the Tam were so friendly so we met some great people. We were traveling as a couple and were probably one of the youngest couples during our trip and met people of all ages. Check-in was a breeze. The staff were very friendly and had great tips about the island. The bartenders would learn your drinks and have them ready for you. We NEVER felt unsafe anywhere. During our vacation there was a big carnival parade and we went downtown and there were hundreds of people and again never felt uncomfortable. Took a cab down and the bus back. No problems.

Beach: The sand and water are amazing! We would get up around 7:30 and put our towels out for a hut and didn't have a problem. If you go out later you might not get one by your room but you could usually find something. We are sun people, but at some point you are going to probably want to move into the shade as it does get hot. There is always a nice breeze though.

Suggestions: If I was to suggest anything to the Tam it would be to knock off the fees for the in-room safe and the WiFi....these in no way ruined my trip of course nor would they keep me from going back.

Room Tip: We were in building 2200 I would suggest anything above 1700 as this is where the beach is not rocky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JCMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just got back from second visit to the Tam in February. No complaints plenty to do and the beach is beautiful.. Rooms are clean and just standard, You are never in them anyway so it did not bother us much at all. If you are looking for 5 star then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for friendly people, clean rooms and absolutely beautiful ocean front rooms then stay here.. Food it fine, loved Red Parrot...
If you are looking for a beautiful location, clean and friendly people at an affordable price then the TAM is the place for you.
If you want to be wined and dined then spent the extra at another resort. If you are looking for relaxation, beach, clean rooms, great swimming and location then this is your place.
Went on the Black Pearl snorkeling this time and the boat is great as well as the staff - highly recommend. Also rented quads which was also a cool experience. This is real quad riding so if you have never been on one then don't go. But if you are into quad riding then the views, etc are breathtaking and I totally recommend it.
They are currently up to block 21 in the remodeling process.
Nightly entertainment was also great and the option of going over to the Divi is also key!
Also was able to catch the carnival which will never to again - seem like after you seen one light up costume you have seen them all. (THERE ARE ALOT)..Had no problem getting beach Papala's or chairs. Some people are so obsessed with this and are a bit ridiculous with their behaviors... but we never had issue with getting a Papala & lounge chairs. Of course you will encounter the few who choose to hog them and never even sit on them so it is what it is..

Also was able to catch the carnival and hand no problem getting beach Papala's or chairs. SOme people are so obsessed with this it is not ridicilious... There was always plenty of beach and we never had issue with lounge chairs and you will encounter the few who choose to hog them and never even sit on them so it is what it is..
Otherwise a great time, clean room and terrific beach!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank stinkymonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario,Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My family (including a 3 and 1year old) and I just finished a great week vacation at the resort (Feb.13-20). My wife and I were so skeptical for this place when we first booked it as its was not a 5+ Star place we normally go to, but we were so please we did.
The room we had was on the ground floor of the 2 storey building on the 2300 block of the resort. It was a ways from the restaurants and pool which suited as just fine. This is a standard room typical of a regular hotel. Our room had 2 queen size bed and a crib squeezed in between the 2 beds. It came with a modest 32 inch TV and a mini refrigerator. My wife and I did find the room very small as we had to be imaginative to put our luggage away for the week. My only problem of the room was the bathroom. I didn't matter to us that it didn't have a tub but the shower is designed poorly. It doesn't have a curtain but a glass partition. The partition doesn't go far enough and as you shower lots of water would be splashing to the main bathroom area, making it a slippery area. We had to use the beach towels to dry the area off after every shower. However I do notice that Housekeeping and the the air tend to dry the area off quite quickly. We had an amazing view out of our patio door. As most review of this resort you might have read, the room are literally on the beach! Every morning you can view the cruise ships come it and it the evening you can have a beautiful view of the sunset sitting on your bed.
There are 3 a-la-carts resturants (Asian, Italian, Grill )and a main buffet at the resort plus a 4th resturant (Red Parrot) at the sister resort close by you could use. There is a pool side bar that also serve food as well. The food is ok for us. The thing here is I don't see to much difference between the 5 star resorts and this place. We usually ate off the pool bar for lunch. They had the food my 3 yr old loved ( chicken fingers, Pizza, cheezy fries, and of course all you can help your self ice cream)
The beach is absolutely beautiful. It maybe the whitiest beach I have been on. Barely any rocky areas accept close to the reefy parts. There's lots of crush coral and lots of shells to collect. If you require a beach hut, which is highly recommened due to the intense sun, definitely get up early in the morning to reserve your beach hut as it goes quite quick. My 1yr old get me going at 5-6am to go for a walk so I have no problems getting the areas we like. There's only a main pool here and yes guys there is no swim up bar. Tamrijn is located on the beach side of the area surrounded by time shared resorts. On our last day, we used there pool which was close to our room. No one seem to care.
The entertainment throughout the week was good. The staff kept motvating the people with pool volleyball, bingo etc. One thing I did notice here that other resorts don't do, is they give out points for activities you do and this can be redeems for t-shirts, hats. What a great idea to motivate people! The kids club was good too. They have adventures at the butterfly park, rock climbing, crafts and t-shirt making to entertain kids. They also give us kids points for certain activities. They even have a movie time . Only problem I see here is that the entertainment staff only work during the week days including the kids club. But they need some time off too don't they?!? The night entertainment was good but the problem here is the venue. They don't have one. They do the performances in the buffet eating area which is a problem for people wanting to have a late dinner and finding a seat to eat.
The sister resort is the Divi which is a 10 minute walk or you can take a shuttle. The shuttle service is not very good. Its very hit and miss as sometimes you may wait quite a while to get one. The shuttle will take you to a closeby casino also.
I would definitely come back to this resort again. The staff was very professional and great with my kids. I wish them all the best.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jywwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
3.6 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,594 reviews
0.6 km away
Divi Aruba
Divi Aruba
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,793 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,123 reviews
4.3 km away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Property: Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms on the mile-long beach make this lively resort the perfect choice for beach lovers. The Tamarijn Aruba is Aruba's hot spot on the beach where the fun never stops. There's plenty of activity day and night. Learn to windsurf, ride a bike on the boardwalk or climb the 30-foot rock climbing wall right on the sand. Kayaking and snorkeling are just steps from the rooms. When the sun goes down, the fun begins with lively music around the pool and theme shows. Or try your luck at the Alhambra Casino nearby. All Inclusive Amenities: • 10 Restaurants and grills • 8 Bars with daily drink specials • 4 Freshwater pools • Non-motorized water sports • Divi Winds Sports Center with fitness center • Bikes, beach volleyball, tennis clinic • Weekly water aerobics, yoga and Zumba classes • Lighted tennis courts • Nightly entertainment with theme nights • 30ft Rock climbing wall on the beach • Daily activities • Kids Fun Club for ages 5 - 12 • Free Wi-Fi throughout property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Hotel Tamarijn
Aruba Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing