We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Nearby Hotels
US$349
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino(Palm - Eagle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$209
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino(Palm - Eagle Beach)
US$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort(Palm - Eagle Beach)
US$268
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino(Palm - Eagle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba(Palm - Eagle Beach)
US$919
US$569
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$363
US$341
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,963)
Filter reviews
2,963 results
Traveller rating
1,463
982
314
127
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,463
982
314
127
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverchair tagsspyglass towerserenity poolcaptain's galleychair taggingbedroom villaocean club next doorpool chairstime sharefull kitchenmarriott hotelwasher and dryergrocery storeocean viewbaby beachqueen bed
Filter
Updating list...
2,066 - 2,071 of 2,963 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We have visited this resort in the shoulder season, and just went back during high season with 8 people and had a great time.(all in a two bedroom) The resort is in a nice location with every amenity at or near the resort. Some of the other reviews are accurate about the amount of people and the chairs. If your visiting for peace and quiet, I would suggest looking elsewhere but if you have kids that want to have a great time, you have found your location. Finally, my only complaint was the wait time at the front desk, it seemed as if everything took forever, I think they need more staff during the week to help with issues other than check in/check out.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Marriott is very nice, as usual. Pool was excellent, drinks were great too, didn;t seemed watered down at all. Only gripe and a big one. If you like laying in your chairs from 5AM to 7AM to tag them, then be back down there by 9AM or security takes them off, then this is the place for you. Never before have I thought on a vacation I'd have to get up at 5 or 6 AM to go tag my pool chairs for 3 to 4 hours later. Terrible system. Maybe get more chairs?

Overcrowded, people on top of you the entire time. Like I said great place, beautiful, just over crowded and the alarm clock thing was a real dissappointment.....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CLPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Just got back from the Surf Club on March 25th, 2012 and it was a very nice experience. Rooms were spacious, very clean (although I brought my Buggybeds traps just in case, but found no bed bugs). Nice balcony off of the rooms, wi-fi worked perfect for my Kindle at the pool and since we had rooms right above the pool (2nd floor), wi-fi worked in our rooms rather than connecting to an Ethernet cable.

Had a 5 minute downpours a few days but within minutes, the sun was out. Very breezy, never felt the heat (80 degrees every day), which was not good for detecting sunburn. Bring sunscreen.

Restaurants are plentiful within walking distance, i.e. Captain’s Galley, Ruth’s Chris, Hadicuari, some place a little more expensive than others.

Pool area requires wristbands now so that Ocean Club residents don’t overcrowd the Surf Club which made it very easy to find chairs at the pool. We received pool tags so that we could go down to the pool area in the morning (7am) to select/reserve our chairs, we tagged them and were down at the pool within the 2 hour time limit (although I didn’t see anyone checking to see if anyone abused the “chair tagging”)….The wristbands also keep the Lazy River pool less crowded.

Staff could not have been more helpful. They made dinner reservations for us when we went offsite. Daily activities for kids (and adults), bingo, karaoke, beauticians for cornrows, watermelon eating contest, things like that. Mini-market inside the hotel was great for getting coffee, morning bagels, cheese/crackers, snacks, liquors and other items required for relaxing. They us American dollars….Grocery stores are a little expensive.

The Jolly Roger boat for snorkeling is just off the beach. We rented a car although we really didn’t need one. Taxis would have been adequate. It took us a little over 2 hours from the time we left the hotel, got to the airport, returned our car, and got through security, so plan accordingly. The line for the initial checking in (if you have bags to check) is quite long, about 45 minutes.

Room Tip: If you have more than one computer, ask for a room by the pool, wi-fi works great in the rooms rather than connecting to the ethernet cables.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda75643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We've owned at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club since 2005 and travel there one or two times per year. Our unit is a spacious three bedroom/three bath...it can be "locked off" into a two bedroom and a studio unit. Most years, we opt to lock off and either spend two consecutive weeks or divide our weeks into a family trip and a "mommy and daddy only" getaway. The Resort is great for either experience. Through Interval International, for a fee ($119), we've been fortunate to trade our locked off studio for a full two bedroom...a great perk for traveling families.

The Surf Club is located at the far end of Palm Beach, Aruba and is part of what is commonly referred to as "marriottville" which include the new Ritz Carlton (still under construction), the Marriott Hotel and the other timeshare Marriott's Ocean Club. The complex boasts several restaurants (including a Ruths Chris), shops, a popular casino, car rental desks and a red sail sports. The Surf Club consists of three high-rise buildings surrounding three large pools and a lazy river. The largest pool has a zero entry area, a water fountain and a slide, making it a favorite for families. The smallest (and newest pool) is for adults only and boasts a view of the beach. The middle pool offers a volleyball net and swim up pool bar complete with tv featuring sporting events and a fun happy hour from 3p-5p daily. The lazy river is a blast for everyone including the occasional iguana that you're sure to spot swimming across the current. There are two large hot tubs, as well. In addition to the swim up bar, food and drinks may be purchased onsight in the Marketplace. There is also a game pavillion and on sight fitness center, as well as twice weekly craft fair.

The beach, while crowded, is deep and offers plenty of palapas and chairs. The palapa issue is really only an issue if you require front row seating. Otherwise, most days, you can arrive at the beach anytime of day and get a shady spot to sit...just rarely in a "prime" location. Play the line up game only if a front row palapa is a must.

Palm Beach is long and lined with several high rise resorts. It is terrific for a family that requires activity and dining options. Not so great if you are looking for tranquility (try Eagle Beach Aruba if that is your ideal.) Most days we walk the length of the beach to the Divi Phoenix where we enjoy a dip in the calm sea and a drink. Sometimes we stop at Bugaloe for lunch on our return trip...a great little bar on a pier about midway down Palm Beach. We also enjoy windsurfing and always find the people at Vela, located near the Marriott, very helpful and accomodating. Highly recommend them for beginners through experts.

The Palm Beach area also offers many great evening activities. There are two malls with shopping, dining and movie theater options...as well as a modern (and clean!) bowling alley, flow rider experience, several casinos and bar options. All are within walking distance from the Surf Club, but taxi's are readily available, as well.

The units themselves at the Surf Club are fantastic. Each is equipped with washer/dryers, balconies, flat panel tv's, comfortable furniture and nautical decor. They are bright and clean and maintained nicely. A truly great location to relax after a day of exploring...or floating on the lazy river. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the pool for the best view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Spent a week there from March 16 thru 23 2012. Had a 2 br unit and a 1 br unit. My daughter, son in law and two grandsons stayed in the 2br. Very clean, everyone was extremely friendly and the swimming pools---zero entrance, lazy river and slide were ideeeeaaallllllll fro kids. It was simply great. Walking distance to restaurants---about 1/4 mile. The restaurant on the premises (outdoor dining) was adequate but our only complaint was that the food was sub par and the menu choices lacked healthy offerings. Do not ever order the pizza rolls----fried junk. But, eat off site or in your time share. This did not detract from the overall great management of the property. Well taken care of, clean, clean, clean and a very pleasant staff. The beach is very nice and the water perfect. It is spoiled only by the commercial activities that take place there (very noisy at times) that are not owned by nor part of the Surf Club. Beaches are open to all of the public in Aruba. Overall, my wife and I rate this property a class act. Great for the whole family.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher rooms. The lower rooms are subject to the beach activity noise and other traffic---but they are also very nice---depends on what you like. The elevators work like magic--never wait more than a few seconds so a high floor is nice. Almost all garden views overlook the pool area and from most you can see the ocean from your balcony(all rooms have them).
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews