We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view, wonderful staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. George's Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The St. George's Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent view, wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband, mom and myself recently spent 10 days at the St. George's Club in Bermuda. It is a beautiful spot in a great location (10 min. taxi ride from airport) with spotless well-equipped 'cottages' and spectacular views.

The staff from the front desk (Dee Dee and Amy,) Griffin's Restaurant Manager (Perry,) and all the maintenance and housekeeping did their utmost to make our stay enjoyable.
One of the housekeeping staff stopped by periodically to refresh the vase of tropical flowers she gave to mom at the beginning of our trip (saying she loved seniors).

The Club is located right in St. George's which is a quaint town loaded with history and an enjoyable place to stroll without the usual onslaught of tourists (at least when we were there in April) and there are several restaurants to choose from. Scooter rentals are available on site and buses run regularly to Hamilton, but be prepared for about a 40 min. bus ride.

We dined at Griffin's Restaurant on site several times, but unfortunately, Blackbeard's hadn't yet reopened after undergoing winter renovations.

The municipal course which is beside the St. George's Club is now basically closed (although a few people were walking on and playing). However, if you're coming to play golf we wouldn't recommend it so be prepared to take a taxi from The Club to one of the more beautiful courses.

Definitely a place to which we'll return. Thanks everyone for a wonderful trip! Maggie

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    99
    45
    20
    9
See reviews for
114
99
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great pools, great beach club- cottages clean and well equipped- most staff friendly and helpful. Absolutely gorgeous setting ! Plan to go again next summer- My kids and grand kids loved it. NWH

Room Tip: ask DeeDee Faubert for best available- by pools, for view or whatever
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NanWoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington,tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

TravelAdvisor,
On a recent stay in Bermuda, we stayed at the St George Club and met two wonderful employees who worked the front desk. One was Dee Dee Faubert, who was the go to girl for ideas on where to eat, what to see and where to stay if you got stuck at the airport. She was more than helpful and made our stay memorable. The second person was Amy, who in working the front desk just as pleasant and informative as anyone we've ever met. The club locastion provided great views and a wonderful restaurant for dinner. we also recommned the Bermuda E U I for underwater ship wrecks and the restaursant at this site was great to eat at.

Bermuda has some of the best beaches, we walked to Tobacco Bay from the club, up to Cool Bay and bused to Horseshoe Bay and Elbow Beach all one one low cost bus ticket, $12. each.

Room Tip: Let Dee Dee guide you in your choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank oneofakindusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was our first time to Bermuda, so we didn't really know what to expect. The club is only a 10 minute drive from the airport so you can settle in very swiftly after landing - we were blown away when we arrived though!

The setting is perfect - at the top of a rise with commanding views over the bay. The two-bedroom cottage we were staying in was bigger than our house back home! Not only is there a large central pool at the club, our cottage also backed onto a more secluded pool area which was ideal for a quiet afternoon in the sun or a peaceful early evening drink.

The facilities were really impressive. There's a bar right by the main pool where you can have a variety of cocktails (we recommend the Dark&Stormy - classic!) and we were treated to live piano playing on two evenings. It was the perfect way to start the night before venturing into town for an evening meal - there are plenty of restaurants in town, only a short stroll away from the club, and each place we chose to eat was excellent. There were also 3 tennis courts on site which we used daily (to work off all the lovely food from the night before!) and a grocery store on site for general provisions. The shuttle to Blackbeard's Hideout (a restaurant/bar with a private beach, affiliated to the club) was a real boon, and something we took advantage of almost daily.

The location was perfect as well - if you want to venture further than the town of St George's there are buses and ferries - we ended up using the ferry exclusively, as it's very quick (20 mins to Royal Dockyard, and another 15 to Hamilton) but most importantly of all the journey by sea out on deck in the sunshine was idyllic.

All in all it was truly one of the best holidays we had been on together, right up there with our honeymoon. We would definitely recommend it to couples and families alike.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Even though the temperatures during this time of year is not higher than 22 degrees Celcius, we had a lovely week's stay and visit in Bermuda. There are lots to see and do and regular walking tours and other activities are scheduled throughout the week. Public transit buses are excellent and on time for getting around, but be advised that not all the ferries are running in the Winter months.
Scooter rental is highly recommended for the adventurists since there are no rental cars available on the island. I would recommend buying the bus and ferry passes from the Post Office a short walk downtown from the St. Georges, since you have more control over the amount of tokens you want to buy or whether a day- or week pass is more suitable for you.

We had a two bedroom unit (en suite bathrooms for both rooms), with full kitchen and living room, unit no. 100, which has to be the best unit at the St. Georges. Fabulous views over the town and harbour of St. Georges and right next to the steps to town. Reception, read Dee-Dee and the ladies, were exceptional in their helpfulness and friendliness. We lacked for nothing and could always count on them for useful information.
A really nice grocery store is close by the St. Georges and if you ask at checkout, delivery of your groceries will be made free of charge.

Make sure to go looking for sea glass at one of the nearby seaglass beaches and then see Kelly in downtown St. Georges to make up a few pieces of jewellery for you at a very reasonable price.

Overall we found Bermuda and its people to be extremely friendly, educated, personable and very likeable. We will return to Bermuda and the St. Georges Club as soon as we can.

Ps. The chickens are not a problem whatsoever!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Matewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the St George's Club and we enjoyed it as much as ever. The cottages are well appointed and comfortable. The restaurant (Griffins) is excellent - good wine selections and well prepared/presented food. The golf course has sadly gone downhill and is no longer worth playing, but strolling the course is always a treat to enjoy the ocean views. With many wonderful sites to see within easy walking distance this is a great location for a relaxing holiday.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 2gol4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Oh DeeDee! You weren't kidding, this harbor view from our cottage, #31, is amazing and just what we hoped for. I so enjoyed my morning coffee on the patio this morning and plan to each morning this week! Thank you DeeDee! More review to come after our week ends. :)

Room Tip: ask for a view of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tropictree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George
14.4 km away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
14.8 km away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
19.8 km away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
19.5 km away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
14.8 km away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. George's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Club

Property: The St. George's Club
Address: 6 Rose Hill Street | Located in the World Heritage Site, St. George GE 05, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > St. George's Parish > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. George's Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on Rose Hill in the World Heritage Site of the old town of St. George and it historic harbour is The St. George's Club, an enclave of seventy-one (71) one and two bedroom cottage hotel suites that are available for rent or vacation ownership. The Club boasts three swimming pools (one heated in the cooler months), two newly resurfaced floodlit tennis courts, and a small fitness centre. Three restaurants on property Griffin's Restaurant and Bar, the Terrace Café in the main Clubhouse and five (5) minutes away the across the bordering golf course in the shadow of Fort St. Catherine is secluded Achilles' Bay and The Beach House and Blackbeard's beach bar. All restaurants have different menus, good wine and the Beach House has one of the best views of the sunset on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The St. George's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. George`s Club Hotel St. George
St Georges Club Bermuda
St George Club Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing