We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great weekend mountain biking, eating and...”
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks Cadair Idris - just one of the many guiding options available at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
144 reviews
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Cadair Idris - just one of the many guiding options available at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
MudTrek accommodation
Transportation to and from your guided rides at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Groups welcome at at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Amazing riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Doethie Valley - just one of the many guiding options available at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Ride from the door! - one of the many guiding options available at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Bring your own bike or hire from our fleet at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great guiding from the door at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Beautiful views from the accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Incredible riding options at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Fantastic food at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Fantastic food at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Fantastic food at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Epic riding at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Good times at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks!
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Good times at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks!
Chalet girl service at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Fantastic off piste guided rides at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
Great accommodation at MudTrek Mountain Bike Breaks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 144 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
NickSoftl...
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great weekend mountain biking, eating and drinking!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

MudTrek deserve more than 5 out of 5!

Both Jay and Nikki made us all very welcome with great food and company. The accommodation is spot on for mountain biking and I wouldn't hesitate in going back again.

Jay's knowledge of the local area is excellent and we had two excellent rides on the Saturday and he even throws in a fairground style ride in the Land Rover too!

I'm not saying anymore as you really to try MudTrek for yourself, you will not be disappointed.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2014
Great news that you enjoyed your 1st MudTrek trip with us so much Nick. Thanks a million for the cracking review - much appreciated. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik W
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The perfect place to get away from it all”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My 3rd visit to MudTrek as a mountain biker, my partners 1st as a non-biker. As ever the welcome from Nikki and Jay was warm, friendly and relaxed and put us both immediately at ease. A true home from home, you're encouraged to relax, take your time and make yourself at home. The double rooms are spacious enough and the bunk-house comfortably slept 4. With two living/dining rooms(a party of 11, we occupied both barns) we also had enough space to spread out. Saturday brought Jays epic ride, but this time we went for a more relaxed 40km around Pembrokeshire, stunning views, challenging climbs and great descents were all included, as was the 80s music mix from DJ and ride leader Jay. A pub stop at the end was enormously welcome as was the home cooked food back at Mudtrek. My partner, a non-biker, spent the day walking, taking in the views, relaxing and just doing little in (her words) one of the most spectacular spots she's been to.
Well done Mr and Mrs Mud, you've excelled yet again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!! See you September!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil R
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful mountain biking experience and fabulous hospitality”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Nikki and Jay have created a friendly and relaxing base to enjoy mountain biking and everything else the fabulous Welsh countryside has to offer. The accomodation in the Hay Barn is beautifully presented with a warm and homely feel. Nikki's home cooked meals are absolutely delicious and are the perfect way to both start and close an energetic day on the bikes. The guided rides were a hugely enjoyable exploration of the wonderful countryside, expertly judged to our ability whilst offering plenty of challenges.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2014
Thank you sooooooo much for the smashing review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam W
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Antidote to Birthday Blues!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I booked this break for my partners 50th birthday - the said looming birthday turning him into a grumpy old man. I certainly got it right booking this as he is now a very happy man and has said it was the birthday ever! :-)

Nikki and Jay have got it all just right; the accommodation is excellent and feels very homely, Nikki's home cooked meals are delicious and knowing you don't have to cook at the end of the day was especially appreciated by me and I knew I could push myself that bit extra with the riding. And as for the mountain biking, it was superb; stunning scenery and each ride had something we had not done before so was challenging and rewarding. Jay is an excellent guider and his gentle encouragement certainly got me through the couple of times my legs wanted to stop!

And to top it all off, Nikki and Jay are a wonderful couple who make you feel very welcome; it feels like you're visiting old friends. We will definitely be going back and will recommend it to everyone. Thanks for an amazing time!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Yay! We specialize in 50th birthdays don't you know ;) What a wicked review! Thanks for your kind words and we are thrilled that you'll be returning. Don't leave it too long :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding biking in Wales!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Perfect weekend for a full stag group of 14 the accommodation was just what we needed to keep us well rested for the full day of biking! The hire bikes were well specified and allowed the large group of mixed abilitys to get straight on and enjoy the day! The guiding was tailored to suit our large group with the more able kept entertained with muddy downhill diversions and the less able given shortcuts to keep the group moving and together!

The food was fantastic with Nikki and Steph keeping everyone well fed with some amazing home cooked goodness!

Would return in a heartbeat, a beautiful part of the country showcased by the team at Mudtrek!

Thanks Nikki and Jay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2014
Yay! We love a full house here at MudTrek and you certainly gave us that Dan! Brilliant news that our set up suited your group so well and we're delighted you all had a great stag do. Hope you return - great group!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klin18
Wendover, Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another great weekend at Mudtrek”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

For three of our party it was the second time at Mudtrek and for one it was his third, so that tells you all you need to know about what a fantastic mountain bike place this is.
Really glad to say that Nikki & Jay have kept up their high standards and this trip was equal if not better than the last. Yet again they had arranged fabulous weather for us, good enough for Nikki to put on a superb barbeque after a great days riding with Jay. Stopping at the pub on the way back was a great idea Jay !!
With the new building going up which includes an indoor bike wash facility, heated bike & gear storage and repair area with a television, they are certainly not resting on their laurels.
If you are a biker or walker get a bunch of friends together and give Mudtrek a try you will definitely not be disappointed. We are already looking forward to our next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mountain biking area.
Liked least: Waiting for my mates to get out of the shower !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2014
And thank you for all being fab guests. Always a pleasure ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui C
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect mountain biking holiday”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Nikki and Jay are the perfect hosts and we were made to feel incredibly welcome the minute we arrived. The food that Nikki cooked each day was outstanding and exactly what we wanted after a day's mountain biking. Jay (and Gareth) were brilliant mountain biking guides and I loved exploring the area off the beaten track. The accommodation is also fantastic, very clean, comfortable and the perfect setting for some R&R after a long day's ride. Thank you so much Nikki and Jay. I'm already looking forward to coming back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and how welcome we were made to feel
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
And you will be most welcome! Thank you very much Jacqui :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing