We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Vacation with Marriott” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another Great Vacation with Marriott”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have traded my week at my home location to come to The Surf Club for the past 5 years without one regret. This year was just as nice as years past. I noticed security presence seemed to be greater than I've ever noticed. Thankfully, they were friendly and helpful. Once again the jockeying for seating at the pool and beach was annoying at best with people securing "their spots" as early as 4:30 A.M. Check in was the best ever, with little to no wait. Housekeeping was attentive and very quick to respond. The rooms were relatively clean yet we had a terrible infestation of ants (?) in our living room. I think it's time for the hotel to order new towels for the room, as ours were quite thin. Overall, it was a lovely vacation

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lleno22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    874
    265
    118
    70
See reviews for
1,239
817
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I am at the Surf Club right now, staying in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath villa. Aruba is fantastic and this hotel does not disappoint! The grounds are extremely well kept and the staff is friendly and helpful. As for dining on-site, I would definitely recommend going to Simply Fish for a sunset dinner (best meal we have had so far and the view can't be beat!) and the Captain's Galley for lunch (the fish tacos are delicious and the portions are huge!). Although not all restaurants have a printed children's menu, almost all have child-size dishes for cheaper than adult portions...just ask

Helpful hints...

Make sure to bring plenty of sunscreen and snacks because it is extremely expensive to buy here! Sunscreen in the hotel lobby ranged from $11 to $26 a bottle!

Do not bother to bring tubes for the lazy river unless you need something special...they sell them at the beachfront shop for (surprisingly) cheap...only $8 for the sames one I bought at Target at home for $6. I also heard from other guests that departing guests frequently give theirs away on the last day of their trip.

Figure out the chair/palapa tagging thing early...if you don't, you will not get a good spot at the beach or pool.

If you like spas, try out the Coffee scrub and 50 minute massage at the Mandara Spa...heaven!

All in all, the Surf Club is a really great place to take children for vacation, but if it were just the hubby and I, I would probably go elsewhere...the pools are extremely loud and there are kids everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cassie3375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Grounds are nice enough and clean. Adult pool area is the best area to hang out in during the day if you want to relax away from the ocean. Rooms are very nice and their maintenance is done well. Housekeeping is attentive. The gym is decent if you just need a treadmill...there are some free weights and a couple of basic machines for lifting.

Food is pretty good, but definitely not great.

Service is hit and miss. In most Marriott hotels we've stayed at, every worker we've ever dealt with was knowledgeable, professional, great communication skills, etc. We're not sure why some were absolutely excellent and others couldn't tell you were the nearest bathroom was or barely understand what you are asking for. Those ruin it for the others who do provide excellent service.

We had 4 services done at the spa. Three out of four were horrible, and like the service experience, the fourth service/treatment was wonderful. First, absolutely difficult to communicate with their staff. They barely spoke any English, nor understood. Facial, manicure, and pedicure were way below average. I don't think the woman doin my facial knew what the hell she was doing. The Manu and pedi were so bad that my 3 year old could have done a better job. However, the massage with Pedro was awesome. I was able to tell him which areas I needed help with and he took care of them. He was informative and responded to whatever questions or concerns I had.

We would not come back to this place if/when we come back to this island.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nromero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in a 1br villa with full kitchen, washer/dryer, and balcony. Our view was not that great (looked over some trees and to the adjacent timeshare property) but then again I did not pay the upcharge for an ocean-view. We were there the last week in March so many spring break families at the resort. The pool areas are very large so did not feel too crowded and the lazy river feature was a nice plus. Several restaurants on property but all very expensive. When we arrived me and my wife and two teen-agers were pretty hungry so we first looked at the Simply Fish restaurant on the beach of the Marriott Hotel property. Entries were like $35 and up and my kids were not feelin' the menu, so we went to Champions which is inside Marriott Ocean Club next door. We had two burgers, two fishsandwiches, couple of soft-drinks, and two beers...total before tip was $106 (OUCH!). The next day we went to Kung Fui supermarket a couple of miles aways so we could do a few meals in the villa. The resort had activities every day (pool volleyball, beach volleyball, bingo, face-painting, hair-braiding, etc.). Overall, its a great property for families. Unless your you want to simply spend all day lounging by the pool or beach, I recommend renting a car to explore the island (about $45 dollars a day incl insurance).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very pleasant staff. Clean property. They allow you to save your pool chairs for only 2 hours - which is GREAT! It stops people from putting their towels on chairs and never coming back. The staff monitiors it well.

When we checked in, I did not have a ocean view, I asked for one and got it the next day. Yes, I had to pick up and move - but I didn't mind. LAZY river was wonderful. There were kids, but for the most part - well behaved. There is an adult pool but we never used it. Walked the beach regularly. Loved MOOMBA Beach Bar.. If you like great beef dinners -must try Le Petite cafe, which is a 5 minutes walk to the main drag.

We rented a jeep and explored the island - what great fun.

We were asked twice to listen to a time share pitch, but turned it down. No pressure which is nice.

Only bad thing is on the way back to the airport on our way back home, we stopped in town (Oranjestead) and a piece of luggage was stolen from our jeep. It was a soft cover jeep with a back zipper. We should have known better. Keep things locked if in town. Most peopel are friendly and I felt safe but there are always some "dirtbags".

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VistanaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, CT
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

After staying at another Marriott Vacation Club in Orlando, we returned home and received a call from their marketing department asking if we wanted to experience a timeshare presentation at any of their properties. With Aruba being our favorite Caribbean island, we inquired if there were any opportunities there, and the answer was yes. For a price that was well worth our aggravation of a timeshare presentation (hundreds below the nightly price on the Marriott website), we were glad we came.

As one of the third to last resorts in the high rise district (not counting the under construction Ritz Carlton), this is a far trip from the airport, made worse when cruise ships are in port with the passengers and traffic at a crawl in the downtown area. Free parking offered nearby making the use of a rental car a plus. Check in on this Saturday was truly at the hour published (4PM) since Friday thru Sunday's were timeshare turnover days and our room wasn't ready for a early check in. The front desk will hold your luggage if need be, allowing you use of the resort in the mean time. At that time, everyone else knew it too, as the lobby was a mad house. Initially, we were given a room on the 2nd floor of the farthest building from the beach with a garden view. The argument was made to the front desk that if you're trying to sell us on this resort, you've got to do better. Now we got the closest building to the beach (the Lighthouse building) on the north side (overlooking the pools) on the 6th floor. We got what they refer to as a lockout unit, which is a studio unit locked out from the adjoining 1-2 bedroom unit by a door between the units. But just what the two of us needed. A kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, plates, glasses and utensils. Nice welcoming bathroom, couch, table and chairs and balcony with table and chairs. Nice touch was the ceiling fan which helped cool the room faster and made the sunburn feel better with the cool breeze. There is a safe in the room, but very small considering others out there. The wi-fi doesn't work well (if at all at times) in the rooms, but would work on the deck and specifically noted in the resort directory that it works in the pool deck and lobby area. The king size bed was very comfortable.

There is a nice shop adjacent to the lobby offering souvenirs to finger food and drinks. There is a nice small restaurant at the pool offering all three meals, and waitress service is offered on the beach. Go for the pizza and hold out for the happy hour, starting at 3 which offered discounted drinks. There is a fish style restaurant on the beach offering lunch and dinner.

The wide beach offered many palapa huts, with goofy rules. There are many that can be reserved ahead of time for a fee (which are the closest to the water) and many more to be saved (allowing you two hours of leeway to get there) ahead of time and then the remaining that are first come, first serve. The reserved ones can be reserved as early as 4PM the day before and you can reserve out two days. Chairs in the pool area and under the palapa huts need to have a chair tag on them, indicating that these are indeed saved. There is a adult, quiet pool, with scant chairs, so get there early.

There isn't a casino in this hotel, but there is one within walking distance in the true Marriott hotel. Otherwise after the sun goes down, there isn't much to do on the island besides visit the many fine restaurants, there is a movie theater nearby along with a bowling alley and plenty of gambling at the many resorts.

All of the staff that we experienced from the bellstaff to the front desk to the restaurant staff to the housekeeping were top notch and personable. The housekeeping came in a timely manner and worked efficiently. The property was well kept and clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Loved our vacation in Aruba. Nottingham less than every year we go to our home resort.
Upon arrival cabs are $25 and hold 5 persons maximum. Try sharing cabs with other people to be less cheaper. Paperworks are very important don't leave them home or have your confirmation numbers written on pieces of papers. Check in time is at 4 at the Marriott surf sometimes your room can be ready even before that, if not if your friendly the front desk staff can help find a room for you. Activities however needs a change , it the samething all year round. Pool is clean as well as the villas. Always keep your receipt, other people try charged to our room but the signatures did not match. Getting grocery is simple. Take a bus to downtown area and a cab back depending on the amount of grocery. Or order on lingandson website they delivered . Helped us get started on vacation early. We also call the room assign manager she was very helpful and friendly think her name was Diana. I'm bad with names. Bellman very helpful. Pool people very friendly. There is no tipping rate so tip as you feel. It helps them realize you appreciate there work. Can't wait to be back in October

Room Tip: Ask for poolside villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.6 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.3 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
0.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Property: Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing