We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$509
US$339
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$325
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort(Palm - Eagle Beach)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$405
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 20/07
US$381
US$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino(Palm - Eagle Beach)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino(Palm - Eagle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba(Palm - Eagle Beach)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$599
US$509
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba(Palm - Eagle Beach)
US$638
US$579
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Aruba(Palm - Eagle Beach)
US$514
US$415
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$470/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,013)
Filter reviews
2,013 results
Traveller rating
1,092
626
181
69
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,092
626
181
69
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspure oceannew towerswim up barwasher dryer combofull bathroomsolder towerone bedroom suiteother hotelstime sharejacuzzi tubbutterfly farmtimeshare ownershigh rise hotelsgrocery storemusty smellsuper foodshappy hour
Filter
Updating list...
1,603 - 1,608 of 2,013 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We just came back from a long weekend in Aruba where we were booked at the Divi Phoenix. Based on TripAdvisor reviews, we chose this hotel. Considering the fact that we walked in, checked in and checked out all within a half hour, that should speak for itself. The property and rooms were a dump. The hallways looked like a jail house and the rooms were disgustingly dirty and rusty. And this was the new tower! I can't imagine what the other one looks like. Thank goodness we were able to change our reservation to a different hotel, or our vacation would have been wrecked (actually, I would have come home). How is it possible that others rated this hotel so high? In comparison with what!?!?! Motel 6? Never, never, never stay here.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank travelalot1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

This review is not actually accurate and does not reflect the state of our resort at Divi Aruba Phoenix. In fact, this guest was given one of the BEST suites in our nicely appointed Beach towers. These towers are ONLY 3 years old. As proud recipients of RCI’s 2011-2012 Gold Crown Award and AAA’s 3Diamond Award for 2011-2012, we consistently maintain high standards of cleanliness, property upkeep and customer service. Our lobby, corridors, restaurants, pools and specially our guest suites are very clean and properly maintained as you can see by the many other comments and pictures that other guest have placed in your prestigious site.

Let it also be known that we learned that the guests only saw their unit and did not want to see any other rooms even though our front office staff offered to show them other rooms. They just kept trying to get out of their reservation. Turns out, they were traveling with another couple that had booked reservations at a different hotel and the guests really wanted to stay with them and thus wanted to cancel their reservation. Guests did not want to incur any late cancellation penalties, so the review was actually over them having to pay these late cancellation fees.

The staff here at Divi Aruba Phoenix is disappointed that they guests chose not to stay with us. We had wished they would have stayed so that they could show them how nice our resort is compared to all of the others here in Aruba. We hope they'll give us a chance next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed at the Divi Phoenix from April 14 - 21. It was my first trip to Aruba, and I loved it! The weather was perfect - hot and sunny with cool breezes. This was my boyfriend's third time staying at a Divi property (but first for the Phoenix). Despite the nice location, it was definitely his least favorite Divi resort. There were a lot of flaws, and while I'm definitely returning to Aruba, I won't stay at the Phoenix. A few pros and cons:

Pros
- Location. Not only is the Divi right on Palm Beach, but it's one of the nicer beaches in the high-rise section. The water is protected by two jetties, so you have your own swimming cove. The water doesn't get as crowded as it does on some of the other beaches along Palm Beach.

There are many restaurants/bars within walking distance of the Divi. Go to Bugaloe Bar! It's near the Radisson, and quickly became our favorite place on the trip. Great burgers and happy hour specials, fun atmosphere, super-friendly staff and live bands. Try the Bugaloe - it's basically a frozen mimosa with rum and a sangria float.

-Lobby. This sounds silly, but I needed to add something else since the con list is so long. There is a gift shop/sundry shop which isn't terribly priced (except for the beer - $30 for a 6-pack!). Check-in went smooth.

Cons

- The room. Granted, we did get a room in the older tower. It smelled moldy and there were odd stains on the bed. There was actually a maintenance man leaving the room as we unlocked the door. The elevators were slow and usually filled with housekeeping toting around dirty towels so we couldn't get in. We ended up using the stairs a lot - from the 5th floor. Good thing we're in shape.

- The restaurant. Do not eat or drink here. Pure Beach is beautiful, but I had to laugh daily at the photo of the tuna steak they advertise, which is a perfect pink. I ordered it and it was a strange gray color - not even edible. The service is painfully slow - you can't get a drink even if you sit right at the bar. And forget about the swim-up bar - the stools are a play area for kids. Every single day.

- The Beach Bar/Sunset Grille. If you're looking for a place to have a tropical drink by the beach, forget about it. We learned on the last day to make margaritas in the room and bring them to the beach in a pitcher. There is a beach bar which is closed (except for Bingo at 2), and when we tried getting drinks at the Sunset Grille's bar (that had drink menus) on three different occasions, we were told to go to the other bar at Pure Beach.

- Beach. It's hard to find space on the beach, and yes, everyone gets up at 6 a.m. and reserves a beach chair/hut. It's annoying because there would be more than enough for everyone if this didn't happen. Even though most are reserved, they stay empty for most of the day! We managed to get one on our very last day and it was great.

- Internet access. There is no free wi-fi, which really stinks. I checked out other hotels/resorts along the high-rise area, and many offer free wi-fi. If you want to pay for it, you can't just add it on to your room - you have to access a third-party site and give them your billing details. There is an internet cafe which we used to check out flights/email, but you have to buy an access code at the front counter.

Bottom line: I can’t wait to return to Aruba, but there are many hotels and resorts checking out before the Divi Phoenix!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank beckibb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The site is perfect. At the end of the Palm/Eagle Beach boardwalk, the beach is busy but never crowded. Always space in the shade whether it's under a Palapa or Palm trees with lots of beautiful beach to enjoy. Great for families as the water is shallow throughout the designated swimming area. If the beach isn't your thing, there are numerous freshwater pools to enjoy and several hottubs for relaxing including a swimup bar in the main pool. The restaurants are great and reasonably priced, snack/ice cream bar accessible until 11pm. If you want more choice, you can easily walk up the road or cab up to the shopping zone by the other high rise hotels for many more restaurant and shopping options. Due the course of development, the rooms vary between buildings but all are nicely decorated and comfortable the nicest of course being in the new Beach towers although we enjoyed our rooms in the beach villas as well being close to the beach. Highrise rooms in the old tower were musty smelling based on our first room and reports from other guests but apparently this isn't uncommon with Aruba hotels in general as the humidity is difficult for the A/C systems to keep up with. Loved having a well equipped kitchen so preparing your own meals was easy. Beautiful lobby, nice landscaping, relaxing atmosphere. Hertz rental car desk in lobby just outside shop. Front desk staff helpful where possible. Beware though, in the lobby, there are two "concierge" desks - the one on the left is actually a DePalm Tour operator so he will not help you with anything other than booking DePalm Tours (even though this is not clearly marked). The desk on the right is the hotel concierge and they will help with making reservations for anything on the Island. The spa was fantastic and the well appointed gym was great for people wanting to work out while on holiday. Many people seemed to enjoy running or walking up and back on the boardwalk. Close cab ride to airport, grocery stores, downtown shopping, casinos and restaurant. Walk across road to Buttlefly Farm. Beware this is a time-share property so bookings not made from Saturday to Saturday may be interupted by a room change if unit owners are coming in to use their weeks which can be an annoyance.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean FRONT room as all the rooms have ocean VIEWS although some one bedroom suites only have balconies off the bedroom with no ocean view from the living room at all (-01 and -06 rooms in the old beach tower) If in the old tower, ask for -02 or -05 rooms which have two balconies (both living room and bedroom) while -03 and -04 are studio suites with balcony. All of the villa rooms had balconies facing the ocean and were nice. New towers rooms all faced ocean with nice views - ground floor rooms had walkout patios. In new Tower all one bedroom units have two bathrooms, one bedroom JR suites could connect to studio suites to make a two bedroom unit (with three bathrooms). One bedroom GRAND suites were really large one bedrooms. Some three bedroom suites available in new tower.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Aruba from 4/28 - 5/5 and stayed at the Divi Aruba Phoenix which is right on the beach. All rooms either face the ocean, pool area or both depending which room you get. Weather was perfect, the staff friendly and eager to help in any way and the bartenders by the swim up bar were outstanding. We had a studio on the 11th floor in the Tower with a wonderful view of the ocena as well as the pools.. Plenty of amenities. Bathroom was rather on the small side but plenty of towels. Studio has a full kitchen and found having a refrigerator in the room a plus since this saved some expenses if you hop over to the grocery store by taxi or car (they even deliver for a small service charge) and stock up on snacks, sodas and/or liquor,
The layout of the resort is great. It is located on the southern most point of the Palm Beach area of the high rise resorts. Pool never seemed overly crowded and if you wanted shade by the pool area there were plenty of select spots for that needed shade. If, on the other hand you wanted a shady spot along the beach, plan on getting up extra early to reserve a spot since they seem to be all taken by 6:30 AM.
My wife and I walked by the other hotels north of the Aruba Phoenix (Westin, RIU, Radisson) and the beach area seemed to be extremely crowded as well as their pools. Since the Aruba Phoenix is a timeshare type of property it leans towards an older type of crowd so there were not a lot of noise around the pool. If one wanted to, they can sit through a timeshare presentation and receive a $100 restaurant voucher.
One thing we did find out upon arrival is May 1st is Aruba's Labor Day so all the shops are closed except for local vendors selling there goods. All restaurants are open as well as all the casinos! Highyl recommend the Alhambra casino which is by the low rise resorts. Plenty of slots and table games. The slots in the high rise resorts are tight so don't expect to win,
If you are looking for a place to stay in Aruba, I would highly recommend stating at the Aruba Phoenix. It's close enough in walking distance to the shops that are directly across the street from the other high rise resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Hawkeyesfan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I just got back from Aruba (4/28-5/5/12). We own a 1 bedroom on the 13th floor in the Tower and have a breathtaking view of the ocean and beach from our bedroom. This year we had to switch weeks so we ended up on the 8th floor of the Tower and still had a beautiful view of the blue/green ocean.

We always feel like we're at our home away from home when we see Avril and she tells us how good it is to see us again. Avril is in charge of Activities at the Phoenix.

The Sunset Bistro is my favorite restaurant on the island. Monday night when we walked in Andres greeted us and led us to a table on the beach. We've known him since we bought our timeshare in 2003. Rafael,our waiter, made us feel comfortable and like family. I had the Seafood Primavera and my husband ordered the Potato Crusted Grouper Filet. Both diners were delicious and presented well by the chef. We ate our delectable food with our feet in the sand watching the sun set over the ocean. What could be better than that for a dining experience? Nothing as far as we're concerned.

The Tower (14 floors) is from an older phase, as such there are no granite counter tops or stainless steel appliances like in the new Beach Villas. But that’s not what we’re looking for on our vacation. The balcony, with awesome views and closeness of the beach (it is really just outside the door) provides us with a peaceful relaxed feeling that we’ve not found anywhere else. That being said, the age of the tower is going to start showing soon. Now would be a good time to maybe put new laminate down in the kitchen.

There is a Fitness Center on the 2nd floor of the Tower (older building). It doesn’t seem to be used by many guests, but it is large and has many pieces of equipment. Could use some maintenance – one of the belts on the same treadmill has been slipping for a couple of years now.

Room Tip: If you love granite and stainless steel appliances, the new Beach Villas are for you. If ocean views are more important, the older tower has the best views, especially on floors 9-14. We have heard about some rooms having a musty smell in the tower, so go see it first just in case.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chillinoverwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews