We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fairmont Southampton in Bermuda is Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Fairmont Southampton in Bermuda is Awesome”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel twice on business once was for our association convention. It is a great facility!! The people are awesome and they work hard to make you feel like you are part of the family. The food is great, the property is great, everything is great!!! While I did not have to personally pay for my room, I can honestly say that the property is probably worth every penny. Highly recommend this property and highly recommend Bermuda period!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alli1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,960
    1,112
    400
    180
    99
See reviews for
1,053
1,579
97
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

If you're renting a room on Bermuda there is a good chance you're staying at one of the 2 Fairmonts. We chose this one because we got a great deal from the members club. But now that we've been there and seen both (the other one is in the city of Hamilton, home to so many questionable businesses) we would definitely generally choose this one. No matter which you stay at, you have to visit the other one by the free water shuttle - - the ride is so enjoyable not just because of the sea breeze and scenery but because the captain and his first mate were by far the best people we met on the whole trip. They treated us like old friends, pulling our leg and kidding with us. Do they work for Fairmont? Not quite sure, but to repeat, half the joy of the free shuttle is the two personalities who run the ship.

Rooms - - what can I say? Truth: Each and every room has a great water view from its balcony, I mean lanai (what you call a balcony when it is useable 12 months a year). Want to feel like you own the island? Easy, just order room service breakfast and enjoy it on the balcony. Yes it is over $20 per but it is worth every penny because if you live to be 100, you will never forget the feeling of hot coffee, cold juice, eggs, etc. and pastry when combined with a million dollar view. Important: skip the croissants (former British colony, not French) but the danish are to die for - - you'll swear they came from the oven just minutes ago.

Resaurants - - oh boy. Several are very pricey and we didn't try them. But the casual lounge off the lobby is close to perfect. Outside, inside, your choice. Great atmosphere with frequent musician entertainers. Food and service first rate. Grab a quick bite or hang out for hours. Yes, $8 is a lot for a beer but it's a resort, go with the flow. On the other hand, the Italian restaurant a short walk away, while offering attentive service and good food, has one little problem - - no actual Italians work there. So it almost comes off as a pricey Olive Garden. May not be a big deal for you but when I walk into a real Italian restaurant I want to be greeted by someone who knows what "bona sera" means and I want to be served by someone who grew up on Italian home cooking. But to their credit, when I called them on running out of the least expensive wine by the glass they did step up and open a more expensive bottle of a similar wine just for me ... that's how you know it's all run by Fairmont.
Important: Don't take the shuttle, ask about the safe sidewalk pathway. Third and final meal advice: try not to miss afternoon tea at Fairmont Hamilton Princess - - if he's working, ask for Thomas and you will experience the very height of civility. Let him be your guide.

In sum, the 2 Fairmonts are the only large hotels on the island but the one in Hamilton has some rooms without balconies and some low elevation floors. But for a shady business trip, no problem of course. Other details: Hard to find a sidewalk outside the city. Can't rent a car. Cabbies refuse to stop talking, have no listening skills. Maybe they're lonely? But it's OK because you won't feel the need to tip much. But if your cabbie actually shuts up for a whole minute? Get his card so you can call him for the return ride to the airport.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4-star-traveler1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of The Fairmont Southampton (and our sister property, The Fairmont Hamilton Princess)! It is people like you that take the time out to review that helps Fairmont keep on its toes!

We have to agree- the free ferry shuttle from The Fairmont Southampton to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess is a must-do, it provides gorgeous views and a great trip into the centre of Bermuda. And to answer your thoughts about the room service pastries- yes, our pastry kitchen churns them out fresh daily! The desserts are spectacular, but I'm glad you particularly liked our Jasmine Lounge. In Bacci, the Italian restaurant, our chef has trained and spent many years living and working in Italy and he has a passion for Italian cooking and culture. Other than that, it sounds like the service you received there was exceptional, which is heartening to hear.

Our sidewalk paths and trolley services are both completely safe and reliable ways to get around our large property. Bermuda does not allow visitors to rent cars due to congestion and very narrow roads, but we do have a scooter and bicycle rental facility on-property, for an authentically local experience.

We hope to welcome you back to Bermuda again soon, thank you again for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

just returned from 4 days at this great hotel.
but major kudos to the uniformly wonderful polite waiters, bell staff, desk clerks, drivers could not have been better anywhere.

Room Tip: we got ocean view think the other side has water view. fourth floor was where we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

In todays fast paced world where a fast internet connection is essential for both business and personal use, the Fairmont Southhampton still charges $13 daily for wireless access.

No only is this incredibly cheap of the hotel but the internet service requires repeated logins every time a cell phone, Ipad, or laptop sleeps, and again every day one must buy access again and again.

if wireless were available for all this would not be necessary.

As the chain provides free wireless for members of its "Presidents Club"
this means that the "ordinary guest" is subsidizing those members who sign up for the Presidents Club!!!

Fairmont is a premier chain of outstanding hotels, and such "nickel and dimeing of there guests is classless

Room Tip: Join The Presidents Club before arrival and get free but crappy wireless service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripDocror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Fairmont Southampton. To clarify, the Fairmont President's Club is free to join, and membership gives you free access to wireless internet.

We hope that we can welcome you back to The Fairmont Southampton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
315 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Take a taxi from the airport about $40 and always good. Hotel charges $75 for same service. Don't think I would risk the shuttle and stop at multiple properties. The hotel is very nice of course, the room we had 217 was a basic Fairmont room and was very nicely updated, clean and modern with gorgeous bathroom and furnishings. Wifi was fantastic, new flat screen TV was just OK with channel selection and poor reception but not a big deal for us. Our view was over the large Windows restaurant with partial ocean view and sound in the distance, again just fine. We paid $129 on the Travelzoo special was really was a fantastic rate. Be sure to join the President's Club and get free wifi saves about $20/day. Other discounts with PC as well but didn't get that far. The outdoor pool is fantastic, lots of kids with small water slide, heated to about 90F was really nice swimming. Hot tub was very hot but nice. The beach is fantastic, they were running on bare bones staff but the restaurant was open serving boxed sandwiches and drinks, low season. Ocean was very nice for March, cool and swimmable. Continental buffet in Windows was about $25/person but very nice breakfast, great selection and dining room. Nabbed a cookie and a piece of fruit for lunch - shhh don't tell the hotel!
Of course everything is expensive, it's Bermuda, but really $40/person to swim in their indoor pool??? Really!!! OK we didn't try it so maybe it's worth it but somehow I really don't think so - you can tell us if you do it. We rented a scooter for $50/day at Oceana Scooters, call them they will pick you up at the hotel, very nice people. Saved 100's over calling taxi's for every move. You really can't go anywhere within walking distance except Henry VIII and Gibbs Lighthouse to eat or do. We will go back but only when we can get a similar good rate.
All the staff at the hotel is very friendly and courteous, much like the rest of Bermuda!

Room Tip: The Cellar is the disco located on the backside left wing of the hotel, you can't hear the disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muskoka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for your detailed review, it will provide great context to other people looking to visit The Fairmont Southampton. It sounds like you had a lovely room and got to take advantage of a great sale to get an amazing rate. I would just like to clarify a few issues that you raise in your review. The Resort Pool (outdoors) is certainly lots of fun and a great way to relax. Our Spa Pool (indoors) is exclusively for the Willow Stream Spa customers during the day- it is part of a tranquil and relaxing sanctuary to enhance the spa experience. Although you can pay $39/day to access it and the other spa facilities, it is open and free to all guests after 6:30 PM until midnight for general use.

Renting a bike is a great, authentically local experience and there is a bike-rental facility on-property. Another option for getting around is our complimentary ferry, which takes you on a scenic cruise from The Fairmont Southampton to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, where you can depart and explore Hamilton, Bermuda's city centre. For those weary of traveling by scooters, the Bermuda public bus system is safe and inexpensive.

Other than that, it sounds like you experienced exceptional service from the Fairmont Southampton staff and had a great visit. We hope to welcome you back to Bermuda again soon, and that you will stay with us at The Fairmont Southampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Fairmont Southampton hotel in Bermuda is second to none. The quality of the rooms, the staff and the food served in the restaurants is outstanding. Everything you might want to do in Bermuda can be easily accessed via shuttle, local bus, and/or water ferry. I always feel like a V.I.P. when I choose a Faimont hotel. However, bring plenty of cash! Things are more expensive in Bermuda anyway but, at the Fairmont, you pay a premium price. Watch that automatic 17% gratuity. The hotel charges it even at the pool. Remember to bring all amenities you might need with you (sunscreen, medications, bandaids, hairspray, etc.) as all of these will set you back a pretty penny if you need to purchase them onsite.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizney4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel is lovely. The room is spacious, walk-in closet, but off-season only one or two restaurants open each night. Without ability to rent a car, depend on buses and taxis to get off-premise. Breakfast at hotel when not on a deeply-discounted package is very expensive and elaborate. We tried to order lunch at the pool and it was impossible to get the one person on duty attention. He was too busy taking drink orders. Ended ordering lunch in lobby restaurant and different menu and busy with travelers coming in and checking out.
All the staff was very attentive. Getting around Bermuda from the hotel is very simple, but time consuming. Unless deeply discounted would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlita L, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the facilities and that you found your room to your liking. During the off-season this year, we have had 4 outlets open, at least 2 per evening for dinner, as well as in-room dining. We apologize if none of these were to your liking. It sounds like your experience at the pool was an issue of poor service, and we apologize for this anomaly in our normally speedy and efficient operations. It sounds like the rest of the service during your stay was up-to-par.

Getting around Bermuda can be slow, but due to the small island-nature, the speed limit here is 35 kph! Since it is such a small place, however, nothing is more than an hour away and there are lots of great views and scenes to discover along the way- whether you travel by taxi, bus, or rented scooter. The best transportation mode, however, is our free ferry shuttle that takes you over to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess- beautiful ocean views and a fun boat ride into Bermuda's city-centre.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope that you will reconsider your position and give The Fairmont Southampton another shot in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
15.2 km away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
643 reviews
5.4 km away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
526 reviews
5.6 km away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,059 reviews
15.4 km away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,500 reviews
7.3 km away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Southampton

Property: Fairmont Southampton
Address: 101 South Shore Road, SN 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing