We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cost/benefit option”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MVC Eagle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MVC Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cost/benefit option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Great place where to spend peaceful vacations with your family or partner. Apartments are very comfortable though not luxurious. Inhouse restaurant is one of the best options in Eagle beach. I felt at home. Loved it! Thanks Paulette!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JORGEELIAS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    247
    45
    14
    6
See reviews for
118
503
72
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, DE
Level Contributor
184 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The MVC remains our favorite place to stay on Eagle Beach! We have done both the Bucuti and Manchebo but always seem to return here!
This is a quaint, basic, and intimate boutique style hotel run by friendly, personal staff who truly care about your every need or desire. Anniversaries are greeted with special surprises-- daily car rentals and dinners arranged!! You name it and staff does it with a smile Christy is an amazing asset as concierge!! She has become like family. :)
The Facility -while not fancy- is always spotless and the small garden well maintained. Beach chairs/towels are grab and go across the street to the widest, uncrowded island beach. No palapa wars here!! Weekends-- a bit more crowded with local influence but noise or space has never been an issue. Can not wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnydaysLewes_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at MVC Eagle Beach for 10 wonderful days, we could have stayed for 10 more. You couldn't ask for a better location or nicer staff. We arrived after the Main Office was closed for the day, but that wasn't a problem at all. A sign on the door told us that the Staff at the on-site restaurant (Tulip) would assist us, and that's exactly what happened. Kevin (who is one of the waiters) welcomed us with a big smile and handed us our keys and hotel information. It couldn't have been easier! We met Christy from the office the next day, she's so friendly and helpful. The rooms, although outdated, were very clean. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job. Access to the beautiful beach across the street was a snap, just grab a chair from the hotel property and carry it for one minute to the uncrowded spacious beach! Considering the price of the rooms and the location of the hotel, this is by far one of the best values on the island. We can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Pros:
--Christy was very helpful, warm and accommodating!
--Hotel is right across the street from a beautiful and quiet beach
--Tulip restaurant (on premises) is a great dining option. The food was a delicious and a good value.
--Bus stops to go downtown or to the high-rise hotels are very close to the hotel. Helpful tip: Taking the bus in Aruba is a great value--$2.30 roundtrip. Just tell the bus driver that your stop is “Tulip Restaurant”.
--Wi-Fi was reliable
--Outside my room there was a small table and 2 small chairs. Great option if you want to sit outside and read.

Cons:
--Continental breakfast had some variety, but it was just ok.
--Room was ok as well. It looks just like the pictures. It was a little on the small side and a bit dated.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAMadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Although we shun megaresorts and casinos, we put our preconceptions aside, flew to Aruba in March and were pleasantly surprised.

Much of our delight revolved around our weeklong stay at the MVC (Marine Verl of Centrum) Eagle Beach Hotel, a slightly worn but thoroughly charming low-rise. With just 19 rooms on two floors, a small terrace and tiny pool, the property retains an authentic Dutch-colonial ambiance and a decidedly European clientele.

Its Tulip Restaurant is so good that we strayed elsewhere to eat only once. Really. In addition to the locally caught grouper, tuna, mahi mahi and red snapper, highlights of the creative international menu include keshi yena, a traditional Aruban chicken casserole blanketed with the ubiquitous Gouda; schnitzel; cordon bleu; and nasi goreng, the fried rice and satay dish of Indonesia, another former Dutch possession.

All the dinners were delicious, moderately priced and accompanied by to-die-for freshly baked rolls and garlic butter, as well as seemingly endless glasses of the island’s pure tap water, a welcome rarity in the tropics and a product of the world’s second largest saltwater purification plant.

An attentive and personable waitstaff, led by a whirlwind of efficiency named Theo, repeatedly ensured that we got our favorite seaside table, lit by tiki torches and candles and caressed by Caribbean breezes. As Jupiter and Venus aligned in the sky, night after night, we had to admit that dining out couldn’t get any better.

Getting around is effortless, too. Early mornings prompted power walks on paths between Eagle Beach and the popular but forgettable Palm Beach, home of high-rises and franchises. We took the dependable public buses ($1.15) to the colorful cruise-ship port of Oranjestad, with its historic sites, ornate Old World architecture, jewelry stores and souvenir shops. At The Dutch Pancake House, we supped on unique plate-sized savory crepes - one pineapple and Gouda, another ham, mushroom and onion.

Since seeing any island from the water is mandatory, we booked a four-hour cruise aboard The Octopus, a 40-foot catamaran, with Captain Jethro and crew. Travelling entirely under sail, we (and fewer than 20 others) breakfasted on pastries and juice and lunched on a sumptuous meat and (Gouda!) cheese board, crusty rolls, salad and fruit. Deserving of its “No. 1 Snorkel Trip” rating by the Boston Globe, the ($45) outing featured stops at a WW II German freighter wreck and at a reef.

Of course, a land tour of Aruba’s windward side and cactus-dotted interior is also a must. We rented a spectacular fluorescent green Kia Picanto ($40) and easily covered the entire 20-mile-long island in a day, visiting the California Lighthouse, Alto Vista Chapel, Casibari Rock Formations, Baby Beach and the nonprofit Donkey Sanctuary, where we mingled with the friendly herd.

When not gallivanting, we lounged by the pool, just steps from our door, or on the pristine beach, where the usual palapas provide shade. With daily highs hovering in the mid-80s on this “A” of the famous ABCs, we contentedly basked – both in the sun and in our good fortune to have chosen the best resort on the best beach on “One Happy Island.”

Room Tip: Request ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlliecatOOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

What can I say other than we loved MVC! We stayed here on our first trip to Aruba and we couldn't have been happier.

It is small, but you get more personal and friendly attention from the staff. It is located in the low-rise area of Aruba, right across the street from Eagle Beach, the best beach on the island. They have the cleanest, softest sand and none of the crowds. Even the locals told us this. You have bus service right in front of the hotel that will take you to the hi-rise area and the downtown area. The hi-rise area and a few markets are within walking distance (about a mile).

MVC has a restaurant on-site, called The Tulip Restaurant (tasty food, friendly service, good value). There is also a small pool, but why hang out at the pool when you can go to the beach? They have beach chairs which you can use. You just have to carry it across the street yourself and bring it back when you are done. The only time we used the pool was to clean the sand off our feet.

Checking-in, we met Christy. She was so nice and so knowlegdeable. She had lots of recommendations for us, including a Jeep tour which we decided on doing and she even made the reservations for us.

We had a room with a king-size bed on the second floor with a partial ocean view. You get 2 chairs and a little table outside of your room (very relaxing to chill there at nights). The room was clean and adequate enough for myself and my boyfriend. There is a TV, a safe, and a little refrigerator. You also get a pitcher and a few glasses. There is no ice machine, but you can get ice from the nice people at The Tulip. The A/C cooled us down instantly upon entering from the hot weather.

The MVC is very conscious about water usage. For this reason, the toilets are not your standard toilets (not much standing water) and towels are only replaced if requested (leave them on the floor). Also, our shower did not have very high water pressure, but that was a minor issue.

One thing to note is that only soap is provided, so you have to bring your own shampoo.

Overall, MVC is a great place to stay at. We were there for 5 nights and enjoyed it completely. It is in a great location, especially if you don't like the crowds. It is a great value and it has a great staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

When we arrived at the MVC Eagle Beach we were greeted by Theo from the Tulip restaurant and given our room key. The room was very clean. The hotel is located across the street from the BEST beach in Aruba!! it's like waking up to paradise every morning ! The following morning we met Christy the office manager who was helpful from the start. She is not only friendly, but gave us the best advice on where to go and what to do. She made us feel like family. Most nights we ate at the Tulip Restaurant because the food there was the best on the island, the staff was awesome, especially Theo and Paulletti. The housekeeper Ledys always went the extra mile with a smile. The grounds were lovely, a great place the read, talk or just relax. One thing you couldn't help but notice was how clean everything was...the grounds, the restaurant, the restrooms and our room. The breakfast buffet was consistent and there was enough variety that it was never boring. Josey who worked in the breakfast room and supplied the food and coffee was the greatest!! The high rise area was within walking distance and there was always plenty to do there although the beaches seemed a bit crowded. The bus stop is right outside of the Eagle Hotel and it is very easy to get around. The Eagle hotel is located in the low rise area right between downtown Oranjestad and the high rise hotel area. The bus drivers and hotel staff will help with directions. If you want to relax in a clean hotel where the staff and other guests are friendly and you wake up to paradise this is the place for you! WE will be BACK. ....... Don & Louan

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arubadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura817, Director of Sales at MVC Eagle Beach, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Don & Louan, Thank you so much for your nice review of our hotel. Christy and her staff are very happy that they made your stay memorable. We all look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm regards, The entire staff at MVC Eagle Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
0.9 km away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
3.8 km away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,594 reviews
1.1 km away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MVC Eagle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MVC Eagle Beach

Property: MVC Eagle Beach
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 240, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — MVC Eagle Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly staff, clean, affordable, cozy and most importantly; located just across the most beautiful beach of Aruba ‘Eagle Beach’ – welcome to the MVC Eagle Beach Aruba. This charming and quaint little hotel offers you value for money, friendly hospitality, tranquility, basic yet tastefully decorated rooms and an excellent beach escape in beautiful Aruba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MVC Eagle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mvc Eagle Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Mvc Eagle Beach Palm
MVC Eagle Beach Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing