We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great property in fabulous location”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
230 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 230 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel S
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great property in fabulous location”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently spent 3 nights at Bay Tree Barn with girls and dogs and we had a brilliant time. With mountain walks, miles of forest and stream walks and beaches within reach could not have found anywhere better. The cottage is in a lovely quiet spot with great views and felt like home immediately. It is nicely furnished and has a very cosy woodburner should you not have the lovely sunshine we enjoyed. Nicki and Jason made us feel welcome and were very helpful.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2014
Thanks so much! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon C
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not just Dog tolerante but Dog lovers”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Weve always found it hard to find a holiday that will take us with our 5 dogs. Our dogs were not just tolerated but accepted as our family! A big thank you to Nikki and Jason! Bay tree barn is cosy and catered for all our needs! Wonderful walks around the area and Nikki's Chilli Con carni is fab! We will def be booking again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for booking again so quickly. See you in August! ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeTH2208
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular views, great accommodation and dog friendly!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, my husband, daughter and three dogs stayed at Bay Tree Barn for 4 nights whilst looking for a property and schools in the area. We had a fantastic time, walking in the woods, nearby fields and enjoying some of the best views I have ever seen. So quiet and relaxing, with a log burner and fresh air, I have never slept so well!

One of the best things for me was being able to take my three dogs, as so many places only take one or two dogs maximum. There was a safe garden area, which is fenced in but does not spoil any views!

Thanks Nikki and Jason! we hope to see you again very soon...x

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2014
Thank you Zoe. It was a pleasure to help you with your house hunting. Let's hope we become neighbours soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart F
Lostwithiel, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning location”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights with our dog Max.We couldn't of been more impressed with the surrounding countryside it simply is stunning with walks on your doorstep.We stayed in Bay Tree Barn and totally loved it and will certainly be returning.Nikki and Jay are two of the most genuinely kind people we have had the pleasure to meet nothing was to much trouble.We had a meal cooked 1 night by Nikki which she then kindly brings over to you and was extremely tasty and highly recommended.We even invited them over for a drink which they kindly excepted and we felt like we were in the company of friends we had known for years.Thankyou both very much for making us feel so welcome we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
We are very blessed to have the view that we do, and we're delighted to be able to share it with our lovely guests. Hoping you'll return for more R&R!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
from_nort...
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you for a great break, great food and great location”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just wanted to say ‘Thank you’ for allowing us to stay in Bay Tree with the dogs this weekend. We all had a lovely time. It’s rare to find somewhere you can stay with four dogs, especially when it includes 2x 4 month old Border Terrier puppies, and an elderly arthritic Lab ! They were definitely welcomed and not just tolerated. Sometimes ‘dogs allowed’ means we’ve had to accept the standard or location of a property is compromised or not ideal, yours excels in both those areas with stunning views included. It was a big bonus to have ‘fine dining’ brought to our door on Friday and have a night off cooking without leaving the cottage and especially the wood burner.
We look forward to returning in the future to explore this beautiful area more and work our way through your delicious menu !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2014
Thanks for Liz for highlighting that we really are dog friendly, not just dog tolerant. As always, nothing makes us happier than knowing our guests and their dogs have had a great time - apart from a 5* review of TripAdvisor of course! Looking forward to having you back already :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great short break with dogs”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a 4 day break and had an excellent time. Baytree Barn was very cosy and comfortable. Slept like logs which may have been due to the fresh mountain air or the comfy bed. Log burner was great additional to the efficient central heating.

Nikki cooked the meal on our wedding anniversary which meant all we had to do was open the champagne........ Bonus!

Partner and dogs loved the walks in nearby Brechfa Forest. Great place to get away from it all in excellent accommodation. We've decided that we'll be back again ..... this time with some friends who will enjoy it too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Many thanks Kim. Lovely that you chose to spend your anniversary with us and glad to hear you'll be back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic dog friendly walker friendly active accommodation base!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Absolutely fantastic place! Will definitely be returning as well as recommending to everyone we know! Walks are brilliant around the barns as well as further afield. Can't wait to come back and sample Nikki's cooking everyone raves about and take Jason up on his offer for a guided mountain bike ride!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2014
Yay! Thanks Sarah - food and mountain biking await you next time then! Thanks for recommending us too - most appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing