We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MVC Eagle Beach
Nearby Hotels
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa(Palm - Eagle Beach)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort(Palm - Eagle Beach)
US$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club(Palm - Eagle Beach)
US$445
Marriott
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino(Palm - Eagle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$289
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa(Palm - Eagle Beach)
US$426
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$575
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club(Palm - Eagle Beach)
US$345
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Aruba(Palm - Eagle Beach)
US$532
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Riu Palace Aruba(Palm - Eagle Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (928)
Filter reviews
928 results
Traveller rating
578
278
49
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
278
49
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstulip restauranthard boiled eggsquad roomtiny poolsmall hotelyogurtsmall refrigeratorno elevatoronsite restaurantcontinental breakfastdirectly across the streetbus stophigh rise hotelsrestaurant staffwould highly recommend this hoteldowntown oranjestadamsterdam manor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 928 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The MVC remains our favorite place to stay on Eagle Beach! We have done both the Bucuti and Manchebo but always seem to return here!
This is a quaint, basic, and intimate boutique style hotel run by friendly, personal staff who truly care about your every need or desire. Anniversaries are greeted with special surprises-- daily car rentals and dinners arranged!! You name it and staff does it with a smile Christy is an amazing asset as concierge!! She has become like family. :)
The Facility -while not fancy- is always spotless and the small garden well maintained. Beach chairs/towels are grab and go across the street to the widest, uncrowded island beach. No palapa wars here!! Weekends-- a bit more crowded with local influence but noise or space has never been an issue. Can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnydaysLewes_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at MVC Eagle Beach for 10 wonderful days, we could have stayed for 10 more. You couldn't ask for a better location or nicer staff. We arrived after the Main Office was closed for the day, but that wasn't a problem at all. A sign on the door told us that the Staff at the on-site restaurant (Tulip) would assist us, and that's exactly what happened. Kevin (who is one of the waiters) welcomed us with a big smile and handed us our keys and hotel information. It couldn't have been easier! We met Christy from the office the next day, she's so friendly and helpful. The rooms, although outdated, were very clean. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job. Access to the beautiful beach across the street was a snap, just grab a chair from the hotel property and carry it for one minute to the uncrowded spacious beach! Considering the price of the rooms and the location of the hotel, this is by far one of the best values on the island. We can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Pros:
--Christy was very helpful, warm and accommodating!
--Hotel is right across the street from a beautiful and quiet beach
--Tulip restaurant (on premises) is a great dining option. The food was a delicious and a good value.
--Bus stops to go downtown or to the high-rise hotels are very close to the hotel. Helpful tip: Taking the bus in Aruba is a great value--$2.30 roundtrip. Just tell the bus driver that your stop is “Tulip Restaurant”.
--Wi-Fi was reliable
--Outside my room there was a small table and 2 small chairs. Great option if you want to sit outside and read.

Cons:
--Continental breakfast had some variety, but it was just ok.
--Room was ok as well. It looks just like the pictures. It was a little on the small side and a bit dated.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MAMadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Although we shun megaresorts and casinos, we put our preconceptions aside, flew to Aruba in March and were pleasantly surprised.

Much of our delight revolved around our weeklong stay at the MVC (Marine Verl of Centrum) Eagle Beach Hotel, a slightly worn but thoroughly charming low-rise. With just 19 rooms on two floors, a small terrace and tiny pool, the property retains an authentic Dutch-colonial ambiance and a decidedly European clientele.

Its Tulip Restaurant is so good that we strayed elsewhere to eat only once. Really. In addition to the locally caught grouper, tuna, mahi mahi and red snapper, highlights of the creative international menu include keshi yena, a traditional Aruban chicken casserole blanketed with the ubiquitous Gouda; schnitzel; cordon bleu; and nasi goreng, the fried rice and satay dish of Indonesia, another former Dutch possession.

All the dinners were delicious, moderately priced and accompanied by to-die-for freshly baked rolls and garlic butter, as well as seemingly endless glasses of the island’s pure tap water, a welcome rarity in the tropics and a product of the world’s second largest saltwater purification plant.

An attentive and personable waitstaff, led by a whirlwind of efficiency named Theo, repeatedly ensured that we got our favorite seaside table, lit by tiki torches and candles and caressed by Caribbean breezes. As Jupiter and Venus aligned in the sky, night after night, we had to admit that dining out couldn’t get any better.

Getting around is effortless, too. Early mornings prompted power walks on paths between Eagle Beach and the popular but forgettable Palm Beach, home of high-rises and franchises. We took the dependable public buses ($1.15) to the colorful cruise-ship port of Oranjestad, with its historic sites, ornate Old World architecture, jewelry stores and souvenir shops. At The Dutch Pancake House, we supped on unique plate-sized savory crepes - one pineapple and Gouda, another ham, mushroom and onion.

Since seeing any island from the water is mandatory, we booked a four-hour cruise aboard The Octopus, a 40-foot catamaran, with Captain Jethro and crew. Travelling entirely under sail, we (and fewer than 20 others) breakfasted on pastries and juice and lunched on a sumptuous meat and (Gouda!) cheese board, crusty rolls, salad and fruit. Deserving of its “No. 1 Snorkel Trip” rating by the Boston Globe, the ($45) outing featured stops at a WW II German freighter wreck and at a reef.

Of course, a land tour of Aruba’s windward side and cactus-dotted interior is also a must. We rented a spectacular fluorescent green Kia Picanto ($40) and easily covered the entire 20-mile-long island in a day, visiting the California Lighthouse, Alto Vista Chapel, Casibari Rock Formations, Baby Beach and the nonprofit Donkey Sanctuary, where we mingled with the friendly herd.

When not gallivanting, we lounged by the pool, just steps from our door, or on the pristine beach, where the usual palapas provide shade. With daily highs hovering in the mid-80s on this “A” of the famous ABCs, we contentedly basked – both in the sun and in our good fortune to have chosen the best resort on the best beach on “One Happy Island.”

Room Tip: Request ground floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AlliecatOOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

What can I say other than we loved MVC! We stayed here on our first trip to Aruba and we couldn't have been happier.

It is small, but you get more personal and friendly attention from the staff. It is located in the low-rise area of Aruba, right across the street from Eagle Beach, the best beach on the island. They have the cleanest, softest sand and none of the crowds. Even the locals told us this. You have bus service right in front of the hotel that will take you to the hi-rise area and the downtown area. The hi-rise area and a few markets are within walking distance (about a mile).

MVC has a restaurant on-site, called The Tulip Restaurant (tasty food, friendly service, good value). There is also a small pool, but why hang out at the pool when you can go to the beach? They have beach chairs which you can use. You just have to carry it across the street yourself and bring it back when you are done. The only time we used the pool was to clean the sand off our feet.

Checking-in, we met Christy. She was so nice and so knowlegdeable. She had lots of recommendations for us, including a Jeep tour which we decided on doing and she even made the reservations for us.

We had a room with a king-size bed on the second floor with a partial ocean view. You get 2 chairs and a little table outside of your room (very relaxing to chill there at nights). The room was clean and adequate enough for myself and my boyfriend. There is a TV, a safe, and a little refrigerator. You also get a pitcher and a few glasses. There is no ice machine, but you can get ice from the nice people at The Tulip. The A/C cooled us down instantly upon entering from the hot weather.

The MVC is very conscious about water usage. For this reason, the toilets are not your standard toilets (not much standing water) and towels are only replaced if requested (leave them on the floor). Also, our shower did not have very high water pressure, but that was a minor issue.

One thing to note is that only soap is provided, so you have to bring your own shampoo.

Overall, MVC is a great place to stay at. We were there for 5 nights and enjoyed it completely. It is in a great location, especially if you don't like the crowds. It is a great value and it has a great staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews