We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returning Home!!!!!!!”
Review of Island Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Returning Home!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Have just returned from our 4th visit to the Island Inn. It is still the smallest hotel with the biggest heart we have ever stayed in. The staff are just wonderful, they welcomed us back with big hugs and the biggest smiles. We stayed in a superior garden view room in the southern block which was just a few steps away from the pool. The level of housekeeping is exceptional. Clean towels every day, and very high standards of cleaning.

There is a new Chef since our last visit, and she is brilliant. The presentation and quality of the food has improved, as has the choices for the buffet meals.

Yes, there is a slight problem with rain getting into the new sections of the dining area, but we had some very impressive downpours, and yes, you couldn't sit there, obviously, but other tables where always available. The management are very aware of this problem and are trying very hard to get it resolved.

The hotel was relatively full this visit which was good fun and there was always a great crowd in the courtyard of an evening. There was also alot of repeat guests there together with 1st timers, the majority of which were planning to come back again. We even met up with a couple from last year which was lovely.

The Island Inn gives you the perfect holiday if you want total relaxation, in beautiful surroundings with the most attentive staff you could ever wish to meet. We are already looking forward to next year!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the southern block
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbadosER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    158
    59
    18
    12
See reviews for
56
362
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Last year I indicated the renovations were a "work in progress" - unfortunately that is still the case. Many of the changes made in 2009/10 are already beginning to show wear and tear, particularly in the new bar area. Additionally, when it rains - and it does rain in Barbados - the new dining areas are swamped due to poor drainage in the gutter system surrounding these areas so that the furniture and floors are drenched.

But all is not lost - the terrific friendly and helpful staff at Island Inn are what draws me back annually, and the addition of a new chef (Vanessa) is superb and I enjoyed the best meals I have ever had during my recent three week stay. Everyone at Island Inn from receptionists to barmen to wait-staff are all more than willing to accommodate your slightest request - all with a smile and "no problem".

Island Inn is the perfect place to relax, chill and enjoy conversations with your fellow guests. It is not a place for young children for most guests are middle-age and above. If you want glitz, glamour, noise and regimentation go to Mango Bay, but if you want simple relaxation to enjoy the quiet and peaceful surroundings, then the Island Inn is the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DAC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My family and I (7 of us) stayed at the Island Inn from Decemeber 31st to January 7th and we were all impressed by our stay.

The resort is small, 24 rooms and you get all of the attention to detail you would expect with very few other travellers around. Staff learn your name, they are very personable and treat you extremely well. The rooms were well appointed after the renovation and were always very clean. The resort itself is always being cleaned and maintained and the staff does a great job to keep it looking great.

The positive features you get from a small hotel sometimes have negatives that go along with it and the only real criticism of the hotel we could find was with the food. The kitchen staff does a great job preparing the food but you can tell the resort struggles with variety and choices during meals due to the small number of people at the resort. Breakfast was largely identical everyday and although it was enjoyable it started to get boring by the end of the 7 days. If lunch and dinner were a la carte (5 days) and not buffet (2 days) the choices were limited, 2 choices were offered. Overall the food was well prepared and aside from the occasional meal where the menu didn't offer an option that people enjoyed we were satisfied with the food at the resort.

Along with the limited food choices, unlike bigger all inclusive resorts there were set meal times and food was not available at all times during the day. Lunch and dinner times needed to be pre-booked during breakfast and it really forced you to stick to that schedule for the rest of the day, so if the sun was shining on the beach but your lunch was booked for noon, too bad for you time to go back and eat. If you wanted food outside of meal times you were on your own to find it elsewhere. Many guests leave the resort for at least 1 dinner to try some of the wonderful local restaurants.

The resort although not beach front is very close to Pebbles Beach (small) and Brownes Beach (large). Both beaches are beautiful with great sand and warm water. Snorkelling can be done right from the beach!

This island really blew us away with how they treat tourists, it is extremely safe and the people there really do value what tourism does for their country. Everyone we met was extremely nice and helpful on and off the resort.

Overall this resort is perfect for a traveller on a smaller budget who wants the all inclusive benefits but wants to experience a fantastic country. This island should be on anyones short list of places to go in the carribbean, skip the bigger massive resorts you find on all the discount websites and check out barbados.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are much quieter as they do not have the bar, restaurant and courtyard right out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AXE84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We checked in on 27th, and were greeted with a very friendly welcome. Our room was great, although we were in a superior room (worth upgrading from a std). As the hotel only has 24 rooms the hotel has a personal feel and you're encouraged to mix and mingle with the other guests, although you can do this as much or as little as you please. The hotel has a small pool with loungers which is fine but equally the beach is a very short stroll. The hotel's food is good but generally limited to a couple of choices per course. Good choice of drinks too, only downside is that there aren't any water fountains and as I drink lots of water I had to keep asking at the bar, which I'm sure drove the bar staff nuts!! We enjoyed staying for our brief (4 days) stay. Would come back to the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LaraMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed for a week at the Island Inn Hotel in December 2011 based on the tripadvisor reviews, we were not disappointed. We stayed in a standard garden view room and thought it was great, no complaints of being too small, after reading the reviews on here we thought of upgrading but are glad that we didn’t.

Pros
- Literally 1 minute from a beautiful stretch of beach. Turn left out of reception walk down the road and you are there!
- Clean rooms
- Enjoyed the a la carte menu, buffets are often a rush and aren’t as relaxing. It felt like we were going out to dinner every night
- Social areas are nice and comfortable
-Staff are very friendly
- Tip for the bar is that if no one is around just ask a member of staff they will get a drink for you no trouble

Cons
- as all beaches in Barbados are public it meant there was no seating area or parasols on the beach, this would have been a great advantage as there is no shade on Pebble Beach

Top tips
- Get the no11 buses from outside Island. To get on one you turn right when you come out of the recption then right again at the end of the road and there are bus stops on either side. The one on the opposite side goes towards Accra beach the one on the hotel side (by the petrol station) goes to bridgetown(they are white vans that will hoot at you). They are 2BD all you have to do is shout STOP when you want to get off so cheap, frequent and easy to get around on
- Go to Accra beach (can do so on the no11) ask for a picnic from reception the night before this has Sandwich, fruit and two drinks. When you get to Accra beach go right down to the bar to your left (has red parasols) pay 30bd for two sunloungers and a parasol and get 30bd behind the bar enough to buy around 6 soft drinks!
- Wake up one morning at 5am and walk to the beach, the racehorses go for a dip early in the morning!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We booked to stay for a week in this hotel largely based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, and were not disappointed. I stay in a lot of hotels on business, most of which I stay in too briefly to give a meaningful review, and the Island Inn compares very favourably as a boutique hotel: it is small, with just 24 rooms, and only has limited facilities compared to the large resorts, but what it has, it does well.

It is located just by Needham’s Point, close to the Hilton. It’s quite hard to spot from the road, since the sign is small. It is not on the beach itself (so do not expect beach facilities), but the hotel web site is being very pessimistic when it says the hotel is two minutes’ walk from Pebble Beach. You would have to be very slow to take as long as that! (If you have a car, you can park in the lane by the side of the hotel, or in the Pebble Beach car park.) Pebble Beach itself is very pleasant (and despite its name is sandy), with some good swimming and snorkelling. We spotted fish in the water when only knee deep. Other reviews have highlighted that the main Carlisle Bay beach is just a five minute walk up the road, and this became our favourite, partly because it is gently shelving, but mainly because the snorkelling there is very good indeed for both turtles and the six wrecks. I am planning to review this in more detail under Carlisle Bay on this site.

Some reviews have complained about the Island Inn not being near restaurants or facilities, but this is just not true. The Hilton is just along the road, and there are other restaurants or stands within 5 minutes’ walk.

We stayed in Island Inn’s most basic room: the standard garden view. Some reviews have complained about these being poky, but we found them spacious and comfortable: ideal for people who were not intending to spend many hours there apart from sleeping and the odd hour or two planning the next expedition. The essentials were all in place: decent shower, light-proof curtains, excellent air-conditioning (I have never come across such a quiet system), reasonably comfortable king-size bed, in-room safe, adequate wardrobe hanging space, enough free area to put empty suitcases, and a couple of chairs to sit on. There was a kettle, but one slight drawback here was that there was no convenient socket to plug into, and we ended up having to use it on the floor where it was rather vulnerable to being kicked. One slight oddity was that the alarm clock was powered off a lighting circuit, which meant that it cut out when turning the lights out. Fortunately, we noticed rather than sleeping through a dead alarm.

The lounge area featured a guest pc and guest wifi; wifi not being available in room. The speed was more than adequate for emailing and general web surfing.

The meals and bar are all-inclusive. The range of choice was adequate, especially bearing in mind the small size of the hotel, but you will need to bear in mind that there is just one kitchen serving Bajan-style food, so do not expect to be able to have Indian one night, Chinese another, Mexican another, and so on. Breakfast was always buffet style during our stay, with slight variations, such as scrambled eggs one day, pancakes another. Lunch varied according to demand, so if the hotel was not expecting much demand, then they would offer a menu with typically a salad or soup, followed by a Bajan dish or sandwiches with fries. If demand was higher, then lunch would be a buffet. Dinner was usually served, but on one night, there was a manager’s barbeque, and another a buffet. Evening dishes usually offered a fish or meat option, plus some alternative for vegetarians which we did not try.
The bar stocked Banks lager, plus a whole range of spirits for cocktails. House wine was offered in the evening too, but I found this a bit underwhelming.

What really made the mealtimes was the friendliness, politeness and nature of the staff members, who were largely determined to ensure their guests were having a good time. We have experienced quite surly or grumpy staff in Barbados, but not at the Island Inn. Here, we felt that the staff really made the hotel experience very enjoyable.

In summary, this hotel is ideal for people wanting a quiet and friendly time and not needing constant entertainment. Whilst we were staying, guests ranged from elderly with restricted mobility (but note, capable of handling a step or two, and the walk to and from the buffet table) to young couples in their twenties. It does not have its own beach facilities, but these are available close by at a cost. It is close to excellent snorkelling, and Bridgetown is within walking distance along the beach. We would certainly consider going back.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel, upgrade from the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dew's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Visited the Island Inn Hotel on the 7th November 2011 and stayed with my wife for 7 nights.
This small boutique hotel offers everything that is required on arriving in Barbados.The rooms are quality with large king size beds,good sized en-suite bathroom offering shower and bath,air conditioning,tv,and close to a decent sized swimming pool.
Only 24 rooms which means the excellent staff are always on hand whenever you need them.
The hotel is all inclusive offering a buffet style breakfast,lunch between 12 and 2 and an excellent a la carte Dinner.The food is quality.(Our only complaint during our stay was that although lunch was offered between 12 and 2 you still had to book a time to eat rather than just turn up between those times.when you are on holiday it is not always possible in a morning to know exactly when you want to eat lunch!!)
The bar is well run with all drinks available including cocktails.
Although this hotel is not on the beach it is only a one minute walk away.
This is a great hotel to completely chill out!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hally31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.5 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
1.0 km away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.6 km away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
0.7 km away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#2 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
19.8 km away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn Hotel

Property: Island Inn Hotel
Address: Aquatic Gap, Garrison Historic Area | St Michael, Bridgetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Inn is a quaint, 24 room, all inclusive property with meeting and function facilities. Situated less than a mile from the centre of Historic Bridgetown and within the Garrison Area – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel is footsteps away from the beach at the beautiful Carlisle Bay and Pebbles Beach and is conveniently close to shops and restaurants. Island Inn will amaze you with its disarming simplicity and old world charm. Whether you’re here alone, with the family, or with a group, travelling on vacation or on business, the Island Inn Hotel offers an unrivaled warmth of atmosphere, with contemporary trappings and a true Bajan experience. Originally constructed in 1804 as a Rum Storage facility for the British Regiment, Island Inn Hotel is now part of the historic Garrison area of Barbados. The building was designated a national treasure of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Bridgetown
Island Inn Barbados
Island Inn Hotel Barbados/Bridgetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing