We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning!”
Review of Pompano Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pompano Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

First visit to Bermuda and loved our stay at the Pompano. Southampton is about 40 minutes from the airport and worth the compute! The hotel is located within walking distance to the beach, unlike many of the other hotels which offer a shuttle service to the beach. View from the balcony of our room was the best in all my travels. Staff were attentive and so accommodating. My friend asked about the availability of soya milk, and they quickly said that they would have it ready for her for breakfast...no problem! Miss Patti, Gregg, the Owners and Assistant Manager, dining staff, etc. were all great! Recommend going to the dockyards to catch the ferry to Hamilton (20 minute ride). You can get to the dockyards by bus ($3 - $4) or taxi ($18). Ferry ride is $4. Tokens can be purchased at the hotel desk. Restaurants in Hamilton are expensive. We opted to buy lunch from the hot table at the local supermarket located across the street from the cathedral on the hill. You cannot miss it. We purchased the meal plan (breakfast & dinner) at the hotel and loved the food. No need to leave the hotel to eat. Lunch was also good and reasonably priced. Drinks were great ( $8 - $10). Be sure to try the Pompano Punch and Dark & Stormy! I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12 with two single bed (somewhat small), but the view makes up for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lzamboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was our first trip to Bermuda, and we did our research. this hotel/resort is a family run business and it feels like you are on a first name basis with the proprietors. The hotel is clean and the food was spectacular. you would be a fool to not opt for the dinner plan. We were there during March break and the weather was perfect, though i'm not sure how the weather is normally during march as this winter was warm. The beach was small but perfect and private. There were no other hotels in view from anywhere on the property. we had the luxury of checking out the Grotto beach resort and we felt that this property was more quaint than the bigger properties, additionally there is a Golf Course adjacent to the property which is perfect if you don't want to travel everywhere with your clubs. The Water temperature was a bit cool during our visit but this was expected. Our only disappointment was that the Watersports were closed during our visit. We figured it may have made sense to have the watersports open for a few hours(say 12:00 to 2:00) 2 or 3 days per week during the off season. This way there would be at least an opportunity get in some kayaking at least once during a one week visit. The location of this resort is perfect for using the bus and being halfway between the south shore beaches and the dockyard, both are highly recommended and so is buying a book of bus tickets. Getting to Hamilton was a bit of a journey, but it gave us an opportunity to experience Bermuda, and be sure to use some bus tickets(2 per person) to go for a ride on the ferry. You can get to Hamilton in the off season and to St. George as well during the high season via ferry. During our stay at Pompano Beach Club we met many people that were return customers, some for over 40 years, which speaks volumes about the satisfaction people feel when they stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms have a clear 180 degree view of the ocean, higher grade rooms are closer to the water, low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tctrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was our first trip to Bermuda, but it won't be our last. We were lucky to get great weather in March (high 60s to low 70s and no wind), and everyone reminded us of that. But the trip would have been great even with wind and rain because the Pompano Beach Club is a wonderful place to relax, to eat, and to swim. OK, the locals don't swim until May, but for Canadians, the water feels actually quite warm.

Our room had a great ocean view and was comfortable in every way. We were just a short walk from the main building. The restaurants (up and downstairs) are both excellent. We were never tempted to go elsewhere for dinner because in a week we never exhausted all the possibilities on the menu. The seafood was excellent and the steak I had was one of the best I've eaten anywhere. We also enjoyed tea at 4 o'clock every afternoon. (Get there promptly before the brownies all disappear.)

The hotel shuttle seems to be available to take you to the next-door golf course at any time you request and pick you up again. The Port Royal course is a real challenge. I don't know what it would be like when the wind blows, but I had enough trouble off the tee that I didn't need wind to compound it. My wife, on the other hand, played 18 holes twice without losing a ball. So it can be done, apparently.

Service is great at Pompano. The staff are friendly, they recognize you when you come in each time, and they are uniformly helpful. We had one minor plumbing issue that was fixed while we were at breakfast. We got the impression that staff were always eager to please, no matter what the request. It should also be said that the atmosphere is laid back and easy-going. You don't feel guilty about tracking beach sand through the lobby. (Well, actually I do feel guilty about it, but that's my problem.)

One other point about Bermuda in general: Don't let anyone talk you into renting a motorscooter unless you're a thrill-seeker in your 20s. The small cars and vans drive fast for such narrow roads, and they will come up to 3 feet from the back of a scooter and hold that position until they can pass. If you like that sort of thing, of course, you can have your fill of it.

Tourism is down in Bermuda, according to the local media. The number of hotels has dropped from 75 to 44. There are various reasons for this--the restrictive laws on property ownership, competition from lower-priced Caribbean resorts--but we found nothing to dislike about Bermuda. The water is the cleanest we've ever swum in, people everywhere are friendly, and to judge from the Pompano Beach Club, prices are not that high. With great meals included in the room rate, we found that our week in Bermuda cost half what we spent the year before in Hilton Head (and we loved Hilton Head!).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gzowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Just got back from Pompano again!! Was there this same time last year. We had perfect weather every day. The staff was 95% the same and the service was excellent, as always!! Rooms were immaculate, amazing ocean views from every room! The food was awesome, as usual. We went somewhere alse for dinner and wished we'd just stayed at Pompano. The dining room staff are the BEST!(Lynn & Lorna, King & Queen of hopitality). Sierra, at the front desk, has nerves of steel and infinite patience when dealing with difficult guests. Cyndi, Laurie, and Patti, also at the front desk, can handle any accomodations or special requests that you may have. Hanging at the pool bar with Velda, Greg, Nick, and Gabby, makes for a great afternoon. Mervyn rules the Sunset Lounge and owners Larry and Tom can tell you great stories about hotel and local history. Tim is the "everything man", he is fabulous! I can't say enough great things about this resort, JUST GO STAY THERE!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pompano311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I live in Bermuda but wanted a weekend staycation. We are thrilled that we chose to try Pompano this past weekend. Every moment was an absolute pleasure. The co-owner brothers Larry and Tom greet probably every guest as they arrive at Pompano. We saw them from breakfast through until after a late dinner on both of the days we were there.
Their attention to customer service is evident and abundant with every conversation. They truly demonstrate that hospitality is their lifestyle and it is infectious to those associates who work with them. Every server and associate contact was met with a genuine smile and willingness. Bartender Mervin makes the best Negroni and is always engaging.
Stellar service with gorgeous views and pristine guest rooms! Our balcony was HUGE and overlooked the turquoise water. The depth is shallow....we waded out probably 200m and it was still only chest-deep.
The bathroom had a shower and large soaker tub. The bed was triple sheeted, duvet, oversized pillows and very comfy.
Dinner was attentive, well presented and perfectly seasoned. Try the Pompano fish and you will enjoy. The server, Gregg (an eastern european gent) really knows his wine and made a great alternate selection when I showed interest in a certain variety. The Assistant Manager, Clay, went out of his way to find me an iPad charger.
The lunch server (forgot her name...eastern european) was always there when we needed her, and yet never in the way of us enjoying our meal by the pool.
The distance is a little far from the airport (west end), but it is well worth the travel time. The sunsets are just the most perfect experience in an atmosphere that can't be beaten.
Wonderful.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views, but the rooms nest to and including ours (room 23) are the closest t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoodieTrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was our fourth visit to Bermuda, and our second to Pompano Beach Club. It is a family-run hotel, with all the special touches you would expect from people who care about your experience. The food and service were excellent, and we couldn't have had a better view from our balcony! The beach is small, but were weren't there to swim, as the water is a little cool. The staff shuttled us to the golf course or to the bus stop (only Bermudans can drive cars) and were so courteous and responsive. No question about where we will stay the next trip!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a room with a bad view. However, if you want a balcony, upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bismallw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We vacationed for one week at this resort and had a fabulous time. We participated in their Annual March Couples Golf Tournament. Our stay was just wonderful. The room had all the amenities you could ask for. Comfortable king size bed, beautiful, large bathroom, and best of all an unbelievable ocean view! It seemed as if the staff could not do enough for you! As for the golf, we were amazed as to how organized and efficient the staff was in organizing transportation, arranging pairings, getting the day's results posted, and best of all hosting two cocktail parties. It was a great way to meet people, and just plain lots of fun!!
The following is a letter I sent to management. I wish I had included the whole staff in my greeting as they all did a magnificent job.

Tom, Larry and Tim,
We experienced a MOST wonderful seven days at your resort. Your attention to the most minute of our needs was over the top!!! Everyone had a most wonderful sense of humor and graciousness. Compliments to your Chef and his staff. The menu was wonderful, and the food just delicious!
You all never missed a beat, and executed a golf tournament that was both competitive and a ton of fun at the same time. That said, you must all be exhausted.
We look forward to another stay at Pompano, hopefully for the golf tournament next spring.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Green64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
8.8 km away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
833 reviews
18.8 km away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
688 reviews
8.9 km away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,025 reviews
5.2 km away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,119 reviews
4.0 km away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range: $349 - $817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing