We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect for a mix of everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for a mix of everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just came back from our one week stay at the Amsterdam Manor and we were totally happy with the hotel, its location and its service. If you are NOT a fan of high rise hotels and the like this is the perfect place for you. Just a 5 minute drive from the high rise hotels and all its American style restaurants and nevertheless a beautiful beach which is not too secluded.
The staff is totally friendly, the beach is clean, there are enough deckchairs (although the towel race for shady spaces in the morning is a NUISANCE).
In the eventing the beach turns into an exclusive restaurant ON the beach (which we haven't tried).
The hotel is clean and breakfast is perfectly ok with everything you need for a nice start into the day.
If you are a weak sleeper, you should however bring earplugs, since some nights the streets between the hotel and the beach becomes rather busy and loud.
So - feel free to enjoy this feel good hotel just the way we did.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FancyTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,469
    448
    110
    50
    28
See reviews for
420
1,275
46
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel in March and had a great time! First of all, we were very happy with our room; we had a standard room in the C-block (C12) and it was absolutely fine - plenty of room for us, a little kitchen with everything we needed, and a small balcony with a view of the ocean. I read a lot of comments here on TA about the airconditioning in the C-block, but we experienced no problems with the airconditioning whatever: no condensation or cold or anything like that. The dehumidifier was quite loud, and we would simply switch it off whenever we were in the room and switch it on again when we went out. We usually kept the AC on at night, but sometimes switched it off when it wasn't too hot and we had the balcony doors open. No problem!
We were also very happy with housekeeping - service was excellent, we asked the housekeeper to always come in the morning and she did, and she kept the room spotless. Great job!
We never actually used the hotel pool, although it was always quiet there at the time of our stay - we simply preferred the ocean! Never had any problems getting a place at the beach, although the palapas were usually taken by the time we went to the beach in the afternoon. But there were always chairs and palm trees available - really a non-issue for us. We had dinner once at Passions; much recommended, if only for the ambiance. It's just so wonderful to sit with your feet in the soft sand, right next to the ocean, and watch the sun go down... But the food and the service were great as well.
We also tried Mango's for dinner on our first night, but were less impressed. Service was fast and friendly, but the food wasn't that great. And the one thing I wouldn't recommend at Amsterdam Manor is breakfast; we tried it twice, and both times service, while friendly, was slow and chaotic: the first time my husband waited about half an hour for his pancakes, the second time we had to wait half an hour to get our check. And we saw lots of people waiting to get their tables cleared, etc. It just all seemed really badly organized. Also, the buffet itself is nothing to write home about. Fortunately we didn't have breakfast included, so after our second try we would just take the bus to the highrise section (very convenient BTW, the bus stops right in front of the hotel, and goes every 10 to 15 minutes) and have breakfast at the Rembrandt café opposite the Hyatt in the highrise section: tasty, fast and at half the price.
But breakfast apart, we had a great time at the Amsterdam Manor, and we're already thinking about our next visit to Aruba and to Amsterdam Manor!

Room Tip: Try a room in the C-block on the second or third floor: away from the pool and the main hub of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mascha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura817, Director of Sales at Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a great time with us. Just after you left we introduced our new breakfast station with freshly prepared eggs any style, waffles, French toast, egg salad, smoothies and much more. We hope to welcome you again at our resort so that you can enjoy our new breakfast options without waiting lines anymore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Have stayed at the Amsterdam Manor twice the service and staff are first rate the Hotel and accomodations are excellent and both Mango's and Passions restaurant offer great meals, excellent service and great company... The atmosphere and staff will make you want to return.. again and again..

Room Tip: The pool side rooms are outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cptsned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed 7 nights at the Amsterdam Manor resort in Aruba. We booked through United Vacations, which included airfare and hotel transfers via DePalm Tours bus. The price ended up being somewhat cheaper than booking separately, even with the 30% or 40% discount offer posted on the hotel website. There are 5 of us, including kids ages 13, 11 and 6 years. We selected the Amsterdam based on TripAdvisor reviews and the availability of a 2-bedroom suite that had 4 total beds including the sofabed. This arrangement allows all of us to get some sleep with minimal feuding.

Our room was ready when we arrived around 3pm. The room did not disappoint. It was much like a 2-bedroom Homewood Suites in the USA, but with a view of the ocean from the deck! Everything was clean and well maintained. The kitchenette has everything but a dishwasher and was very handy for quick meals, especially if you have picky kids. The beds were surprisingly comfortable for us, as neither my wife nor I got a back ache that we sometimes get at extended stays in some hotels. There is a lot of space between the main room, deck and bedrooms for everyone to spread out. The main bath has a shower, the master bath has a deep hot tub with shower also.

We had room 205, which is an end unit that is set back a bit from the road near Mangos restaurant. That means a little less potential noise from neighbors, though we never heard a sound from the family next to us that had a small baby. There was also no noise at all from traffic. We had a nice view of the Tuesday evening local dance performance, too. Our deck had a distant view of the ocean, over the hotel patio, road and palm trees. The deck walls are high and solid on the second floor, so you definitely need to be standing to enjoy the view.

Though I'd love to say we didn't touch an electronic device while we were in Aruba, there was a TV in each room with a good selection of channels that had the same networks the kids enjoy for when we were in the room (like the "sunburn day"). There is also free wi-fi along with a few computers for public use near the front desk.

The pool is rather small in size, but clean and well maintained. There's a great pook deck bar right above it with a very friendly bartender, Peter. There is also an in-pool bar, but we never observed it to be open. You do have to cross the street to get to the hotel's beach access. It's really not an issue, unless you insist on having walk-out access right to the water. There were plenty of umbrellas available at all times we went to the beach. Be warned that the thatch tops of the palapas don't completely block the sun- I got a minor burn on my shins and top of my feet thinking it was shade...

I was concerned about some comments here about cruise traffic filling up the beach here, but we must have had good timing. This end of Eagle Beach was relatively quiet and definitely not crowded. The beach itself is excellent. It is clean, wide and has powdery white sand. The water is relatively calm and clear and great for swimming, but not much for snorkeling. I know TripAdvisor recently rated it the #2 beach in the world and that does not surprise me. The beach bar on the property serves up decent beverages, though at above average prices.

Another complaint I read in reviews here was about the sewage smell. I noticed this only a few times, but it was very faint. It must depend on the wind. To be fair, I also noticed it a few times elsewhere in the Palm/Eagle beach area. I also notice it in other cities, including along the magnificent mile in Chicago, so not a big deal especially since it was not overpowering or constant. Some have complained about the air conditioning. Ours worked quite well, though it took a day or two to get it to where it was just right and not too cold or too warm.

Service was very good at the front desk and the two bars. The concierge, Mayra, was very helpful. Restaurant staff was also very friendly, especially servers Juan and Cherie-Ann who each helped us a few times at Mango's, the beach bar and pool bar. No complaints at all about anyone working at the resort. It is very well maintained. I noted staff frequently cleaning public areas, painting, spraying for bugs, etc. Speaking of bugs, we never had a single complaint and it was nice to have a mosquito-free vacation for a change. Perhaps it is a seasonal issue, based on some other comments.

We stayed in Aruba once previously before kids, almost 15 years ago for an eclipse. I recall staying in one of the major chain hi-rise hotels on Palm Beach, but can't remember which one. That area is definitely more convenient for shopping and dining and some of the resorts have a lot more to offer for activities, too. This is definitely a quieter hotel in the low rise section and you will likely be taking the bus ($2.30 round trip) or taxi ($8 to $10) to get to Palm Beach or Oranjestad. The Cabana resort next door had a few restaurants and larger market store and more of a party atmosphere. There was an independent activity provider at the beach with waverunners and perhaps other activities, but we did not try them.

I'll rate the restaurants separately and not include them in my rating here. They were generally good compared to most hotel restaurants, but not necessarily better than other area restaurants. Room service, however, was very limited in selection and typical of hotel food. Both were rather expensive, even moreso once you include the mandatory 15% service charge plus an additional tip expected for the waiter or waitress.

Overall, it was exactly as I expected from TripAdvisor reviews and exactly what we wanted for a family vacation. Some trips with three kids seem to drag on. This one went by very quickly, in part due to the great accomodations. The kids enjoyed the trip, the resort lived up to all expectations so I give it 5-stars.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites are very nice, especially if you have a few kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank darrenq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The accomdations were very nice in our two bedroom suite. We booked a one bedroom but were upgraded at no cost when we arrived. We also requested early check-in because we arrived at noon and they were able to accomodate that. The beach accross the street is very easy to walk to, its almost like you are staying right on the beach. We were a little annoyed by all the people who go over to the beach in the morning to save chairs but we still found that there were spots available. The pool area is very nice as well. We ate a passions, which was great for dinner and lunch. Mango's breakfast is a bit pricey but otherwise very nice. Mango's dinner menu is nice and the food is excellent. If I book another trip to Aruba, I will stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Massachusetts07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Verry nice service at the hotel and verry good food in the restaurangs.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKLINNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We enjoyed Amserdam Manor and especially being on Eagle Beach which is the best.We liked our room and it was on 1st floor facing water.The office staff was great-Jean at the desk was very polite and we did find a bottle of champagne in our room as it was our 35th anniversary.Myra the concierge was helpful in making suggestions for restaurants and things to do.She made all our reservations.Napolitean greeted us with a beautiful smile and a welcoming drink and was efficient bringing luggage to our room.Peter was very friendly at the bar on the outside desk.Played great music and he made great drinks.Loved Passions Restaurant on the beach.Tables in the sand, torches on as the sunset,food was very good, and Eleanora and Miriam were very efficient with their food service.Liked outdoor bar on the beach-remember Lucy's name and forgot the other staff names but all were great with service and drinks.Thanks again for a wonderful time.Liked the ease of transfer to and from airport from the hotel through DePalms.Enjoyed snorkeling tour on catamaran.Great trip!

Room Tip: Found our room quiet and it was on 1st floor and facing the water.Liked that there was small kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kroy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
3.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
3.2 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,246 reviews
2.2 km away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
4.2 km away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort

Property: Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 252 | PO Box 1302, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive you'll feel the difference. Dutch colonial-style architecture and a Caribbean flair make the Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort a special place.....A small hideaway with the luxuries of a large resort, located on a premier beach, Eagle Beach. Warm, friendly personalized service, fine facilities and amenities create an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Hotel Amsterdam Manor Beach
Amsterdam Manor Aruba
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing