We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful easter break”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
231 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 231 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mapes1
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful easter break”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We arrived back home today after an absolutely wonderful 4 night break in the Hay Barn. There was 4 adults (Nanny and Grandad, Mum and Dad) and 2 children and our 2 little cavachons, Arlo and Buddy. We were made to feel so welcome! The cottage was kitted out with absolutely everything you coud think of so we settled straight in. We had a beautiful meal cooked by Nikki on our arrival night - it was so delicious and perfect after travelling for almost 4 hours. We then went out and about visiting beaches and going for lovely walks in the Brechfa forest. Finally on our last night we booked the bbq hut and this ended the holiday so perfectly - we loved the experience of cooking all the food and toasting our marshmallows whilst having a bottle of wine or two, lots of singing and laughing. Thank you so much Nikki and Jason for being so helpful and for giving us such a wonderful holiday. We can't wait to return soon and are missing those beautiful views and sheep already!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Brilliant. Thrilled to bits that you love it here as much as we do. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamiemc20...
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best break with our Dogs”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just came back from prefect 5 day break. Very dog friendly and room for 2 adults & 2 boxer dogs. Great places to walk your dogs in the forest or 40mins to the beach. Nikki home made food was great. We will be back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Brilliant! Thrilled you enjoyed your stay in The Old Bike Shed. Hope to see you again next year then :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina6443
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect! Didn't want to leave.....”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just returned from 3 nights in The Hay Barn with our two Beagles. It's a lovely cosy rustic barn which is very comfortable, views to die for and has absolutely everything you need, the only downside is having to leave!

Nikki cooked for us while we were there and her food was gorgeous, we spent most evenings wondering how we possibly managed to eat it all! The portions are very generous!

Our favourite walk was at Pembury Country Park which is definitely worth the drive, the Beagles loved it! But if you want to stay closer to home there are miles of walks in the forest, and Nikki is on hand if you have any questions, however the folder in the cottage pretty much answers every question you could have.

Will definitely be recommending to all of my friends, although they are already pretty much fully booked so not sure I want anyone else to find out about them :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Ahhhh, lovely review Nina! Delighted you and the Beagles enjoyed. Thanks for recommending us to your friends and we hope to see you back here soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahDoe...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, dog friendly and perfect country escape!”
Reviewed March 31, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was our first trip away with our rescue greythound Cody and it was even better than we could have imagined. We stayed in the Old Bike Shed and were not dissapointed. It was beautifully decorated, well equipped (with even a game of scrabble for those evenings in), cosy and homely.

We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and a night in the BBQ hut just a minutes walk from our accommodation was romantic and the food was more than we could eat (apart from the galaxy banana pudding - we devoured that!) The BBQ hut even had fairly lights and reindeer skins creating such a magical setting. There was also the option for home cooked meals delivered to the door and very friendly hosts, it really was an enjoyable trip away. Nikki had also put together a folder with all of the information you might need, including postcodes for local walks, beaches and dog friendly pubs.

There were beautiful woodland walks just a stones throw away and dog friendly beaches nearby. We were spoilt for choice! Even on those wet days we still had a fabulous time and are already thinking about booking to go back.

I would definately recommend a stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2017
Fabulous review! Thanks a million Hannah. We hope to see you and Cody again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jemiles20...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best doggie break!”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed in The Bike Shed for four nights with both of our doggies. Nikki was there on our arrival to show us how everything worked in our accommodation and to give us tips on places to go with our doggies. The was also a brilliant guide which provided us with all the information you could possibly think of! From local walks, places to eat which are dog friendly to lovely beaches. This is such a special place and I am sure we will visit again! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us Jo. We're thrilled you loved your stay in The Old Bike Shed. Great to hear the info pack provided for guests works just as we hope. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersjil...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed March 9, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had an amazing time staying in the Old Bike Shed. We spent 4 days in the most amazing setting. The Bike Shed is lovely, well equipped and decorated to a high standard and just feels so warm and cosy. A lot of thought has been put into everything. The brochure has all you need to know. Good dog friendly pubs, lovely beaches just 30 minutes away and beautiful walks on your doorstep. We had snow, rain, gales and sun, we walked for miles and it was just wonderful as we would look forward to returning to the Bike Shed and sampling Nikki's yummy food. So good. We will be back. Highly recommended.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2017
Ahhh - so kind to leave this lovely review for us Jill. We're sure future guests will find it helpful too. Look forward to having you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howells29
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage in stunning countryside...and dog friendly!”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful relaxing break in Bay Tree Barn with our 3 dogs.
I was in real need of a relaxing break from the stresses of work and this was just the ticket.
After walking and mountain biking on quiet beaches and in lovely forests we all read and relaxed in front of the lovely log burner in the cozy cottage.
Humans and dogs all had a really lovely break and were reluctant to come back home.
Thank you Nikki, Jay and the Beagles! X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Yippee! A lovely review despite the shocking weather that Storm Doris presented! Thank you for choosing us for your holiday :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing