We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW!!!! Dog friendly”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
224 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 224 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sar79_11
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WOW!!!! Dog friendly”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

If you have dogs its heaven!! The local forest is a lovely walk. If not also heaven! Beautiful cottages in complete peace, fabulous standards, cottages are 5 star and so is the service! They couldn't be helpful, but they didn't "check up you" !! They were great with suggestions & directions & really interested in your stay and making it the best for you 5 star

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2013
Thanks Sarah. We assume you mean "couldn't be helpful enough"? Here's hoping anyway!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJDennis
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful location with wonderful views”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed 4 days during Xmas in the barn.

The Barn was a lovely cosy place to stay with wonderful views. The barn itself has everything you would want from a self catering cottage.

The location was fantastic, peaceful in the countryside. We just needed good weather as it constantly rained during our entire stay.

Brechfa Forest is very near by which is perfect for walking and mountain biking. Unfortunately our walk in the forest was not so perfect as we kept hearing dirty bikes near by us (without seeing them) when we felt uncomfortable.

Only down point with the cottage was that there was dump in one of the rooms with twin beds. My wife and daughter slept in double bedroom, while I slept in other bedroom with twin beds in the first night which was not comfortable during night with dump feeling and wet walls. Next 3 nights I slept in the sofa which was very comfortable.

Nikki’s home cooked lasagne and mushroom soup was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & views
Liked least: Dump bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2013
How disappointed we were not to receive our usual 5 star rating. We are however delighted that you enjoyed our cosy barn, views and food.

We're sorry to hear your experience damp (you say dump but I assume you mean damp) in one of the bedrooms. Since your visit (almost a year ago) we have installed French drains around the barn which has solved the problem.

Dirt bikes (I assume you mean dirt - you say dirty) are illegal in the forest. We haven't had any experience of this in the 4.5 years we have lived here but can assure you that any such activity would be immediately reported to the Forestry Commission.

We notice you have scored us 4 out of 5 on Customer Service and Directions and would be keen to know how we could improve on this? With regards to the weather I'm afraid that's rather out of our hands!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucy876
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“All you need in a beautiful location”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

6 of us stayed in the Bay Tree Barn for 2 nights celebrating my mums birthday. We all really enjoyed our time there and agreed it was excellent value for money. The barn is very comfortable and cosy with the wood burner. But best of all are the breathtaking Welsh views over yonder. It's set in a stunning area of beauty, perfect for walking and mountain biking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Thank you Lucy. So pleased your mum enjoyed her 60th here :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureenhO...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of tranquil heaven”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fabulous week, so relaxing. Accommodation had everything you would need and more. Nikki & Jason were great hosts, Nikki even provides lovely home cooked meals if required. Beautifully clean and very cosy. Lovely views from the property and plenty of walks and lovely beaches nearby. We had 4 dogs with us and they all enjoyed it as well!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and how we were made to feel welcome :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience which we're sure others will find helpful. We're always delighted to read such positive reviews, particularly when we know we have been recommended by other guests. So pleased you enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy with delightful views, home from home.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous week staying in the Bay Tree Barn with our four Labradors. Anyone with animals will know that it is difficult to find places to accommodate so many dogs. What we found here was perfect. Another couple joined us for two nights, but there was still room for all of us. The accommodation was beautifully presented. I'd done quite a bit of research on the area before we arrived, but more was provided upon arrival. We had many fabulous walks; steep coastal paths, high forest trails, long beach strolls and amazing riverside explores. We found wonderful places to eat and great beer to sample. Nikki and Jason were themselves on holiday during our visit so we missed out on Nikki's highly recommended cooking. We intend to return to sample Nikki's culinary expertise, and the other great walks that we didn't find time to do!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There is so much to chose from but I think I will go with the warmth of the place. Walking in to warm rental accommodation can be unusual, and at the end of a long day is blissful.
Liked least: Site access involved crossing a cattle grid, which was a little restrictive with the dogs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2013
Wow! What lovely words and a very informative review of the area which I'm sure other readers will find very helpful when deciding whether to stay with us. Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back soon we hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephDuit...
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had such a lovely holiday here, The Hay Barn is such a welcoming and cosy place to stay - beautifully presented and very clean. A perfectly tranquil setting with spectacular panoramic views - we really enjoyed watching the sun setting over the valley - so peaceful. Very comfortable beds and nothing but the sounds of bleating sheep helped make it just the kind of relaxing holiday we needed. Lovely walks in the Welsh countryside with our dog, and with Nikki's delicious homemade food to come home to (delivered right to the table!), we will definitely be back. Thanks for a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting and Nikki's cooking!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2013
You're most welcome! Thanks for the smashing review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ST1364
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First holiday in Wales”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This place is great for dogs the area was great walks local pubs with great food.
But let down with the barn on arrival there was a very bad smell of damp in bathroom which is next to living room we went through 2cans of airfreshener also the shower rail rusty paint flaking of ceiling and mouldy grout also they say wifi this was very poor.
For the money we have stayed in better places sorry would not return but Wales was great.
I am sure the owners will sought out these problems.
y

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
We're so sorry to hear that you've encountered these problems in The Hay Barn whilst we were ourselves away on holiday. Having just spoken with yourselves we are relieved to hear this didn't adversely affect your stay with us and are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your 1st visit to Wales. With back-to-back bookings since March general maintenance was planned for Autumn/Winter but clearly this needed urgent attention and within 10 minutes of reading your comments the work required to rectify the problems in the bathroom has be actioned. Improving our WiFi is a priority too (broadband in rural areas such as ours is, we agree, not as good as we would like) and we are continually looking for new ways to improve this. Following your review we have just ordered Ethernet cables and an additional hub which we very much hope will improve the situation. Disappointed as we are to have received a review anything short of our normal 5* status we very much hope that our prompt action to resolve the issues outlined shows that our guests' comfort and enjoyment remains our priority. Assuring you of our very best intentions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing