We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aruba Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Aruba Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Arrival in Aruba takes some time to get through Customs (2 hours in our case) so be prepared. Cab ride, while short, is expensive $40; so consider a car rental for your stay. Once we arrived at the resort we learned that our hotel room was not ready (it was 2:30 p.m. and check in time is 4:00) so we had to wait. In checking in the front desk clerk, Minerva, informed me that they don't use Marriott rewards cards that I needed a confirmation number - I was surprised as my rewards number was requested when I booked the vacation. She seemed disgusted that I had asked and never once said welcome to Aruba or Marriott Surf Club. We were able to enter one room of our suite at 4:00 and the rest of the room would not be complete until 5:00 - so that was disappointing. However the two bedroom suite was beautiful and very clean; equipped with everything! The housekeeping staff were friendly and did an excellent job for our entire stay. We were given tags for lounge chairs, which I found annoying...everyone tags the chairs in the morning and leaves them and no one can use them - must be some reason they got to this system. The resort was extremely crowed and hard to find areas to lounge at times. The kids enjoyed the lazy river despite no floats - the resort does not provide them and the shops were out of them. I spoke to several people who said they brought there own as they had been here before - that would have been nice to know. The beach front was nice, as well as, the pools. The restaurants were all in walking distance and cusine was fine and expensive. We enjoyed a snorkeling trip with Palm Tours - they did an exceptional job. The best service we had out of everywhere we went; very friendly, engaging and made sure everyone had a good time - I highly recommend them!

Room Tip: If you have a family I would highly recommend the two bedroom suite. It allows you to prepare meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fudge64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,260
    868
    263
    116
    70
See reviews for
1,227
810
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

soooo relaxing from check-in to check out !!! kuddos to management the surf club employees were best ever !!! thanks daniella your patience was so appreciated. cant wait for dec. john aloha !!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aboodyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I read a few reviews that mentioned about having to pay for housekeeping, but I received free "tidy service" daily. This is because I booked as a hotel guest via the Marriott website. The daily "tidy service" includes everything but new sheets, which honestlyis fine. Who changes their sheets everyday at home anyways?

For about an extra $7 or so per day you are able to upgrade to full service. We stayed for 1 week and did this halfway through.


By the way this is paradise, not perfect, but realistic paradise....

Marriott is king in Aruba... stay here stay here stay here

We can't wait to go back again this summer. Addicted to the surf club!

Room Tip: Ask for the main tower where registration/lobby is. It is a further walk to the beach, but closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PIttsburghTraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. James. NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We've been going to Aruba for 7 years and it's hard not to enjoy yourself. The Surf club is a large resort and really geared for young families with children. The lazy river is nice but very crowded at times. You have to wake up early to and tag your chairs by the pool. Some people are there at 5:30-6:00 waiting for there perfect chair. There were two very close to fist fights over chairs, some people need to grow up...Getting a hut on the beach is not that hard if your willing to wait in the afternoon for a hut the next day, it was actually something to look forward to and you also get to meet a lot of people that way. Or you can wake up early and wait in the morning.

The rooms were nice and having the washer/dryer in the room is great. The view was awesome, the higher the floor the better We did all our laundry before we left and had none to do when we got home, big plus.

The place is great and I would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debetta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Check in was easy and uneventful.
Front Desk staff is attentive and knows how to handle guests. You get back what you give, so be kind regardless of your travels to get there. Marriott's job is to make you feel good that you are there. For the most part, they did.
I've noticed that the staff from bellman to housekeeping is just above and beyond, but beach staff is a whole different story. Have a tip in your hand, or you won't get their attention. The beach cabana's are a nightmare, so much so, that could control your day if you let it. (unfortunately for the first 2 days it did control us). First, look for the directions in your room on how to survive the (what many called) Long Islander's aggressive attack on chairs and cabanas at the pool and beach. There were teams of families who obtained duplicate sets of chair tags in order to reserve seats by the pool AND the beach. It appeared to be their mission in life to to get a cabana AND a poolside chair, You must be in line at 6:15-6:30 each morning to reserve a cabana (no charge) for the next day or two. I was there at 6:30 the first two mornings then gave up when we realized that arriving at 6:30 on a holiday week got you a chair that, while sitting in it, you could not see the water/ocean. The high end dinners (Ruths Chris) were just that, high end. The low end (poolside cafe') were a joke. Plan on 20 to 30 minutes of slow paced, lazy help just to have your order taken...These servers wouldn't know how to multi task if their life depended on it. For those who respond that "that's just Aruba being Aruba", it doesn't apply. There's such a thing as being relaxed, an another as being just plain ridiculous.

Know this.... If you go here, you are just a number in a crowd of guests in a city called Marriot. The walk from your ocenview would be 10 minutes or more to your chair. I would not return to this property, or any other Marriott property in this complex. The beach was crowded, water was crowded, chair situation was overwhelming, and I didn't feel relaxed. I enjoyed the family I was with which made everything else bearable. Consider another brand if you want a quiet relaxing vacation in Aruba. The Radisson looked great, the Westin looked terrific. Make sure you venture off property of you stay here. The rest of the Island has a great deal to offer. Baby Beach was worth the 15 minute drive, natural bridge was a bit anticlimactic, but beautiful. CA lighthouse was nothing compared to what we have on the east coast of New England. This was my 4th trip to Aruba....My next trip will be back to St Maartin, or Barbados. I live in MA which is known as taxachusetts.... Aruba takes the cake on taxes and fees. 21.9% taxes on rooms, and all sorts of mandatory energy fees. The price you see is not the price you pay. Plan on your vacation being 130% of the rates that show up on your reservation confirmations. From cars to hotels, to dinners (mandatory 15% service fee added to all dinners) yet servers insist they only see a fraction of that. On all dining checks the 15% is added, they a line is provided for a "tip".

I hope, and ask that my review won't be edited, deleted, or unfairly judged because of my Long Island comment. Call a spade a spade. There is a very heavy concentration of Long Island in this hotel. There is a Long Island type personality, just as there is a southern US, or northeastern persona. No disrespect was intended. Just an accurate reflection of what you will encounter here.

Room Tip: Facing the pool and ocean is a great choice. High floors are great, but increase time to beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BostonDaveQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is our 3rd visit to aruba but our first time staying at both the surf club and the high rise section of the beach. check in took forever! we are well versed in Aruba time but this was very long. We had a 2 bedroom unit in building 7 5th floor our balcony overlooked the entrance to lazy river below. The room was clean and kitchen was large ,furniture was carribean nothing special but enoough for everyone to hang out. king bed was great. balcony was small but could see the ocean and sunrise was nice to watch we could sit out but very tight for 4. The hotel was packed with families.so the beach pool and lazy river was teeming. we have 2 kids 13-14 so we are not anti kid by any means but it was the first time in all our travels we have encountered such rude people. I am not sure if it was just coincidence or if a large majority of people who stayed at this marriots feel they should be anymore important than other folks at resort. but they did not wait for anything let their children run the halls until after 11pm at night everynight and hang out in lobby unsupervised.
they have a card system for the loung chairs so you can reserve a lounge if you go down by 7 am and tag your chairs. they tell you that you may not leave them once tagged for more than 2 hours without occupying them but this was not enforced, their seemed to be a fair number of chairs available though. The beach was packed and you have to pay for the huts 15 dollars perday for front row 10 for 2nd row but we never really stayed on beach as the huts are so close and so numbered add this to the huge and I mean huge number of lounge chairs inbetween huts you cant walk and so smoky as well. They roped off swimming area beside the dock is very small and almost slimy under your feet.

we only stayed 1 week here and our other 2 weeks we were at the divi in the low rise area not comparison for the beach for sure.The lazy river was our saving grace, we spent almost every day sitting beside the river or floating around. Take your own floaty or 15 dollars per tube to buy them they do have an air pump and its kinda fun to listen to have many people blow up their tubes too!

It is close enough to walk to the mall and restaurants downtown and they have a watershow with lights in the mall each night, but we had most meals in our room. It was very convient to go back and forth to room took us about 5 mins from lazy river to room.
we rent a car so we could go to the beaches elsewhere but those stuck in resort will be disapointed with the beach access for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddogcrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

After 2 good experiences at the Stellaris, we moved next door to the Surf Club. We were upgraded to a jr suite, which was sweet. Very clean, comfortable beds and a view of the ocean. Nice touch on the adult-only pool and hot tub. The palapas are also cheaper here v. the Stellaris. Easy cab to the best restaurants.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms often have an ocean veiw as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TD19107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.6 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.3 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Property: Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing