We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 cheers for Pompano Beach Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pompano Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pompano Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
“3 cheers for Pompano Beach Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Reflecting on our Pompano experience from Apr 10 - 20th for 8 family members, I cannot say enough about our wonderful holiday there. Larry Lamb and his uniquely friendly, helpful staff went out of their way to make our stay special from the start of negotiations for our holiday thru' to the last day. Pompano is unique in that it has all the attributes of a first class hotel and the friendliness and ambience not found in larger establishments.

There was barely an inch of Pompano that we did not explore and enjoy to the fullest....our adult family swim to the reef for a bit of snorkelling was fulfilling as was the daily tennis and use of the beach and pools. The cuisine was exceptional and the Swizzle Cocktail Party and accompanying buffet dinner was a highlight. It was certainly a delightful family holiday and our two young families stayed in the luxury townhouse with the exceptional view which we all enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    215
    41
    37
    11
See reviews for
338
669
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We travelled to Bermuda for the first time and stayed at Pompano Beach Club based on Trip Advisor recommendations. This resort completely exceeded our expectations!! Hospitality is second to none. We were there from Apr 1st – 6th and had a difficult travel day. Upon arrival at around 9pm we were greeted by Tom and a very welcoming Pompano team…check in was a breeze, we settled into our room and although we were late the restaurant staff greeted us with smiles and we had a wonderful dinner. It was a perfect end to a long day…great first impression and it went up from there! Everyone we encountered was so friendly, helpful and fun…Clay, Patti, Lorna, Sierra, Lynn, Kevin, Cyndi, Greg, Gabby, EVERYONE. Our room was beautiful, the food was great, people were amazing. It is obvious why Pompano Beach Club is rated #1 and why they have repeat customers…we will definitely be one of them. Tom and Larry, you guys have a real class act. We sincerely thank you making our first vacation in Bermuda fabulous. See you again soon!!

Room Tip: We were in a deluxe room (#90) and we will request the same again...spectacular views, large beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DATOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Pompano is by far the best resort on the Island. The service is fantastic, the food is second to none, and the amenities are great.....private beach, pool, and spa!
The owner, Larry Lamb, and his staff make you feel like family and it feels like we are coming home every time we arrive. Many of the employees have been working at the Pompano for 20+ years, which gives you idea of how well the Pompano is run. My wife and I came to the Pompano 12 years ago on our Honeymoon and have come back every year since....its that good!

Room Tip: Suite 1 & 2 are in a seperate private building right on the water with the best view of the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I traveled to Bermuda for the first time and stayed at Pompano Beach Club on based on Trip Advisor recommendations. We weren't sure what to expect. The resort was not the biggest or fanciest in Bermuda, but I cannot imagine happier/friendlier employees anywhere. The owner, Larry Lamb, was around several days of our trip. He greeted us, he even drove us to the main road on the shuttle one day. We took a boat trip and the captain noted that Larry Lamb was almost always around, doing everything from answering phones to fixing things in the rooms. I think that having a manager who is so involved in the day-to-day operations is key to their success and customer service. The ladies at the front desk took care of us like our "Bermudian Mamas" making sure we had plenty of water and didn't get lost the day we decided to venture out for a run/hike. Thank goodness they did or we'd have been in trouble!

We did the meal plan that included breakfast and dinner. The breakfasts were good. Options like fresh fruit, berries, yogurt, meats, pancakes, eggs, etc were available to order. We could order as little (for a healthier breakfast) or as much as we liked. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we got exactly what we wanted at meals. We ate dinner in both of their dining rooms. I preferred the Ocean Grill to the Cedar Room. It seemed to be a bit more to the tastes of younger visitors. My husband had fish at every meal and loved it. I'm a strict vegetarian and found dishes at each restaurant that were appealing. They had a pizza made-to-order one night. I didn't really have high expectations for it, but even that was great. One of the salads offered was a field greens salad with blueberry balsamic vinegarette, cornbread croutons, and watermelon. I can't wait to try to imitate that at home. One night they held a manager's "Rum Swizzle" party in the little resort bar and served delicious drinks and hors d'oeuvres, which was followed by a grilled dinner.

The room was larger than anticipated with a very spacious bathroom. The shower had good pressure. The only drawback was that the door seemed a bit loose and light came through the cracks and one very windy day we could hear it rattle. I am sure it was not a problem throughout the resort and certainly didn't really diminish the quality of the trip. The housekeeping staff was very thorough and seemed to pop in and out quickly and unobtrusively to get things straightened while we were away or at meals.

The resort had a little beach. We were there at the end of March so it was in the low 70's for 2 days and very windy for our last full day. They had nice lounge chairs, powdery sand, and beautiful turquoise water. They had 3 hot tubs and a heated pool. Even in that cool of a temperature, the pool was fine for swimming. The hottubs offered a good view of the stars at night.

At the time of our visit, I'd guess my husband and I were some of the younger guests (early 30s) and I did notice that there were many seniors at the resort. There were quite a few golfers and it seemed like many people there were repeat visitors. I can see why, based on the quality of service.

All in all a great experience. Do not go expecting the kind of high-end modern "uber fancy" decor and lodging you'd find in big cities like Las Vegas or a crazy nightlife. The resort was clean, safe, served great food and welcomed us like we were guests in someone's home so that we were able to just relax. I will certainly return and can't wait to take family and friends with!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

First visit to Bermuda and loved our stay at the Pompano. Southampton is about 40 minutes from the airport and worth the compute! The hotel is located within walking distance to the beach, unlike many of the other hotels which offer a shuttle service to the beach. View from the balcony of our room was the best in all my travels. Staff were attentive and so accommodating. My friend asked about the availability of soya milk, and they quickly said that they would have it ready for her for breakfast...no problem! Miss Patti, Gregg, the Owners and Assistant Manager, dining staff, etc. were all great! Recommend going to the dockyards to catch the ferry to Hamilton (20 minute ride). You can get to the dockyards by bus ($3 - $4) or taxi ($18). Ferry ride is $4. Tokens can be purchased at the hotel desk. Restaurants in Hamilton are expensive. We opted to buy lunch from the hot table at the local supermarket located across the street from the cathedral on the hill. You cannot miss it. We purchased the meal plan (breakfast & dinner) at the hotel and loved the food. No need to leave the hotel to eat. Lunch was also good and reasonably priced. Drinks were great ( $8 - $10). Be sure to try the Pompano Punch and Dark & Stormy! I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12 with two single bed (somewhat small), but the view makes up for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lzamboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was our first trip to Bermuda, and we did our research. this hotel/resort is a family run business and it feels like you are on a first name basis with the proprietors. The hotel is clean and the food was spectacular. you would be a fool to not opt for the dinner plan. We were there during March break and the weather was perfect, though i'm not sure how the weather is normally during march as this winter was warm. The beach was small but perfect and private. There were no other hotels in view from anywhere on the property. we had the luxury of checking out the Grotto beach resort and we felt that this property was more quaint than the bigger properties, additionally there is a Golf Course adjacent to the property which is perfect if you don't want to travel everywhere with your clubs. The Water temperature was a bit cool during our visit but this was expected. Our only disappointment was that the Watersports were closed during our visit. We figured it may have made sense to have the watersports open for a few hours(say 12:00 to 2:00) 2 or 3 days per week during the off season. This way there would be at least an opportunity get in some kayaking at least once during a one week visit. The location of this resort is perfect for using the bus and being halfway between the south shore beaches and the dockyard, both are highly recommended and so is buying a book of bus tickets. Getting to Hamilton was a bit of a journey, but it gave us an opportunity to experience Bermuda, and be sure to use some bus tickets(2 per person) to go for a ride on the ferry. You can get to Hamilton in the off season and to St. George as well during the high season via ferry. During our stay at Pompano Beach Club we met many people that were return customers, some for over 40 years, which speaks volumes about the satisfaction people feel when they stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms have a clear 180 degree view of the ocean, higher grade rooms are closer to the water, low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tctrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was our first trip to Bermuda, but it won't be our last. We were lucky to get great weather in March (high 60s to low 70s and no wind), and everyone reminded us of that. But the trip would have been great even with wind and rain because the Pompano Beach Club is a wonderful place to relax, to eat, and to swim. OK, the locals don't swim until May, but for Canadians, the water feels actually quite warm.

Our room had a great ocean view and was comfortable in every way. We were just a short walk from the main building. The restaurants (up and downstairs) are both excellent. We were never tempted to go elsewhere for dinner because in a week we never exhausted all the possibilities on the menu. The seafood was excellent and the steak I had was one of the best I've eaten anywhere. We also enjoyed tea at 4 o'clock every afternoon. (Get there promptly before the brownies all disappear.)

The hotel shuttle seems to be available to take you to the next-door golf course at any time you request and pick you up again. The Port Royal course is a real challenge. I don't know what it would be like when the wind blows, but I had enough trouble off the tee that I didn't need wind to compound it. My wife, on the other hand, played 18 holes twice without losing a ball. So it can be done, apparently.

Service is great at Pompano. The staff are friendly, they recognize you when you come in each time, and they are uniformly helpful. We had one minor plumbing issue that was fixed while we were at breakfast. We got the impression that staff were always eager to please, no matter what the request. It should also be said that the atmosphere is laid back and easy-going. You don't feel guilty about tracking beach sand through the lobby. (Well, actually I do feel guilty about it, but that's my problem.)

One other point about Bermuda in general: Don't let anyone talk you into renting a motorscooter unless you're a thrill-seeker in your 20s. The small cars and vans drive fast for such narrow roads, and they will come up to 3 feet from the back of a scooter and hold that position until they can pass. If you like that sort of thing, of course, you can have your fill of it.

Tourism is down in Bermuda, according to the local media. The number of hotels has dropped from 75 to 44. There are various reasons for this--the restrictive laws on property ownership, competition from lower-priced Caribbean resorts--but we found nothing to dislike about Bermuda. The water is the cleanest we've ever swum in, people everywhere are friendly, and to judge from the Pompano Beach Club, prices are not that high. With great meals included in the room rate, we found that our week in Bermuda cost half what we spent the year before in Hilton Head (and we loved Hilton Head!).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gzowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
8.8 km away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
18.8 km away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
8.8 km away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,687 reviews
4.0 km away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
5.2 km away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pompano Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompano Beach Club

Property: Pompano Beach Club
Address: 36 Pompano Beach Road, SB 03, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompano Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 75 room beachfront resort has been owned and operated by the Lamb family since 1956. It offers extensive recreational facilities, a breathtaking oceanfront setting, gourmet cuisine, spacious oceanview accommodations, a casual, relaxed atmosphere and personalized, caring service, with Bermudian hospitality that is second to none. The resort overlooks Bermuda's southwest coast and attracts lots of honeymooners, families and couples (especially golfers, watersports enthusiasts and those looking for R&R). Come see why so many of their guests return year after year! The owner-managers are hands-on and passionate about the service they give their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pompano Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pompano Beach Club Hotel Southampton
Pompano Beach Hotel
Pompano Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing