We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”
Review of The Sandpiper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sandpiper
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Warwick Parish
Reviewed 23 July 2017

I was in Bermuda from 6/15 to 6/23. My friends and I went to Bermuda for the carnival and this was our first time on the island. I decided to stay a little longer than my friends to relax and enjoy some me time, therefore I booked a one bedroom apartment at Windsong Guest Apartments from 6/20 to 6/23. After having a HORRIBLE check-in experience at Windsong I checked out the same day and lucky enough to get room at The Sandpiper. Although the room was a little outdated it was clean and had all the essential necessities. The staff was extremely friendly, the wifi worked great. The property had a pool and was conveniently located on the main road with the bus stop right outside. There was a restaurant next door and a gas station in walking distance that sold snacks and had a buffet. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jie524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

The Sandpiper was an excellent choice for us, as we had heard how expensive most everything on the island of Bermuda is. It was great having a kitchen to make our own breakfast and to heat up any left overs we brought back to the room. The studio apartment was clean, with housekeeping each day. The air conditioning worked well, which is important given the humidity. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. It had lovely grounds with a small pool. It was on a bus route, which made it easy to get around on the island. I would definitely recommend the Sandpiper for anyone visiting the island trying to be somewhat frugal. I say somewhat because Bermuda is a beautiful place to visit, but most things are imported, therefore very expensive. I would stay at the Sandpiper again when visiting.

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank digoe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

The Sandpiper is located in the Warwick parish of Bermuda. It has a fabulous staff, clean room, a kitchen and sort of living room. While it is not new and modern looking, it is very clean, functional and you don't pay heaps of money. The pool is on the small side, but nice looking. It really is soooo close to all the great beaches. So...I clearly suggest it.

Stayed: May 2017
5  Thank estherp618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

The apartments are clean and comfortable -- although the beds are the noisiest things I've ever slept on.... seriously creaky. The pool was clean. The kitchen had the basic necessities. Coffee pot, toaster, microwave, basic pots and pans -- oddly no spatula for flipping anything, dishes and eating utensils. The fridge was clean. At some point there was a hottub, and it looks like a sauna by the pool. They have both been stripped of function and the wall of the hottub has been removed, blending it into the corner of the pool. And what appears to have been a sauna at some point is now a spot for a soda machine. If those things were back in working order, this place would get more points. As it is, it is a reasonably-priced place to stay with relative comfort and near bus stops. It's about a 20 minute bus ride to Hamilton, and about 45 minutes to the Naval Dockyard. I would consider staying here again, and would definitely want to do so if the hottub and sauna were put back to fully functional.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites are the most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kili-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Can't say enough about it ! Going again in August ! Will be our 3rd stay at sandpiper. Love location, staff and the rooms are large ! The grounds are beautiful. Pool inviting and warm ! Gas station across the street. Swizzle inn next door ! Perfect

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

This was our second trip to Bermuda to visit a close relative. The first time we stayed at the fabulous Reefs Hotel, but while this was just about affordable out of season in February, in September it was over $500 a night, so we decided to stay at The Sandpiper, on the recommendation of friends. At less than a third of a cost of many smart hotels on the Island, it is an affordable alternative. And it's absolutely fine!

In fact it's better than fine - clean spacious rooms, comfy beds, nicely kept gardens and a small pool. It also has very efficient air con and a kitchen so if you want to cook and eat in, or just make yourself a cup of coffee it has all you need. It's rustic, obviously been there a few years and the interior is a bit tired, but the location is great, walkable to The Swizzle Inn, the buses stop nearby which take around 15 minutes into Hamilton or half an hour to The Dockyard. There's a petrol station with a shop almost opposite for essential supplies. The staff are friendly and helpful, let us keep the room right up until 6 on the day of departure at no extra cost, as were getting an evening flight. I know many people love their wifi and it was free here and pretty reliable too.

It is on a main road and the tree frogs are very loud, but we would definitely go back. Bermuda is in general very expensive so if you want to save on accommodation this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Round the back may be quieter than poolside, but the latter has better views and access to the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TMN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

The Sandpiper is clean and well maintained. Three of us spent a few nights here, comfortably. We made good use of the kitchen, and enjoyed the pool view from our balcony.

A short walk to the bus station and beaches. Felt very much like home.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank HealeyWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick Parish
1.9 km away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
894 reviews
3.1 km away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
849 reviews
16.4 km away
The St. George's Club
The St. George's Club
#1 of 1 in St. George
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
711 reviews
8.5 km away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,157 reviews
4.9 km away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper

Address: South Shore Road | P.O. Box HM 685, WK10, Bermuda
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Warwick Parish
Price Range: $137 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sandpiper 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Hotel Warwick
Sandpiper Hotel Warwick
The Sandpiper Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing