We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and lovely food. right next to a goreous beach would return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2017

we were very impressed with this hotel and its location, food was excellant and the take away food bar was always topped with prepacked sandwiches and fruit, the drinks were top brands and bar service was very good too, the beach was cleaned daily and the sun lounger staff worked hard all day making sure everyone had a lounger, the local bus was reliable and very cheap. we got a bus to the lighthouse and walked back along the beach, u,s dollars accepted every where,

Room Tip: high level side rooms have great views of the beach and towards the inland too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 6,492 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

Very nice hotel although the room is a bit dated. Buffet restaurant varied with a wide choice of food, excellent. Wonderful beach, hotel only let down by very poor evening entertainment that was repeated the second week. Shame they could not have got together with the sister hotel next door to change entertainment between weeks. Entertainment team did not go around pool area to ask if anyone wanted to participate in any of the scheduled games and only seemed to include those that were literally on the parimeter of the pool in the daily quiz game. Shame they could not get this right as it spoilt what would otherwise have been an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank baggi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We came here for our honeymoon and wasn't disappointed, the hotel is located in the most gorgeous beach and you can sit by the pool overlooking the sea.
We were in room 655 and although we only had a tiny balcony that you could just stand on the views of the sea were spectacular!
The only thing that let this hotel down is there is noting to do in the evening apart from sit and drink or play in the casino which is full of smoke. The entertainment shows are very poor and aren't advertised so you don't know what time they are
Apart
From this it was a fab honeymoon

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrstraceymurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We have a timeshare at the Riu and have owed it since the hotel was the Aruba Grand. We stay a week and have always been happy but this year was an extreme exception. Our timeshare was in need of repair. The plug in the bathroom was loose, the lamp in the bedroom had broken wires and had electrical tape on it, the main shower leaked and there was candy on the floor behind the couch in the bedroom. We reported this and none of it was taken care of.

Due to hurricane Irma we had to extend our stay and there was no room in our timeshare so we had to find another hotel. We usually fly out in the morning but this time we were flying out in the evening. Upon checkout they cut off our all inclusive wrist band and gave us a food voucher. I asked the girl at the desk how long it was good for and she said 10:00 p.m. that night. As I mentioned we never stay late so I took her word that she knew the policy. When we arrived for dinner we were told that we could not eat and that the voucher was only good for lunch. I explained what the girl at the desk told me and then the man at the door went to talk to someone else. The came back and said we could not use it and we would have to go see a manager to get it taken care of.

We went to see the manager, Jonathan and explained the situation to him. He said the girl was wrong and asked her name. I told him I didn't get her name when we checked out because I didn't think I needed it. He argued with me that the certificate was not good. I told him I have been coming here for 10 years and I would not make that up. He said "I'll take care of it." Then he ripped up the certificates up in front of us and said "There, now it's taken care of." I was furious over the way we were treated. If we were mislead then he could have told us that we could pay to eat or let us eat because of the misleading information but he was very rude.

The previous manager, Richard always tried to make things right with the customers but the new manager could give a care!!

Too bad I am stuck with the timeshare!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We regret to read that there have been some issues in your room and our team did not react to your satisfaction which certainly does not represent the usual high standard of service that we offer our guests. In fact, we can assure you that our maintenance team is working very hard in order to fix all problems as fast as possible.

We have been informed by our hotel management that our policy regarding the food voucher (only for lunch after checkout for clients whose flight departs later) was appropriately explained at our Front Desk. We are disappointed to learn that you did not agree with our policy regarding this matter.

We hope to see you again in RIU so that you can enjoy the quality, service and attention that define our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palace Aruba
Online Reputation Manager
RIU.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

TLDR: Beach and Pools are beautiful but kids are annoying at pool. Food not bad for all inclusive, alcohol selection is standard. Excellent location and views. I'd go back but may try non all inclusive next time.

My wife and I stayed here the last week of July for our honeymoon. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Aruba. The food is probably the best I've had on an all inclusive, but it is still all inclusive food. The buffet is probably the best restaurant as it features some dishes from the specialty restaurants and has theme nights as well. As far as the drinks go they have a limited amount of drinks they make and it is mostly lower shelf liquors. The beer is all the local Balashi beer which I got tired of after a few days. But once again these are typical of most all inclusive resorts and would not stop me from returning. The resort is located in the "high rise" section of town which features many great restaurants, bars, and shops easily within walking distance. We ate off the resort 2 of the nights and the food was moderately priced. The food is definitely better off the resort so I may consider trying a non all inclusive next time to see which I prefer. The beach is amazing and the attendants on the beach are more than willing to pull chairs up for you and create a spot. The other reviews that mention the spot reserving early in the morning is true however this didn't bother us because we didn't care to have a palapa. The only negative to the beach is that there is no drink service. The pools are beautiful however if you are traveling without kids it can be a bit annoying. Parents seemed to freely let young children roam around without supervision. One suggestion would be making the pool bar area adults only but I'm sure that will never happen. The adult only resort next door was nice to relax at but it seemed as if they don't keep it as clean as the family resort. If pools are what you are looking for I think the Riu has the best on that strip. You can walk on a path along the beach to check out the other hotels and the Riu definitely has the largest facilities. Overall I liked the resort and I would stay again. But as stated earlier I may try a non all inclusive next time.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Rjraybuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We chose the Riu Palace Aruba having previously stayed at the Riu Palace Jamaica and were not disappointed. This hotel is set up and operated on a similar model with first come first serve in the a la carte restaurants but we never had any problem getting into any restaurants - you just have to schedule your visits to avoid the rush hour around 7:30pm
For us this hotel offers high standards of service, food, and general cleanliness and certainly approaches a 5 star rating. Every where we went at the Riu the staff went over and above expectations to make our memorable.
There was 24 hour availability for food and drinks via the sports bar for those that could not sleep and we certainly made use of this for a few late nights when things were flowing. Tip: some branded drinks are held under the counter so don't be frightened to ask for your favourite tipple by name if you cannot see it.
There was entertainment in Barry's bar most nights which included a mixture of singers, dance theatre and karaoke - but we prefer to be entertained so there was a little too much of the latter for us.
The pool area, rooms and whole grounds are immaculate and very well maintained as is the local beach area. There are more than sufficient sunbeds on the beach and around the pool if guests only leave towels when they are using the beds. There was an element of reserving beds early in the morning but there were still beds available at 9:00am albeit without umbrellas..
Security was visible at all times and it felt very safe - we did not see or heard of any incidents during our stay.
Food in the a la carte restaurants was good but to be honest the food in the buffet was every bit as good with great quality and variety.
We did use the Riu Palace Antilles next door for a changes of scenery but we felt that the RP Aruba was the better of the two on balance.
Snorkel and watersport equipment was availble for free use and we managed to get some great underwater photos of fish just 30 metres off the beach.
There was a very talented pianist in the main bar who played late afternoon / early evening. Our regret was that there wasn't an area where this could continue into the later evening. Unfortunately the entertainment in Barry's bar was nearby and loud and hence would drown out the pianist.
Staff were very responsive, provided great service and did not expect to get tips all the time as experienced in other Carribean resorts. Accordingly when we gave tips these were well appreciated.
You can take a walk down to the local shopping mall and restaurants which comes to life at night. They are worth a visit if only for a changes of scenery but the shops probably offer more choice for buying souvenirs than you get in Oranjestadd. The area is busy with tourists and is very safe for walking.
In summary we had two great weeks stay at the Aruba, felt it was great value for money, and would certainly recommend this for families or couples.
Our sincere thanks once again to the management andstaff at the RP Aruba.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view as these also give a partial sea view & a room in the block on opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Being 10 days into our 14 day stay I thought I would write this
review whilst everything was fresh in my mind and we are still
in the hotel.
Recommended by a friend this has been one of our best beach
holidays to date. Bearing in mind we have stayed at lovely
hotels all over the world I would say the RIU PALACE rates
amongst the best.
We are staying in a Junior Suite overlooking the Ocean and
Pool and the view is to die for. The room itself is spacious and
is dominated by a huge king size double bed which is
extremely comfortable.
All the staff are extremely polite,helpful and efficient,
particularly the restaurant and bar staff.
The beach is to die for with talcum powder white sand which
doesn't heat up as the sun gets hotter.
The water is wonderful for swimming and my early morning
swim when the sea is at its calmest is a treat.
The only downside is you do have to rise early if you want
a straw beach umbrella on the beach. It is what it is !!!
The pool looks great and appears popular but we are beach lovers.
The food is excellent with something for everyone's taste.
The main buffet restaurant offers a wide range of food which is excellent
supported by four a la carte restaurants run on a first come first serve
basis where we didn't have a problem getting a table.
The weather has been stunning with blue skies and temperatures in
the 30's since we arrived.
Our only negative was the evening entertainment when on most nights
the unknown Spanish songs were preferred, a well known European
song would have been better received. Made worse when on two nights
the audience provided the Karaoke on one night followed by musical chairs
the following night, a disaster !!
On a positive note the Male singer on Thursdays was excellent followed by
the casts performance of an exert from a number of West End shows like
Phantom of the Opera, Cabaret and Dirty Dancing etc
All in all a great resort which we will recommend to our friends.
Thank you RIU for a great holiday, Andrew and Sue.

PS We did indulge in a private one hours boat trip with Fun4every1 on the
beach. Our driver Joshua at only 22 was an excellent host who made
our trip a most enjoyable experience and was happy to answer our
questions about the island and about Aruba generally.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank 34primrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,958 reviews
1.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,311 reviews
1.5 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#8 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,108 reviews
0.5 km away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,774 reviews
0.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 | Palm Beach - Oranjestad - Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Aruba Grand Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: C$550 - C$1,042 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24-hour All Inclusive Hotel Riu Palace Aruba opens all year round and is located directly on the beautiful Palm Beach. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Aruba Airport (10 km) and Oranjestad (11 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 450 cozily furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa, or get in shape at the fitness center. 2 outdoor pools, 1 children's pool. Day and evening entertainment, as well as our discotheque in the neighboring Hotel Riu Palace Antillas. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet restaurant, Japanese and Italian, Fusion restaurants and Steakhouse, as well as 5 bars and our Capuchino patisserie & ice cream parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, West Indies, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Riu Aruba
Riu Palace Aruba Resort
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing